We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect for overnight stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Connected to OR Tambo International and Domestic terminals this City Lodge is 8 - 10 minute walk from both. Very functional, large and impersonal though easy to get to, clean with well equiped rooms. 3113 where I stayed had an extractor fan sound outside the window which took a while to get used to. Liked having a bath and shower.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gavinareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    600
    155
    31
    18
See reviews for
140
327
130
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel during transit between my flight from Libreville to Sydney. I believe that this is a great alternative to spending 8+ hours in an airport lounge. The hotel is locate just a short stroll away from the airport and the hotel is connected to the airport via an undercover walk way. Getting to the hotel is easy as it is well sign posted. Its great value for money and lets you unwind in your own privacy.

For the price you pay the rooms are of exceptional quality. Fresh, clean and large enough to have a desk for you to do some work, if you so desire.

The restaurant is good serving up a good variety of food for breakfast. I will definitely opt for this on my next trip rather than being in the crowded airline lounges.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priy1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room as well as the breakfast. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Easy walk from airport, good luggage storage. Lots of noise in my room from adjacent rooms, banging doors, loud talking, all hours. Good sized desk with international sockets but no free wi fi. The convenience of location needs to balance out the potential negatives.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank suzesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the desk size. However, we apologize for the loud noise, this is something we will look in to. With regards to the WiFi, we do offer one hour free WiFi to all guests. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Airport City Lodge is just a short undercover walk from the arrivals/departures hall at OR Tambo Airport. It is the perfect stop-over for anyone that needs time to catch their next flight. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the room. It had every mod con I needed and there was zero noise at night. After a good nights sleep I enjoyed a very good breakfast before walking over to the departure lounge.

In the evening I took the short free shuttle to the Restaurant/Casino complex 10 minutes away and enjoyed a good meal at one of the many restaurants. If you need a stop over near the airport I can certainly recommend the O R Tambo City Lodge.

PS: the reception staff were very friendly and efficient. My check in/out took only seconds.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 829PaulC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so friendly. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

One of best located and value for money hotels, in and around OR Tambo airport. The only downside and I cannot see the logic behind this, the elevators are the small to fit in all the luggage to send upstairs to hotel lobby. Who takes care of the luggage if you are single traveller, upstairs or downstairs. Otherwise everything is acceptable and value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1toSweeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

After 16 hours on the plane from the US, I needed to get to a hotel ASAP and stretch out. The short walk from the terminal to the hotel was well marked, and clean. The hotel appears modern and clean, and the staff have been very friendly. This hotel is only a stop over point for my first and last nights with travel around the country for the month in between. I am glad not what I booked both my Jo'burg stays in this hotel, because It couldn't be any easier to get to and from the airport at any hour. The only drawback is their online booking system is a bit weird, in that it's unclear if you actually have a reservation until you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RT C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that our staff were so helpful. We will look into the online booking concern. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Our flight scheduled was rearranged, and we needed to a convenient place to stay to catch an early morning flight the next day. We did not mean to stay here -- but it was very nice for an airport hotel. Breakfast was included in our room rate (or accommodations our travel agent set up). Breakfast was a nice spread, with lots of coffee. The covered walkway way from airport to hotel was really nice/convenient as well. If you're looking for a clean, nice place to catch an early flight this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BOStraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, South African Hotels, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing