We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Covered walking distance from the airport Terminals - quite convenient.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Covered walking distance from the airport Terminals - quite convenient.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

On my way to central Africa, I had to transit in Johannesburg for a couple of hours before I continue to my final destination. Unfortunately for me, my incoming flight from London was delayed, so I missed my connection. And because there was not flight available later in the day or the following day, I ended up being forced to spend 2 nights, totally unplanned, in JNB. To top everything up, my final flight being a separated ticket from the rest, I had no choice but to take care of my own accommodation, penalty etc…out of my pocket.

Having flown for over 24hrs, I was exhausted, needed a shower and a good rest. So after re-booking my flight, I looked around, from the Terminal, I could see 2 or 3 hotel names. I asked around how close those hotels were, and I was told that they were quite close, and that the closest one was literally within walking distance (5-7min) without even leaving the Terminal/airport. I didn’t even bother to ask for the price, I just wanted to rest. So I grabbed my luggage and walked to the hotel by following the signs from the Terminal. In no time, I was at the reception and was welcomed by a very friendly staff. It wasn’t even 12h00’pm yet, but she had no problem getting a room for me on the spot without reservation and letting me in right away, almost 2hrs before the regular check-in time. I really appreciated.

The cost for the night was just a little over 100$, and that was because I didn’t book in advance. But at that point, I didn’t really care.

Once in the room, I felt really great. The room was clean, smelled great and it was quite spacious for me. The bathroom was also very clean and spacious with the usual amenities. There was a shower and a tub, which tells you a spacious the bathroom was. I took a hot and long shower and dozed off!

Also, there is a safe in the room, which to me is very convenient; additionally to that, there is a kettle and some assorted teas, coffee, sugar, milk, etc… should you want to make your own without having to go out.
In the lobby, they have complimentary snacks, tea and coffee that you can have anytime you want.

The hotel has a gym, a decent pool and a restaurant that only serves light meal. So if you are looking for a steak or something more consistent, you will have to go either outside or back to the airport. They also provide complimentary internet, but only 1hr per day per device. I didn’t quite understand the point to giving only 1hr Internet access per day, but that’s how it is. I was even told that it used to be 15 min only, so I guess I was lucky ;). However, if you want full internet, they are going to charge you after your complimentary hour is exhausted. I didn’t ask how much they were charging for Internet, I didn’t need to. I had my laptop, my IPad, my IPod and 2 smart phones, which all together were giving me 5 hours of complimentary per day…it worked for me!

Overall, I must say that I’m glad that I picked City Lodge at O.R. Tambo airport; you couldn’t get a better location from the airport. The staff is super friendly and ready to assist at any moment. My 2 nights there soften a bit my frustration for having missed my connection. The location, the service and the accommodation made a difference. If I ever spend a night in JNB again, I will not hesitate booking a room at City Lodge, it’s worth it!

Room Tip: Don’t forget to grab the complimentary muffins at the front desk when you check-out in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank D_Muteba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Thank you for the amazing review. We are so pleased to hear that our staff were so helpful and that you enjoyed all our facilities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    646
    160
    33
    18
See reviews for
155
349
136
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This 3 star hotel is within easy covered walking distance from the O R Tambo Airport Terminal. A good stay over before flying on or a good venue for a meeting or small conference. But unfortunately only available during the day. The rooms are fair size and clean. The breakfast is good and the service friendly.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Johann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It is very conveniently located as it is directly connected to the airport. The service is usually very good, although the staff do not always come to you to offer their help.
As a business hotel, it would be nice if the rooms were fitted with a basic iron and an ironing board. Some other business hotels nearby offer this.
The breakfast is as always excellent.
The showers are very good, but it seems I always get a room whereby the water just overflows and gets spilled on the bathroom floor even with the cabin door closed...
Apart from that, this is definitely a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the breakfast. Also, we will definitely look into the iron request, thanks. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
712 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We like this airport hotel because it is basically connected to Tambo and maybe a 5 minute slow walk. You do not have to deal with the shuttles or anyone "wanting" to help you for a "price", when you arrive at Tambo you are there in a few minutes and when you are ready to leave, well you just go, no waiting for the shuttles, perfect for an overnight in Joburg. The rooms are small but clean and comfortable and quiet. There is a nice pool and the food is ok, service is very good. This is not a "fabulous" hotel yet it is always our first choice due to the location & basic comforts. A few times when we booked late there were not any reservations so we have had to book another airport hotel, in other words if you are going to stay here you best make your reservations in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mi-Dan20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank for the review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This Airport Hotel is fairly priced for those travelers who need a short sojourn at OR Tambo in Jo-burg. Walking distance from the main terminals with ample and secure parking as well as various restaurants within the terminal. Breakfast is modest and if i were you would eat at the terminal restaurants. Typical of Airport hotels, other usual hotel services are missing and ensure you hand in your laundry in time else you will have to leave it behind as it seems not to be in-house.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the road and the Gautrain due to airplane noise, i was told rooms are sound proof...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seme l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope to have you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I had to stay at the City Lodge, OR Tambo International Airport during a mini-crises for one night recently and it was rather a bland experience.

Luckily, I knew how to get there but there is no signage that would lead one to believe that the airport is just over the road from the airport and, although expensive, is far less expensive than the Intercontinental whioch is also over the road and much closer to the terminal. For foreign travellers, they would never know how to get to this hotel as one has to walk through an undercover bridge as if walking to the multi-story car park. Even then, the levels are somewhat confusing...

A lot more signage and marketing is required but first things first - lower your rates, think about Industry discounts, and train the staff to be a little more friendly and accomodating.

The room rates are expensive, and the room I stayed in was tiny and had a view of a rather inattractive courtyard. There was no reading matter except for the normal Hotel info. Boring indeed. Possibly a range of daily newspapers in both languages could be provided?

Reception staff were rather non-chalant and seemed to be "doing me a favour". As I checked in rather late and was out again very early the following morning, there was no opportuity to try the breakfast buffet. Although the staff knew what the situation was, nothing was offered and nobody went "out of their way" to even offer anything special. Mind you, I've learned to expect nothing more.

Room service took ages and I simply has no further option but to cancel the order eventually. My only other option was to go back to the airport to eat at the Mug and Bean Restaurant which is open 24 hours a day - thankfully.

Overall, not a good experience at all and hopefully one which I will never have to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeeAndGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We would also like to thank you for the feedback. We sincerely apologize for your bad experience, this is something we'll definitely look into as we do with these matters. Please note we do not provide room service as part of our normal operations. We believe that we do offer value for money compared to alternative quality accommodation at the airport. Signage is in the process of being improved. Thank you again for your comments, we do hope you will try us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel is located within walking distance of the terminal and is connected to the terminals via an undercover walkway.
Ideal if you arrive late in Jhb and need to spend the night before heading off somewhere else. There is no minibar but there is a bar in the hotel plus room service. Buffet breakfast is veryreasonably priced and has god fruit, cereals and a range of cooked options - eggs cooked while you wait.
Rooms are small but adequate and TV includes 3 sports channels as well as movie options.
MaIn gripes were aircon was not that efficient in my room and wifi is only free for first 60 mins

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and rooms. However we do apologize for the inconvenience caused by the aircon. We will look into this matter. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,062 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing