We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight @ JNB”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Arrived late one night and flight early the next morning so City Lodge @ JNB was appropriate to avoid shuttling to a nearby hotel airport. Getting from the arrivals area to the hotel was easy as the signage was great all the way. Indoor walk all the way to the hotel. Checking in was slow - turns out the computers were slow at least for the overnight I was there and check-out was slow too. The evening reception staff were surly but the housekeeping staff and morning reception staff polite and helpful.

The room was good, in line with expectations for a convenient airport hotel. The toilet flush button would stick and had to be pushed a couple of times to make sure water wouldn't flush incessantly. The shower door wouldn't close properly so shower water would leak onto the bathroom floor. The walk between the room and elevator was very long as the hotel has a large areal footprint. Breakfast was excellent with a wonderful fruit selection and friendly helpful staff. I recommend this hotel for overnight stays at the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We thank you for the constructive review. We're sad to hear about the issues regarding your check-in as well as the issues you had with the bathroom - we will look into these matters. We're pleased you did enjoy the breakfast offerings and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

756 - 762 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed in the hotel after a long flight in from Sydney.

The hotel is a 5 to 10 minute walk from the airport terminal and is well sign posted. The reception staff were very friendly and the check-in was quick and efficient. The room was clean and very comfortable. I did not use any of the dining facilities as my 'connecting flight' was out of Johannesburg at 7am the next morning.

This is the third or forth time that members of our family have stayed at this hotel and our experience has always been positive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We're happy you enjoyed the ease of access to the hotel's location and that you found our staff friendly and efficient. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on layover to Namibia. Requested interleading rooms well in advance by email, after having to book 2 rooms online, since we have 2 children (4 and 5y old), since the hotel only allows 1 extra child per room. On arrival I was told that the hotel is very full, and they don't have any more interleading rooms. After complaining, the check in lady disappeared for 10 minutes, she returned to tell me that she has managed to organize interleading rooms. The rooms were clean, functional and modern. Unfortunately the rooms were not sound proof at all. We didn't sleep at all... the noise from the highways, Gautrain and a secondary road just underneath the window were very loud, and continued all night right until the next morning. I am not exaggerating when I say it felt like we slept right next to the highway. I almost fell asleep behind the wheel the next day! Will not stay there again.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Kaslo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are glad to know that you found our hotel’s facilities to be to your liking and that your were provided with an inter-leading room. However, we are sorry that you did not get a good night’s sleep due to external noise. The Gautrain does not operate in the early hours of the morning, so much of this noise must have come from other traffic activity. We will look into this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

On a recent trip to Africa, we had the need to transit through ORT Airport twice in two weeks. For both times, we stayed overnight at the City Lodge Hotel. The hotel conveniently located within easy walking distance from the airport. The walk is completely covered and terminal food concessions are easily available. The rooms were clean and hotel breakfasts were fine. If you're arriving before 2pm, ask for an early check-in when you make your reservation. Otherwise, a wait is likely.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are isolated from pool noise.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank VisitorBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We thank you for the good review. We're pleased you enjoyed the easy walking distance of the hotel's location, and that the standard and cleanliness of the room was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated at the OR Tambo International airport.
With ample parking and within walking distance from the departure terminals it is all about location.

Rooms are okay and value for money

Would recommend it to any traveller.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank HenkvanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks for the good review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of our hotel's location and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

The good:
Location - As it's located at the airport you do not need a cab or shuttle for transfer.
Room - The room is a good size and clean.
Restaurant - the food is superb here.
The bad :
Availability of food in late hours: everything closes at 22:00 hrs. Even in-room dining is not available past that hour. For late arrivals make sure to have something at the airport.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Sandip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We thank you for the great review. We're pleased to find that you enjoyed the location and the standard for the rooms as well as our food offerings. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Having a hotel this close to the airport is convenient, but when you have to wait 15 min to be helped by unfriendly staff after a long day , it makes traveling 5 min to another hotel worthwhile. The shower pressure and temperature control was pathetic.

With so many choices these days paying this much money for this is not worth it. Also getting a generic apology does not hack it any more.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tajusa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry to hear that you found our staff unfriendly. This is not what we are about, so we apologize for this. Our service excellence programme embraces an “I’m Kind” philosophy and that’s want we expect our guest to receive. As for the water pressure, we will certainly look into this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £101 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing