We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Nearby Hotels
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$351
InterContinental
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$328
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$228
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrock Guesthouse(Kempton Park)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$239
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,296)
Filter reviews
1,296 results
Traveller rating
334
720
183
39
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
720
183
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking garagetambo airportshort walkunder coverone nightterminal buildingfollow the signsnext morningbreakfast buffet isan overnight stayan early morning flightarrivals hallconvenient locationyour luggagebetween flightsarriving lateinternational arrivals
Filter
Updating list...
942 - 947 of 1,296 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel overnight between flights in southern Africa. My philosophy on transit hotels is that you want to maximize productivity and sleep, and minimize messing around between flights. The hotel is easily accessible within 5 minutes walk indoors from the arrivals area. However, the checkin process is ponderously slow. I have stayed here twice, and both times the wait in line and the time that it takes to check in once you reach the counter are painful. If this could be solved, I would give the hotel a four. The rooms are quiet, modern and large with a bath and shower, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable bed, and flat screen television with a reasonable channel selection. Internet was not provided for free with my room, and what I paid for was far too slow and subject to regular drops of service. The breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views. Some corridors are very long and consequently some distance from reception.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed our hotel and will look into the points you have raised.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Safe place to stay for starters as you simply go upstairs and walk alongside the level 2 car park . Have stayed here 8 times in the last year and always the same .Rooms are a good size with desk and coffee table and always well maintained .Bar and restaurants provide a good range of meals and drinks and all staff are friendly and professional .Whilst you pay for the wifi ,any unused time carries over until used which is great if you know you are returning .Also have a limo service available for set prices which is cheaper than hiring a normal taxi service .Recommend highly .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darrell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thanks for your kind review - we hope to welcome you many times more as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The only real complaint I have is that the prices are a bit steep. Having said that, the convenience of being so close to the terminals more or less makes up for that. The alternative when one is without a car is to take a shuttle bus to one of the nearby hotels (like the City Lodge in Barbara road, which is a bit cheaper). But that is time consuming (the shuttles are one every 30 minutes) and a hassle when one has had a long day. I actually spent two consecutive nights here, on either side of a day trip down to Pietermaritzburg, and thus could leave all my belongings in the room and only take my laptop with me. Very convenient all in all and thus worth the extra price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thanks for your review and for staying with us. We believe that we offer value for money when you consider the incredible convenience of our location within the airport precinct.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

You can't beat the location. Since it's connected (via a very long walkway) to the airport terminals, you won't find a more convenient hotel for quick overnight stays while connecting.
I was pleasantly surprised that the rooms were also nicer than I expected-large, clean, modern, etc. My only complaint would be that the check in process took 30 minutes, but that was mainly due to a large group being in front of us. I'll be staying here while connecting in JNB going forward.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tws1086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Being as I have had overnights stays at a variety of hotels nearby ORT, I find this is, without a doubt, the best hotel to date for that quick stay. True, it is not the Intercontinental by any means, but you don't need the InterContinental for a single nights stay at ORT or its price.

This hotel provides everything you need for a comfortable short stay at the International Airport.

Location: A+ it can't get any more convenient than this hotel. It is a 7-10 minute walk from the terminal via a safe and secure area to the elevators where you go up a level to the hotel lobby (simply follow the signs in the terminal you don't ever have to leave the building). You can use the luggage carts until you reach the elevator and can then request the bellhop to assist you the rest of the way if necessary. Lobby is right off the elevator. Very clean and modern.

Reception staff was wonderful. Check in process was smooth and efficient.

Hotel Room: I had a "single" room with a large bed (if it wasn't a queen it was an XL double bed). Room size is modest but perfect for one person. I felt very safe here as a single female staying in the hotel. The furnishings are dark wood and modern and the room is tastefully decorated. It has a very clean feel. And although you are at the airport and above a parking garage it was super quiet, which I loved. Linens are very comfortable as were the bed and the pillows. Climate control worked well and was quiet. There is a tea kettle/coffee maker in the room as well as supplies for them. A flat screen TV is mounted on the wall opposite the bed and an upholstered chair as well as a table and desk round out the furnishings.

Bathroom was a little tight but has a nice deep tub and smaller corner shower but was very clean. Towels were plush.

Breakfast buffet: Yum! Everything from fresh omelettes to fresh croissants. Their buffet covers european, american and african style breakfasts, it was exceptional. Service was a bit slower but to be expected, I did have to repeatedly ask for coffee refills, but perhaps not everyone drinks coffee like water as I do.

Overall this hotel is the best bang for the buck at the airport and without a doubt very convenient. Only negative it is is smaller and booked out months in advance so getting a room here is not easy, but worth every effort.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy-Milford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews