We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy stay over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Journey's Inn Africa
Ranked #2 of 66 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy stay over”
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

What a friendly and cosy place to stay over. It is situated very close to the airport and was easy to find.
The accommodation was booked for me, so had I no idea what to expect, but when I arrived quite late the first night, I was welcomed by the friendliest young lady with the name of Jane. The checkin was quick and she even had a little fire going outside to warm up the guests.

Plain accommodation, but the attention to detail was perfect.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CasperScholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    61
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
44
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Staying here always feels like home. Great hosts that make you feel comfortable, great food, nice rooms and a fire on the patio make relaxing easy as soon as you arrive. This is a cozy little treasure just a short drive from the airport.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank roger p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Lawrence and his wife were very gracious hosts! Their genuine personalities made them an excellent and trustworthy representative of their Inn and country. It makes sense since they are also serious tour guides. You know its good when other tour operators stay there!
We enjoyed their sincerity in making every effort to accommodate us and our friends who arrived a day after us. Making a Gluten free meal for one of our team. Very cool.
Rooms were spacious and very clean, coffee, tea, kettle and chocolate bars were a 'sweet' touch. The beds were comfy but the frames creek a bit when you move. The TV was good but quiet even on max. Volume but sufficient (a pro for the neighbours...lol) . The bathrooms were great! Lots of room and the showers were excellent especially if your a taller person!
The honor bar has 3 couches and a big screen TV as well.
The food was good and Jane was a good cook! After a month previous in India... mmm BACON!!!
The Inn is close to a park (5 min walk), convienience store and burger place (10min walk), and a good mall (20 min walk), and a Great evangelical church (Maranatha - 25 min walk).
The review would not be complete unless I mentioned Trixy...their little Ambassador a dashound ( aka. Wiener Dog). If you like animals, you'll love her. Gentle and loving any attention, she is the perfect quiet friend to all. Oh and the little campfire by the pool is excellent.
My wife and I travel the world for work and ministry and we both agreed that this was one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed at especially for the $.
It is all located in an Up Scale Residential neighbourhood 10 - 15 min from the Airport by vehicle. Pick up is available from the airport as well.
We are going back for 1 night before we leave for Frankfurt, Holland, Finland then home to Canada...try it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank prisonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The staff are very helpful and the hospitality is outstanding.
The chalets are very comfortable and homely, not mention they are extremely clean and tidy
Definitely home, away from home!
Well done guys!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank seatfr12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Always greeted with a smile and they make you feel welcome. Good rooms, bar facilities and relaxing atmosphere.Very good service and excellent dining Close to most business centers and entertainment areas.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My wife & I have stayed here on several occasions, a couple of times with her parents and another with our 2 grandsons.

The accommodations are basic but comfortable. Great bathroom, limited TV channel selections. The grounds are very nice and there is a pool. Breakfast is included and is very good.

The owner at the time (Liezel) picked us up & returned us to O.R.Tambo Airport as well as to some local restaurants. As our flights back to the US typically don't leave until late in the day, she would drop us at a nearby mall for the day so that we could do a little shopping, see a movie, have a meal, etc. That way she could also prepare our rooms for the next guests. She would then pick us up & drop us a the airport. You simply could not ask for better service or value!
Our 2 stays were actually in 2007 & 2010, but TripAdvisors date range is limited to the last 12 months. I should have written this long ago!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyRay1458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

You will be welcomed into this most pleasant, clean and comfortable home-from-home by the delightful owners and you will enjoy an excellent value overnight stay - or even longer if you're not in transit. An added bonus was to be met at the airport on arrival and transferred back the next day after spending the morning relaxing next to the sparkling pool.

Joining the owners for dinner is an option as is dining at one of the nearby restaurants a few km down the road. A delicious breakfast is served in the bright dining room adjoining the pool and well maintained garden.

A cosy African-themed bar, with payment based on an honesty system, has a large flat-screen TV and full DStv bouquet.

Being only 10 min from the airport is most convenient although this proximity brings with it the noise of overflying aircraft. However, you will probably only retire after the last plane at night and be up before flights are resumed the next morning. This would be the only reason for me not giving it an "excellent" rating.

Don Martin
Managing Director
SA Cruises

Room Tip: Room No. 1 has a wonderful large shower with excellent water pressure and piping hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,332 reviews
3.4 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,073 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
4.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
4.3 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Journey's Inn Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Journey's Inn Africa

Property: Journey's Inn Africa
Address: 20 Gwarrie Road | Glen Marais, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 66 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Journey's Inn Africa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Journey's Inn Africa is a charming *** Guest Lodge situated in the well located, up market and safe suburb of Glen Marais, Kempton Park - Johannesburg, which is only 10 minutes from O R Tambo International Airport, the main port of entry to South Africa and most southern African countries. We offer great value for money with a high standard of clean, comfortable accommodation and a scrumptious breakfast included in our rates. We have 9 spacious en-suite rooms, each room with its own private entrance. We offer quality "3 Star" accommodation. A traditional welcome drink and charming South African hospitality awaits you on your arrival, where you will then be cared for by our friendly and efficient staff. Our Inn provides a warm inviting atmosphere with a classic African ambiance. Other services available: "Meet & Greet" and transfers to and from all airports in Gauteng Local - full day & half day excursions / tours Short - tours & safaris Day rooms exclusive to guests Mini conference facilities Wireless Internet (Wi-Fi) Laundry service Dinner - set menus Bar Personal amenities in each room Hair dryers & international plugs available from reception DSTV Swimming pool Plenty of secure / undercover parking Situated close to: Numerous restaurants Various SPA facilities Shopping Malls Casino Golf Driving Range Golf courses (Serengeti, etc) Sport stadiums (Ellis Park, etc) BMX Track ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Journey's Inn Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing