We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Nearby Hotels
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$392
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$348
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$332
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sunrock Guesthouse(Kempton Park)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,568)
Filter reviews
2,568 results
Traveller rating
1,439
850
198
50
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,439
850
198
50
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssefton cramerclose to the airportshuttle servicefree shuttleexcellent hotellate checkexcellent stayroom serviceairport hotelspacious roomevery half hourpleasant stayenjoyed my staybetween flightslong flightone night stayovernight stay
Filter
Updating list...
2,241 - 2,246 of 2,568 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is really one of the best value for money hotels I have visited. Firstly the shuttle service to and from the airport to the hotel is on time, the drivers are friendly and helpful and explain the service well. There is always a daily paper in the shuttle in the event that one must wait for the shuttle to leave.

The reception service is really good, The staff is well trained, very friendly and try to accommodate one's questions and queries immediately. Norma is a star!

The hotel is in a excellent condition. Everything works. I have been staying in this hotel for a period of 4 weeks of and on and there was just nothing that was broken and if there were any complaints, Sam the maintenance man is there within minutes to assist and explain. The rooms are cleaned immaculately every day and the bathroom is stocked every day with new soaps and shampoos. The bedding is extremely comfortable and always spotless and clean.

The hotel's utilities are excellent, The gym is basic but modern and comfortable.There are always clean towels and water on hand and one just gets the motivation to really have a good work out.

The hotel serves two buffets at lunch and dinner and a full breakfast. This is also really brilliant value for money. Although I did not use this every day it was a pleasure just to walk past and see the effort that goes into making the lunch and dinner experience a pleasure. They also have a bar menu and the food on this is very well priced and excellently prepared. Michael is the man. He knows his bar and serves you with a rye smile,

Something which is also different from other hotels in the area is that the management knows that having internet access (for free) at any time is nowadays an essential element of any businessman's travel experience. Wi-fi access is easy and available any spot in the hotel,

The business center of the hotel is also well equipped.

The choice of TV channels is also a plus, The equipment is modern, well maintained and easy operated.


The General Manager and other duty managers are always available and really gives one the feeling that it is important for them that one feels welcome and comfortable.

Well done Premier Hotel OR Tambo. Keep it up and keep on being a jewel in the crown!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DerickdeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear DerickdeV – Esteemed Guest,

Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well.

We would like to thank you for your very kind words, and are furthermore thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.

We will most certainly share your comments and commend Norma, Sam, Michael and the Team for going the extra mile, which has resulted in your favourable stay.

Once again, many thanks for your positive feedback, and looking forward to your next visit, which we trust will be soon.

Should you need to contact us for anything in the future, kindly do so, so that we may assist you accordingly.
Kind regards,

Sefton Cramer
General Manager
Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

we found this hotel met all our needs for an overnight stay between flights. Airport shuttle is convenient, but only operates from 6am so we had to pay for a taxi to get back to OR Tambo for an early flight. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms can be a bit noisy due to the proximity to the airport
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Messrs, Angela W – Esteemed Customer,

Good morning to you, and we trust you are well.

Please may we thank you for your constructive feedback, it is truly appreciated.

We would like to let you know that we are in the process of increasing the frequencies of our shuttles to and from the Airport as well as reassessing the time schedules thereof, which should be implemented in the very near future.

Many thanks once again for your feedback, and looking forward to your next visit , which we hope will be soon.

Kind regards,
Sefton Cramer
General Manager
Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

With the free shuttle it is a worthwhile option to the "in-airport" hotels. However, be sure to give yourself 30 minutes extra travel time, even though the hotel is 10 min. away. If you take into account time to load people into the shuttle and unloading, and waiting at traffic lights, well... 30 minutes is a safer planning.

We highly recommend asking for a room close to the elevators, and don't necessarily accept the first room they give you. In the booking we asked for a room no more than 3 away from the elevators, but they originally gave us the very last room at the end of 3 long corridors which was literally a 10 minute walk from the lifts. We asked to be moved and got a better room, higher up, and closer to the lifts. I don't know why they seem to do that to people.

One thing we noticed is that everyone working there "appeared" to be happy. It is certainly nicer to deal with happy staff than grumpy ones. Kudos for the pleasant staff. We only did an overnight and left early in the morning, but the stay was pleasant and the room very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lifts and don't accept the 1st room they give you if you're not happy. The "alternate" rooms are often better than the original for some reason. Give yourself 30 minutes buffer to/from airport with the shuttle to allow for traffic, lights, and loading/unloading. Free shuttle runs every hour, on the hour from airport, and half hour from hotel. Airport pick-up spot is 200m from the arrivals hall door, on the other side of InterContinental (straight shot out the doors and through an overpass).
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank TheSC0TTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier O, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2014

Dear Esteemed Guest,

Good day to you, and we hope that you are very well.

We would like to thank you for your very kind words, it is truly appreciated.

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us.

Once again, many thanks for your positive feedback, and looking forward to your next visit, which we trust will be soon.

Should you need to contact us for anything whatsoever in the future, please may we kindly ask you to do so, so that we may assist you accordingly.

May we wish both you and your Family, a Safe and Blissful Festive Season and an Unbelievable 2015.

Kind regards,
Sefton Cramer.
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel has everything going for it, and would have gotten a 4- or 5-star, IF ONLY THE WIFI WORKED properly. This is a business hotel, often used for conferences (as was the case in my visit), and it just boggles the mind that the wireless Internet service it provides is so poor:

First, it uses the annoying voucher system, so you have to keep typing some code to log in whenever you un-suspend or switch access point, and all your open tabs will reload to the voucher gateway and you'll lose your history. Secondly, the hotel staff refuses to give you more than one voucher at a time. Thirdly, each voucher is only good for up to 250MB of data. Fourthly, the connection keeps DROPPING, and access points keep DISAPPEARING. Fifthly, hotel staff refused to even SELL us additional vouchers(!).

Other than that, the rooms are clean, spacious, and pleasant. The in-hotel restaurant makes good food (though the waiters I encountered were underinformed about the menu and had poor comprehension of even simple requests in English), and the breakfast is quite generous and fulfilling. The fruit, as in most places in Africa, is just superb. The restrooms in the conference areas are consistently spotless!

The location is practical, in that it's minutes away from the OR Tambo airport. There is absolutely nothing within walking distance of the hotel, however.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ABW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear ABW27,

Good morning to you and we hope that you are very well ?

Many thanks for your constructive and honest feedback, it is truly appreciated.

I would like to apologise for the various incidents that you experienced during your stay with us.

I am truly sorry that the said issues were not brought to our attention during your stay, which would have allowed for us to take immediate corrective action, and furthermore ensuring that your stay would have been a more favourable one.

I would like to let you know that we are not aware of any shortcomings in terms of Wi-Fi, however we will investigate the matter with immediate effect, so that we do not inconvenience anyone else in the future. In addition to this we would like to inform you that we are no longer restricting the issuing of vouchers, within reason.

The matter regarding the waitrons has been addressed with the relevant management, who in turn have re -implemented effective training schedules.

Once again, please accept our apologies.

Kind regards,

Sefton Cramer.
General Manager
Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Needed to stay two nights near the Jo'burg airport in order to gather together friends from the UK who were joining us. Chose this hotel as we had not been very satisfied with the Southern Sun on previous stays, and the InterContinental is expensive and would not budge on price even though we were booking several room nights.

Arrived in the morning from Heathrow and got a taxi instead of walking to and waiting for the shuttle. Hotel is just off the airport grounds in a mostly commercial/industrial area. We were checked in early and efficiently with no problem and found our room was a suite instead of a standard room. Decor of the two rooms was sleek and understated. The living area had a sofa and coffee tables, cabinet with tea and coffee making facilities, good-sized desk, refrigerator and TV with all the usual cable channels.

The lighting system was not very intuitive, and we had to experiment with the various switches to know what we were getting. There was also a hi-tech "do not disturb" system, which I assume was supposed to show a light in the corridor outside. Unfortunately this didn't seem to work as we were interrupted while napping by a maid one afternoon. The free wi-fi was a bonus, as most South African hotels make a charge. Not sure if this was because we were upgraded or not, but it was very welcome.

The bedroom had a door separating it from the sitting area and it was quite roomy, with ample hanging and drawer space, plus a safe in the closet. The heating/AC system (both rooms) was pretty quiet and easy to use. The room was quite cold as it was winter, but soon warmed up. The king-sized bed was fantastic. I can't remember when I have slept in such a comfortable hotel bed; there were pillows of differing hardness, plus very good quality linens. Reasonable bedside lights and heavy curtains to keep out the light. And no airplane noise despite our location.

Bathroom was large with full bath, good-sized walk-in shower with glass door, and two rather modern sinks. Towels were of good quality, as were the toiletries. Water pressure was excellent.

As other reviewers have noted, there is nothing interesting around the hotel, although a couple of our friends took a taxi to a nearby shopping mall where there were restaurants etc. if you wished to eat away from the hotel. The buffet breakfast was more than adequate, with choices for both African and Western tastes and the dining area was comfortable and clean. Eating choices during the day and evening were from bar and a la carte menus, plus a buffet in the evening. The restaurant service was very good. No world-class food here, but reasonably priced and generally better than you would expect. The bar had a decent selection of beers, wines and spirits, and the bar staff were willing, if not enthusiastic.

For some reason, the outside pool was built on the south side of the hotel, so it got hardly any sun, although that might not be a problem in the summer. I understand there is another pool, but I didn't manage to find that. There was a smallish gym on the 4th floor. Treadmills, elliptical, bicycle and free weights were of decent quality. Only problem was that all the equipment faced away from the big TV in the room - not sure why.

The service was excellent overall. We took the shuttle to the airport before we checked out and the driver actually parked the van and led us to the car rental counters so we could pick up our vehicle - that was very much appreciated.

We were very happy with this hotel. It was ideal for a one or two night stay while passing through Johannesburg after or before a long flight. The location just off the airport grounds was not a problem and maybe better than staying in the middle of heavy ground and air traffic. The manager was on site and visible most of the time, and his detailed attention seems to have really paid off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank marleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PremierHotelsSocial, General Manager at Premier Hotel OR Tambo, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Marleydog – Esteemed Customer,

Many thanks for your constructive feedback, it is truly appreciated.

We are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, however it is evident that we have a few shortcomings in terms of the room lighting system which is somewhat awkward to operate, as well as the matter of the “do not disturb” system, which is not necessarily working as effectively as it should, due to the reason as highlighted in your e-mail.

In addition to this, we would like to let you know that all our esteemed customers, both in terms of conferencing and accommodation receive free Wi-Fi access within the complex.

The issues regarding the challenges of both the lighting and “do not disturb” systems have been discussed with both our front office personnel as well as the ladies in housekeeping, with the intent of minimising the unfortunate incidents that you were exposed to.

We trust you will accept our apologies, and looking forward to your next visit, which we hope will be very soon.

Sefton Cramer
General Manager
Premier Hotel O.R. Tambo Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews