We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for 1 overnight stay - clean and comfortable.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Chappaqua, New York
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Perfect for 1 overnight stay - clean and comfortable.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a 1 night layover and it was very good. Located in the airport it is very convenient for a layover. The room was clean and spacious enough for 1 night. We overlooked the courtyard, so it was dark, but for one night it was fine. The staff was friendly - check in and check out was quick and easy. The restaurant was good - nice selection of menu items. Breakfast had a great selection of pasties, cereals and hot food (eggs, etc.). Overall, very comfortable stay and good value. Would recommend for 1 night, but not much more than that.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. It was very quiet. Overlooked courtyard, so it was dark - no natural lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Logan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We thank you for the positive review. We're pleased you enjoyed how convenient the hotel's location is, and that you found it perfect for a layover. We're happy to hear you experienced friendly service from the staff and that you enjoyed our wide variety of breakfast options. We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    655
    163
    33
    19
See reviews for
158
355
138
385
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

In all we stayed overnight on 3 separate occasions during our 5 week African holiday and would stay again if we were in Johannesburg.

It is perhaps a 10 minute undercover walk from main airport to the hotel so it is convenient.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with tea making facilities and the bathroom has a shower and separate bath .

We thought the food in the restaurant was nice but the menu is somewhat limited to more snack type of foods although they do have daily specials like curry/lasagne/etc no fish & chips that I noticed - no chips (french fries) which surprised me? We didn't see anything more substantial on the menu like e.g. steak or chicken fillet with vegetables etc. Mind you, I don't think you would go there expecting fine dining but I'm sure most people would find something to suit their taste and appetite. I do remember having on our first visit there the most delicious, piping hot pumpkin soup that I've eaten in a long time! Unfortunately, it wasn't on the menu again. The prices we felt were very reasonable - both food and drinks.

For breakfast there is a large range of buffet foods, eggs cooked to order and something for everyone.

On our last check in we did have a long wait as only 2 staff were on duty but apart from that on both other occasions it was OK.

There was a welcome drink for guests of home made lemonade on the reception counter each time which we appreciated after a long journey and thought a nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tembomamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re glad that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay with us. Your constructive comments about our coffee shop menu are most welcome. While we do not offer restaurant style food, we do try to provide a range of meals to suit different tastes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

...our strategic tourism work sees The Business Tourism Company commuting between the Cape and Rwanda. As RwandaAir departs ORT at 08h30 each morning, and there is no Cape Town connectivity, we stay over at the City Lodge. We have stayed there now at least 10 times: and it's great on every occasion. Back there in 10 days!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! We're glad you enjoy your stays with us! We look forward to hosting you and your team again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

we had a midnight arrival from a nightmare of an airport in nairobi, at the end of a 2 week safari in east africa and just wanted to get to bed. on our way to nairobi from johannesburg at the start of our safari, we had chanced upon the signage for City Lodge Hotel.

when you pick up your luggage and exit the airside of International Arrivals, you step right into a round cavernous hall with a metal barricade that keeps relatives/friends/drivers etc back, crowd size depending on time of day. just go around this waiting area, either left or right, and at the back, you will see a large overhead signage for directions down an escalator for City Lodge OR Tambo Airport Hotel.

signage is very good and in advance and you then go up a couple of escalators towards the carpark/parkade 2. you will go past the 'exit' for the Intercontinental which comes before the City Lodge, so do not worry.

once you reach the carpark/parkade 2 floor, head straight down the long walkway lined with pillars, with the airport behind you. when you get to the end of this walkway, about 150m, there is a lift on your right hand side, in a lit-up corner with different coloured flooring. this is the lift that will get you to the hotel reception.

hope that was accurate and helps.

our check-in took a while when we were the only group at the reception. the check-in staff looked tired but went about their work dutifully. so, perhaps considering the time of the night/morning. once done, we lugged our luggage along ourselves, just one floor up via the lift from the reception. the room was as close to the lift as possible, as we had requested, and we are appreciative of this.

the room is nice, with a large double bed, kettle, desk, sofa and spacious toilet. though the freeway was right outside, we were not bothered by noise, even in the morning. there is a bathtub and mechanized shutter between the toilet and the bedroom, like an open-concept bathroom balinese-style. the shower was very powerful and hot water readily available. slight problem with the toilet door which was slightly misaligned and had to be lifted to be closed. the door is heavy though, and might be difficult for some to handle.

there is no mini-bar but you can get drinks and snacks at the vending machines located round the corner next to the reception. you will need coins for this. a small bottle of water costs 10 rand, something the hotel could be kind enough to provide complimentary?

we received a call just as we about to turn in, just before 1am, to provide some translation help to the front desk. they had a tourist from China who needed assistance and we said yes even when we were dead tired. the front desk staff are nice enough, but we question the wisdom of approaching other guests for help at such a time. there is always the option to say no, but putting someone in such a position is questionable. we are sure the hotel can come up with a better solution.

all that said (sorry for the long narrative), the hotel does its job, providing good sleep in comfortable and clean environs, without a long commute from the airport. for the price, it beats the other options around. the staff are helpful enough though we believe the best of them might show at less unearthly hours.

Room Tip: let the hotel know in advance of your preferences; the hotel booking site is very informative and yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hankyspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your extensive review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We apologize for the late night translating, but also thank your for going out of your way to do this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The City Lodge Hotel is a good solid stopover hotel. As an airport hotel, it is not too sterile, although it is also not brimming with all the usual hotel comforts and services. However, it is surprisingly comfortable. For example, there are no face clothes in the bathroom or room service, yet our room and the restaurant furniture seemed fairly new and not austere. I did not notice signs of wear and tear, and the room seemed clean.

They provided a good port-a-cot for our baby, with sweet bedding (not that she is old enough to use some of it yet).

Strangely the bathroom is quite large for an airport hotel. The trade-off is a small bedroom/living area, which seems odd. Apparently all of the rooms are the same, so you can’t upgrade.

The walls between room seemed very thin and noise traveled clearly.

I did have a bad shower experience where the water temperature oscillated unpredictably between scorching and tep
id. I was too scared to stand directly under the shower for fear of being burnt.

The restaurant has a simple well-priced dinner menu and my salad was basic and fresh. I was disappointed at the lack of gluten free options for sandwiches, and pasta etc., and I found the restaurant felt a bit like an airport lounge. It would have been nice to have some of the food as room service, however it was pleasant enough to go and sit in the restaurant.

Compared with what else is around, the price is very reasonable and is good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your wide-ranging review. We’re glad you like so many aspects of our hotel. We have also take note of the issues which did not impress you and will take action where we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I had the nasty experience of the shower door almost falling on me this morning! This will make me think twice before opening a huge, glass shower door again.
Maintenance obviously not up to standard with the bottom hinges totally loose - door just neatly pressed close and left to fall on a guest - most definately NOT kind as the slogan states.
Front desk handed me a piece of paper from their printer to write a complaint.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rafiki50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We apologize sincerely for this unfortunate experience and will certainly look into this matter so it does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Not living in Jhb - I booked in here for 2 x nights as I had a very early morning flight out to George the next morning for business and a return flight back to Jhb on the same day arriving late evening. I required a hotel close by as I did not want to still have the hassle of arriving back in Jhb and then still travelling to a Guest house. Was perfect as I could park my car - knowing it was safe. Unfortunately my day trip to George turned into a overnight stay with no luggage. Mist had pulled in over George and my evening flight back and all flights out of George was cancelled.
I was concerned as my clothes and other belongings were still in my room in Jhb and the next flight out was only the next morning 10 am arriving after 12 pm Lunch. By then I should have been booked out. I contacted the Hotel - Informed of my situation and they were very accommodating - Advising me - That nothing would be removed out of the room and that my car would be safe and that I could come and pack up upon my arrival back in Jhb. I arrived at 12.30 - Was afforded the time to shower - Get dressed and pack my belongings and book out.
Normal booking out time 10 am.
I have only one negative - If you do not know OR Tambo airport - The Hotel entrance and parking area extremely difficult to find.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevor312564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for the great review. We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed some great service from our staff - all part of our 'ImKind' initiative. We're happy we could help alleviate your stressful situation! We hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,125 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport

Property: City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Address: Above Multi-Storey Parkade 2, Level 5 | OR Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#6 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based at Africa’s busiest airport, City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will provide business and leisure travellers with “home away from home” accommodation that is ideal for those commuting to and from Johannesburg and perfect for those who require immediate access to the airport. OR Tambo Airport offers a number of services from banking to a wide range of retailers, so whether it’s a good book or a scrumptious meal, the airport’s facilities have everything you need. The hotel boasts boardroom and conference facilities, a fitness room as well as a deck with a pool and a large commercial area with a coffee shop. Rooms • Spacious air-conditioned room with queen or twin beds • Flat screen Television (MNet and DSTV) – Satellite channels offering exciting sport, breaking news and great movies. • En-Suite Bathroom with bath and separate shower. • Tea and coffee making facilities • Wireless Internet Access available in all rooms • Electronic safe large enough to accommodate a laptop • Desk with great lighting and plugs for easy connectivity • Telephone Breakfast: At City Lodge our breakfasts are legendary. Choose between a scrumptious Full English or Continental breakfast (buffet style) in the hotel’s spacious breakfast area. Coffee Shop: City Lodge at OR Tambo Airport will have a coffee shop offering guests a comprehensive menu with hot and cold food choices ranging from salads, to wraps, to tremazzinis all the way to hearty soups. Bar: The hotel boasts a comfortable bar to enjoy the evening or wait for your next flight. Facilities • Boardroom Facilities – Roadlodge, our 8 Seater Meeting Room and Townlodge, our 12 seater Boardroom - includes flat screen television with laptop connectivity and wireless internet access. • Conference Facility – Courtyard A, seats 22 people. Courtyard B seats 24 people, combined with the option to be shared to create one room – seats up to 46 people. • Safe and secure underground parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Lodge Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing