We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, pity about the breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, pity about the breakfast”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed for one night, before flying home to Hong Kong and Compliments to all the staff, who from the front desk, porter and waitress in the restaurant were all very friendly and efficient. The room was clean, with good beds and served all our needs.
A pity about the restaurant as most of the condiments, bacon, tomato etc were all luke warm and not fresh and hot.
I also don't know what it is at most SA hotels were wifi is scarce and/ or for one hour only. There are now cities who are completely wifi at no cost. Make it free and included in the price!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koert t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you so much for the great review. We're glad you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff. We have also noted your issue with regard to the WiFi. We hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    626
    159
    32
    18
See reviews for
146
341
133
374
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Flying around Africa can be difficult with infrequent flights necessitating overnight layovers. On a recent trip to Capetown we had to spend a night in Joburg both ways. This hotel made what was otherwise a huge pain in the neck with 2 small kids in tow, actually not all that bad. The rooms were clean, super nice bathroom, nice bed and pillows, and they had a crib set up for us when we arrived. The breakfast buffet the next morning was wonderful. We were just sad on the way back to have to leave too early to be able to enjoy it. Dinner was not as good - mac and cheese looked like it was dumped out of a microwave box onto a plate - even the shape wasn't disguised. So eat dinner somewhere else but otherwise definitely stay here.

We were planning to do the Red bus city tour but the front desk talked us in to a different tour which they said was also a bus and great for families. Well it turned out to be just a man in a car and was about 3 times more expensive than the red bus. He drove us around without really asking what we wanted to see, didn't let us out of the car for hours even though we had a 1 and 3 year old in tow. We finally had to demand to stop because the kids were losing it and it was far past lunch time. So don't fall for the "oh we have something better" - we should have gone with the Red bus in the first place.

Other than that great hotel. We'll be back the next time we fly through Joburg!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We will look into the issues regarding your dinner as well as the tour. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel during my stopover on the way back to Australia a few days ago. It was an easy walk from the terminal, staff were courteous, the room was great and breakfast was amazing.
I decided to enquire about the possibility of a half-day/late check out rate and was pleasantly surprised how easy this was to organise (and worthwhile due to a 6.15pm departure)
After a month in the bush I was ecstatic to find a huge bathtub to soak my weary limbs in!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TannieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you the next time you're in South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

First major issue for an airport hotel. They failed to make our requested wake up call which, for an airport hotel, is totally unacceptable. Second, if you need an accessible room, this is not the place for you. While the bathroom was accessible, the hall leading to the bathroom was too narrow so that a wheelchair user could not turn from the hall into the bathroom. You might as well not have bothered with making the bathroom accessible.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmcHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the review. We're sad to hear of the problems you encountered during your stay with us. We will definitely look into the issues you have raised. We hope we can convince you to give us a chance to change your perception of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel was very affordable at just about ZAR 1000 and was perfect for an overnight layover between Zambia and Mozambique. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of amenities. The only issue being the divider between the restroom and the bedroom was damaged. Would definitely recommend for a comfortable affordable layover at OR Tambo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for the great review, we're so pleased to hear that you found our hotel to perfectly suit your needs. We will look into the issue you have raised about the damaged divider. We can't wait to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stopped over for one night, great location for stop over.
Staff on desk very polite,had dinner in restaurant very but area was very cold.
Good choice for breakfast everyone friendly.
Room very modern,in room safe tea & coffee.good shower.
Looked after our bags while we go on four day Safrai.
Excellent value for money.1 hour free internet.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyOysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. We’re pleased to hear that you had a pleasurable stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This clean and comfortable hotel is a welcome destination after a long flight. It is an easy walk through the terminal, the staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable, and bathroom is clean. The restaurant has pleasant, helpful staff and met our needs well. I would stay again without question because of the good service and value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaylen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for the positive review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can’t wait to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, South African Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing