We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for Transit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for Transit”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This hotel is reasonably priced for 1 night stopover near the airport. I booked this hotel because of free pickup from airport. Just have to walk for a few minutes for pickup. There was no one waiting with the name of the hotel so you have to wait until the pickup vehicle turns up. I waited for about 20 mins.

The area looks a bit unsafe to walk around. Once I checked in, I did not go out. The dinner is served in the hotel for a reasonable price. The food is not exceptional but adequate.

Adequate for transit.

Room Tip: Good for transit
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh7912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    236
    142
    36
    17
See reviews for
112
169
64
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If I have to sum up the entire hotel in one word, it would be 'efficient'. This is both good and bad. Good because the hotel arranges and provides for all the most necessary things (shuttle service, good breakfast, efficient booking, wifi, etc) with efficiency, but there is nothing extra in terms of ambience, luxury etc. The property is close to the airport so ideal for a short stay in Joburg or when in transit. It is clean and neat and serves good breakfast.
That being said, there are shortfalls in the room itself - the lighting is a bit inadequate, and privacy is weird. The bathroom door is transparent, and in front of the mirror! So if you are sharing the room, if someone is occupying the toilet, thats what you would see if you went to comb your hair in the mirror at that time! The shower space is cramped.
So, if you are looking for a reasonable priced accesible hotel, you can stay here. But if Joburg tours are on your itinirary, avoid this because it is far from the touristy places and not good enough for more than a day or two of stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SahilPotdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mmabatho, North-West, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The first impression last, and from reception to the room, it was just a disappointment. When a person shift is done there is a handover but the receptionists acted like the person had gone home with the office.
The waitress was rude like she is forced to do her work. She was very cold and uninterested

The hotel rooms are suppose to be warm and inviting, but this was cold, from design to pillows.

Very unhappy client

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ethel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maputo, Mozambique
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo is a clean and comfortable hotel which is close to the airport, which makes it very convenient for traveler. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and welcoming.
There is secured parking for those whole are traveling via car. I also saw a hotel shuttle bus, I didn't use it as I was driving. If you are driving to this hotel there are very limited signage, so be on the look out. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. My room had a musty smoke smell as if it was a smokers room that I booked (which I didn't). Although it didn't really bother me. There is WIFI in the rooms, but the signal is very weak and we couldn't connect. The breakfast was a great spread. They have a swimming pool and and restaurant for those who need an evening meal or lunch.
I would stay at this hotel again, as it is the perfect stop over hotel for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Like most of the people we booked this hotel to transit... the hotel was ok the room was average and the roof of the bathroom was failling. We mentionned on the booking that we wanted a room facing the airport and it was not the case. The woman at the reception was not helpful and quite rude. The restaurant was good especially the pizza my partner got the buffet that was average.

To be honest, it is easy enough to get transfer with the Gautrain so next time we will spend the night to a different place around Sandton even for a transit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiattt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

If like me you want a hotel that I close to Johannesburg airport so that you can get some rest while transiting, don't stay here. The airport shuttle pick up is completely unreliable. I have stayed here twice, and both times the pre-arranged transfer only arrived after I called the hotel, after I got sick of waiting for the bus.

On Nov 3rd I arrived from Nairobi at 7.15pm. A few days before, I had called to organise an airport transfer (my emails to organise this were never answered). The plane arrived on time, and it took me until 7.45 to clear immigration and customs. At 8.15pm I called the Aviator and was told that it was on its way. It arrived at 8.35pm. Once I got on the mini-bus other people, who were on the same flight as me, had gotten out of the airport quicker and just missed a transfer at 7.30pm. It is a 10minute drive, so why did it take over an hour for a shuttle to come back. As the Aviator knew I was arriving on the 7.15pm flight, why did they not come either wait, or come back immediately after delivery people to the hotel (those who they picked up at 7.30).
The driver gave a half-hearted apology for the delay, but gave no explanation. The hotel reception also couldn't explain the delay.
Then the room I was given smelt like year old cigarettes, so I had to change, and ended up sleeping in a single bed.
Instead of being in bed by 9pm, so I could get a good nights sleep before I headed back to the airport, it was much later than that.

This wasn't the first time the Aviator's airport transfer let me down. On the 10th September, I arrived in Johannesburg at the start of my Africa trip. Also pre-arranged an airport transfer when I arrived on a flight at 5.50am. It was after 7am, after we called the hotel, that the transfer arrived.

I was back in Johannesburg on the 12 November, and I stayed at the City Lodge at the airport. It is more expensive but no transfer is required.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PYB-oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The hotel was selected for the location & availability to the airport. I had a group of 7 friends who were traveling to Cape Town and then a safari. This was a perfect location with transportation provided to handle all of our arrangements. The shuttle service was very easy to access. The restaurant provided a menu with a good selection for all. The food was excellent and the service even better. Rooms were very clean and had a modern feel. The breakfast which was included was the best provided of any hotel stay during our 14 day trip. I would recommend this hotel and I would definitely book it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,073 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,332 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Property: The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing