We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels with worst management ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best hotels with worst management ever”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The lady manager does not have respect to her junior employees and hotel guests.I feel sory for those who have to go throuugh that experience everyday.have been there for 3days and all I saw was her shouting to other workers

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petrott12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest

At Premier Hotels, respect for others is one of our prime drivers and as such what happened is obviously unacceptable.

We will ensure that corrective action takes place appropriately and behind the scenes.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo again soon.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,220
    685
    160
    38
    23
See reviews for
305
751
255
650
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel the night before catching a flight to Cape Town. It is near the airport and it offers a free shuttle - be aware that shuttle only runs once per hour and based on our observations, it doesn't abide by the times posted in the lobby. Our room was spacious and clean, although we booked a double bed and received a room with two singles - we were too exhausted from our 6 hour drive to request a new room... I'm sure they would have corrected the issue had we spoken to the friendly front desk. The wifi worked well on our laptop but not on our phones, and you're limited to 250MB, after which you're required to purchase lots of data (100MB for R50.00). The hotel pool is nice and the food ordered from the bar was delicious - try the burger and fries. Despite my irritation regarding the shuttle and the wifi, I would stay here again, but I'm unable to give it 5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent experience at Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having the pleasure of your company again soon.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel during a recent business visit to South Africa. Very close airport,neat and clean and free internet, break fast included. Food us good, but theover all service is very average. The services at restaurant a bit lazy.The wifi is very weak, and no LAN connection at rooms; I had to come to lobby for network connection.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sureshan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sureshan K

Our complimentary shuttle also circles past Rhodesfield Gautrain Station from which you can access the train to Sandton and all of Gauteng. At the OR Tambo airport there are banks, shops and restaurants that are open till late at night.

We also have sightseeing tours to all of Gauteng that depart from the hotel daily. Booking is essential though.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo.


Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

An airport hotel with a free shuttle to/from JNB and breakfast inclusive. Very clean and elegantly designed rooms with matching amenities. A very quiet sleep guaranteed here. Breakfast was very good with abundant options. Service at the reception and restaurant was very good.

On the not so good side, the location is a residential neighborhood with absolutely nothing to do outside the hotel. The hotel restaurant had just ok food, but you are stuck with it. For this reason, not recommended beyond overnight stay unless you have a car. 'Free' internet is limited to 250 Mb.

Room Tip: upper floor rooms have nice views, both sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsafiriTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your comment.

Our complimentary shuttle also circles past Rhodesfield Gautrain Station from which you can access the train to Sandton and all of Gauteng. At OR Tambo airport there are banks, shops and restaurants that are open until late at night. We also have sightseeing tours to all of Gauteng that depart from the hotel daily. Booking is essential though.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We decided to stay in the Premier hotel due to an early connecting flight to Cape Town in the morning. The hotel is situated conveniently close to the airport across the highway - there is little of interest around the hotel besides the airport (it is an airport hotel after all!)

We were impressed with the standard of the hotel, although we did not use any of the facilities or eat in the restaurant. Parking is secure. Check in / out was friendly and efficient. The rooms were of a high standard with attractive, modern decor. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in in a hotel (I sleep in a lot of hotels!), and the room was quiet and provided a good nights sleep. The bathroom was excellent, modern and clean. Internet was complimentary and worked well although there was some confusion initially with the access code.

One word of warning: We had a early start the next morning and needed to drop off our hire car before catching our flight. Although the hotel is just across the highway from the airport, following the directions provided by the hotel it took us over 30 minutes to reach the airport in peak hour traffic, almost resulting us missing our flight! The problem it seems is a traffic light just before the airport that results in severe congestion - I would suggest considering an alternative route if catching a flight during peak hours.

All in all I would recommend this hotel for an airport stopover.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letswingit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Traveller

Thank you for your positive feedback which is greatly appreciated. We would like to recommend that in the future you make use of our complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport to aleviate the concerns of returning a rental vehicle.

We look forward to welcoming you to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo again soon.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel during our transit from Cape Town to India via Joburg.
Location : The hotel is well located close to the OR Tambo (about 7-10mins) and they run a hotel shuttle every 30 mins from the airport.
Hotel : The hotel is very clean with good interiors and a comfortable feel. The staff is very helpful and efficient.
Room : The room we were given (Twin bed) was to say the least 'huge'. Very spacious yet very effective airconditioning, large bathroom & wardrobe and very comfortable beds.
Breakfast : The food is great with a lot of variety.
Definitely recommended for transit stays though not much around the area if planning a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharadjaiswal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for the positive review.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon at Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrest, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

The hotel is very convenient to O R Tambo International Airport as well as the Gautrain(nearby Rhodesfield Station-----easy connections to Sandton City as well as Pretoria etc.). The breakfasts were excellent. We enjoyed our 3 night stay and will definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John7072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your visit to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that we met your expectations and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo again soon.

Yours in Hospitality
Henk Bredenoord
General Manager Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.8 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.8 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Hotel OR Tambo

Property: Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Address: 73 Gladiator Street | Rhodesfield, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Premier Hotel OR Tambo 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport welcomes you to Johannesburg, the major international gateway into South Africa. Johannesburg, more commonly known as Jo'burg or Jozi, is a rapidly changing city and the vibrant heart of South Africa. Vibrant and dynamic, Jozi has a throbbing pulse, an awesome sense of rhythm and invites you to indulge in the extravagant comfort of the Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport. Named for the O.R. Tambo International Airport which is situated a mere 1,2km away, Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo airport is the ideal destination for both the leisure and business traveller. Far from being just a stay-over, the Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo provides all the services and style necessary to make for a comfortable travel experience.This pristine hotel offers 275 rooms (49 of which are suites with their own lounges), public areas offer free Wi-Fi internet connections, in-room dining, in-room safety deposit box, business centre, swimming pool deck, gymnasium, restaurant and two bars along with, room service and secure undercover parking.Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo also contains a large conference centre, with nine conference rooms and board-rooms, able to hold up to 800 delegates cinema-style along with state-of-the-art facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing