We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis for the battered transit passenger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 27 July 2014

After making 3 arduous connecting flights and having seated for over 12 hours, I was battered and could not imagine waiting another 9 hours for another connecting flight to Durban. This hotel proved to be a saviour. It is very conveniently located and its facilities are a cut above many hotels with global branding. After good sleep in their heated rooms, I was rejuvnated and ready for the fun that awaited me in Durban.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aherejons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased we could help you relax after your long flights. We hope you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

771 - 777 of 1,212 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a 16 hour trans oceanic flight, I was exhausted. Not knowing what to expect at the airport added to my apprehension. City Lodge is not a high end property - but it is wonderfully clean, spacious, warm and welcoming. Plus, there is a walkway directly from the airport to the hotel, making the transfer a simple process for the road weary. I was simply so impressed how easy it was to get to the hotel, check in, enjoy the room and make my connection in the morning. I would recommend this hotel to anyone passing through. Plus, the breakfast buffet was so much better than those served at comparably priced hotels. I could have eaten so much more but had a plane to catch. I think you'll like this place. Definitely comfortable. Definitely great value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location and found the hotel welcoming and clean. Lastly we're pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast offerings! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I stay at this hotel several times a month when passing through OR Tambo for work travel. The main draw is that it, along with the Intercontinental, is walking distance from the airport terminal. Having staying at both City Lodge and Intercontinental, I highly recommend City Lodge the fact that you get the exact same amenities for one third the price. The rooms are very comfortable, the restaurant is convenient and serves basic and good food, and the wireless is strong in the lobby area. The staff is very accommodating, helpful, and quick, and I've never had any of the customer service/hospitality issues that plague many hotels in the region. Highly recommend if you are ever staying near the airport for the night between flights.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Poppy510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We thank you for the good review. We're pleased that you find us value for money and that the rooms are up to standard. We are glad to find that you found our staff helpful and friendly. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here en route to Tanzania for just one night. Our flight arrived in at 5am and we were booked to stay that night - the staff were very accommodating and couldn't have been more helpful in getting us into our room as quickly as possible even though we knew we might have to wait until 2pm. Very close to the airport and is all under cover, an easy walk.
Breakfast was part of our room rate and was delicious.

Room Tip: Wifi in general area in reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NZJulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the great review. We do pride ourselves on the friendliness of our staff and we're glad you had good interactions with them, further we're happy to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Was here for a short over night stay waiting for next days flight. The hotel was great! Very secure,clean and the staff at the front desk was top notch. They checked our bags and made us very at home. There are only two things I would consider a draw back. The hotel is a little cumbersome to navigate , and paying for internet at the business office was annoying . Even the restaurant was excellent, food was well presented, and very fresh ideas on the menu. I would stay again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed great service from our staff. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the food options at our restaurant. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Great stopover hotel and would highly recommend. Great signage from airport to hotel and we were glad we could just walk (about 5 minutes). Check-in staff was friendly and efficient.
Rooms are not huge – but well-appointed. Tea kettle, safe, huge bathroom (with shower and separate tub), flat screen TV and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was substantial and made for a great start before our onward flight. It is true, wifi is only good for one hour a day. Be sure to log out each time. We made the mistake of logging in to check emails and did not log back out. The minutes keep ticking as long as you are logged in. Oops.
Ate dinner at the restaurant. Only “light” meals, which suited us fine after being in transit for some ungodly number of hours. We had the macaroni and cheese and the lamb meatballs. The other items included salads, open-faced sandwiches and other similar items. You could easily walk back to the airport or to the Intercontinental for something more substantial.
Bottom line: Definitely recommend as a quality stopover hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank katgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review. We're glad to hear your check in was efficient and that you found the room well appointed, and further that you enjoyed our food offerings. We will look into your issue regarding the wifi - as we do with these matters. We're also pleased that you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Arrived late one night and flight early the next morning so City Lodge @ JNB was appropriate to avoid shuttling to a nearby hotel airport. Getting from the arrivals area to the hotel was easy as the signage was great all the way. Indoor walk all the way to the hotel. Checking in was slow - turns out the computers were slow at least for the overnight I was there and check-out was slow too. The evening reception staff were surly but the housekeeping staff and morning reception staff polite and helpful.

The room was good, in line with expectations for a convenient airport hotel. The toilet flush button would stick and had to be pushed a couple of times to make sure water wouldn't flush incessantly. The shower door wouldn't close properly so shower water would leak onto the bathroom floor. The walk between the room and elevator was very long as the hotel has a large areal footprint. Breakfast was excellent with a wonderful fruit selection and friendly helpful staff. I recommend this hotel for overnight stays at the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We thank you for the constructive review. We're sad to hear about the issues regarding your check-in as well as the issues you had with the bathroom - we will look into these matters. We're pleased you did enjoy the breakfast offerings and that the staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,261 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £99 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing