We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, clean and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed almost three nights during August 2014, it was a great place and attached to International Terminal, Food court, few Shopping places. Excellent location and rooms are tidy and clean. Staff were very friendly too.

Room Tip: Attached to International Terminal, very convenient to travelers.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank thilina_tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thanks for the good review! We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of this hotel's location and that you found the rooms clean and up to standard. We're thrilled you found our staff friendly as well. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,186)
There are newer reviews for City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

This was one of the best budget choices we could make. I was travelling alone and being new to SA, the hotel being inside the airport was a huge relief! The room was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful.
The muffin's at the reception before you bid SA goodbye are great :-)

Room Tip: take a room facing outwards - the view of the city from my room was nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Litmus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We thank you for the positive review. We're pleased you found your stay enjoyable and that the staff were helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My stay was great, the Hotel is convenient and less than 10 minute walk to the terminals and restaurant's as well as ATMS. Tebogo and Mantobi treated me like a true VIP from when making my reservation to my departing the hotel I had a wonderful experience. I would only request that they keep slippers like most hotels do. I needed one urgently and the hotel couldn't provide, as I had a swollen leg. Thank goodness I could still manage to limp, However great stay. Once again Tebogo was just a super STAR.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're glad that you're happy with your interactions with our employees and that they helped improve your experience! We're glad we managed to make your stay great! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed at the City Lodge on several different occasions during our recent holiday in Africa and were pleasantly surprised.
It's an easy 5-10 min walk from the airport (take a trolley). The staff are very friendly and check in/out was easy. Rooms and beds are comfy.
Breakfast was the usual full buffet and was fine.
The lunch/dinner menu is basic but the food is good.
Overall a good place to stay when travelling to/from Johannesburg.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mybludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

We thank you for the positive review. We're happy you enjoyed the friendliness of our staff and that you found the breakfast enjoyable! We're also glad that you found the room comfortable and well equipped. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked through their own bidding site www.bid2stay.co.za and only paid R850 for a Saturday night (no breakfast). Convenient hotel next to the airport, no need to take a shuttle. One hour after landing we were at our comfortabel room. You might want to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
Breakfast the next morning was good. We paid R115 pp.
Would return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank I&P-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for the great review. We're pleased you found the bid2stay service to be good value, and that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings at the hotel. We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Location Location Location

We arrived 11:00pm at the OR Tambo International Airport after our flight was delayed for two hours. Five minute walk from the terminal and you are at the hotel, no shuttle's necessary which makes it very convenient!

The rooms were perfect for an over night stay!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Traveller1m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you ever need a convenient hotel, with VIP parking on your doorstep, try the City Lodge at OR tambo. Always a pleasure to book in, friendly staff. No frills and fanciness, just the plain basics, but this is all you need before a flight.

The airport, gautrain a walk away. Mugg and Bean, Ocean basket, Spur, etc makes your food choices big. A huge thank you for the staff at this hotel....you have never dissapointed us in all the years we have been using you.

Room Tip: always ask for a room facing the courtyard. 1st, 2nd or 3rd floor fine. We always choose 2186
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUNBIRDnelspruit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

We thank you for the positive review. We're glad you enjoyed the convenience of the hotel's location and also that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £100 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing