We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
patrice929
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Relaxing transit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Mar 2017
On our way between Zambia and Dar es Salaam we had to spend the night in Johannesburg. Instead of staying at an impersonal hotel at the airport we chose the Journey's Inn Africa. We were not disappointed. Excellent BBQ for dinner, clean room, bonfire and nice breakfast the next morning. Everything the we needed for this short transit.
Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
£52
  • Expedia.com
    £63
  • Agoda.com
    £45
  • Hotels.com
    £63
3.4 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £91
  • Vio.com
    £88
  • Hotels.com
    £91
4.1 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
£97
  • Expedia.com
    £121
  • Agoda.com
    £83
  • Hotels.com
    £121
2.6 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£36
  • Priceline
    £36
  • Agoda.com
    £33
  • Trip.com
    £49
2.1 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£64
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £64
  • Agoda.com
    £60
  • Hotels.com
    £64
4.1 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
£74
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £73
  • Algotels
    £57
  • Hotels.com
    £73
4.2 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Pool
£104
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £116
  • Vio.com
    £75
  • Hotels.com
    £116
5.1 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£159
  • Expedia.com
    £177
  • Vio.com
    £114
  • Hotels.com
    £177
5.3 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
£35
  • Expedia.com
    £45
  • Vio.com
    £34
  • Hotels.com
    £45
1.2 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    £244
  • InterContinental
    £244
  • Hotels.com
    £244
4.1 miles from Journey's Inn Africa Guest Lodge
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kempton Park
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
182
110
11
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
182
110
11
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meals provided honor system home away from home rooms are clean guest lodge stayed nights great stay long flight night stay next morning airport accommodations johannesburg safari
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Two things are indispensable for us when choosing a holiday accommodation: very nice hosts and excellent breakfast. We found both in the Journey`s Inn Afrika guest house.
Whoever receives others warmly and gladly, usually makes sure that everything else is right. Just as in this case: We had a nice room, with a large bathroom. Also in the decorative design of the room, the hosts have shown a lot of taste and love for details. We highly recommend this accommodation and would love to come back!
The breakfast was the best during our entire trip. Cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit salad, not even a warm porridge was missing and freshly prepared egg dishes were served on request. Here we got the best filter coffee.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jvogt_179916
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 March 2017

A great little hotel near airport, in a residential area. There's a supermarket and small shopping-centre about 1,4 km from the property. You can walk safely dying daytime. Friendly staff, good food, a nice garden with bonfire in the evening, and a small clean pool. Rooms are basic but with everything you need, we liked the interior. The rooms size and interior can vary a little. Our young son loved the small dog and cat. The best about the hotel was anyway the atmosphere. We really felt at home and it had a wonderful "African farm feeling".

Some noise from planes must be expected, but didn't hear any between 10 PM and 6 AM (or maybe we just slept well?). Airport transfer is 160 ZAR pr person. Airport is 10-15 min drive away.

Would diffidently stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouisG1400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Beautiful clean place with friendly service. Needed a place to overnight and rest up after flying in from Denmark, this was just what we needed and then a drop off at the airport to continue our journey. Was so impressed that we booked in again on our return journey. Will definitely do this again. Thanks a million.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank robertmoerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 February 2017

This hotel is a gem. We were looking for a 2 night stay at a quiet, nice hotel to avoid the huge airport hotel experience. We had been traveling for 3 weeks by car and just wanted to relax in a safe, comfortable hotel before our departure by air. This hotel is lovely, so well cared for and the staff was helpful, so friendly, and accommodated any requests/questions we had. Breakfast was very nice, dinner also ample and well prepared. Rooms were spotlessly clean and I always know how well a staff tends to things when the windows are sparkling clean and these were! Great refurbished bathroom with huge tub and beautiful shower. Nice area for TV viewing in a lounge with self service bar and a beautiful CLEAN pool. In the evening they make a fire in the courtyard for sitting and chatting, lovely. Neighborhood is very nice, and the hotel is secure and no safety issues. My only complaint was the comfort of the mattress....but overall a wonderful experience.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

Thanks to Laurence and Alida for organising our trip to Victoria Falls and then the amazing Blue Train to Cape Town! Everything was spot on including all our transfers and lovely hotel at Vic Falls. Journeys Inn Africa was just right for our overnight stay in Jo'burg - friendly, good food and spotlessly clean. Thanks again for your professional friendly organisation!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank christinemU5038WU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews