We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just to sleep and go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Manaus-AM
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just to sleep and go”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A cheap way to sleep in Johannesburg to take a flight in the other day. The lobby and transportation to airport is good and the restaurant is very nice, but the rooms are cold and very noisily by the other apartments. The neighboorhood is not good and if you to go to the city it's a lttle complicated,but the price to sleep one night is excelent. Safe hotel. Breakfast included in the rate.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leopetruska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    236
    141
    36
    17
See reviews for
111
169
64
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not in the best area however once you are inside what a plesure, we were just looking for a one night stay close to the airport the free shuttle service is great staff very friendly rooms were nice and big, the food and restaurant great vibe and value for money better then the big chain hotels will def be back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reywoeke4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The hotel is about 10 mins by a free hotel shuttle from the bus terminal in front of the intercontinental hotel.

The prices are very reasonable and the ambience of the hotel was great! The owners did a great job to recreate the feeling that one is in the aviator movie! The receptionist who took care of us when we checked in, Ms Sweetness, was as her name mentioned! Not only was she friendly, she also took great care to help us secure transport when we needed to visit nearby areas. Very great service! The diners were also great, the food were very nice and prices were cheap! Not only that, the service was excellent to boot!

The rooms themselves were what is expected, good and clean, if a tad small. Only problem was the glass door of the washroom that leaves nothing to the imagination. If only my roommate was a girl! The hotel is also in a nice enough neighbourhood and it really gives a peaceful feel to the environment. Wifi is spotty in the rooms but very good in other parts of the hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leesysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

After 23 or so hours of travel from New York, it was great to see the Aviator Hotel's bus waiting for us at the OR Tambo airport bus terminal, and even better to check into a sleek room with a comfortable bed to collapse upon. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, including one front-desk clerk who raced up to our room to return the passport I'd left on the front desk -- those 23 hours of travel had me beat. The room was a little dark, but comfortable, and we passed out in minutes.

The next morning, we were pleasantly surprised at how good the showerhead's water pressure was -- but surprised at the clear glass sliding door to the bathroom, as in some NYC boutique hotels -- and we loved the substantial hot buffet breakfast in the restaurant, and a shuttle bus driver was very helpful in running us to the airport (where we picked up a SIM card we'd pre-paid for, but arrived after the Vodaphone shop had closed) and then to the Rhodesfield Gautrain station for our train into Johannesburg. Great way to recharge the batteries a little before beginning our South Africa trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidiot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

A great place to stay when you have to overnight near OR Tambo. Although I noticed that the shuttle is free we had our own transport to manoeuvre in and around Joburg. We had a nice family room, in fact two adjoining rooms for us and for the kids. The meals were equally great and the staff were very friendly. Rooms are nice and clean. Would definitely recommend this place to any discerning traveller.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were surprised to find this fairly inexpensive hotel to be so nice. The public areas and rooms are nicely designed and meet all your requirements for sure. The bed is great. The restaurant has a cafeteria atmosphere, but the food is quite good and the waiters are very friendly. Safe and spacious parking.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We needed a place near the airport to overnight twice in a week, and this was convenient. Not a great part of town, but 10 mins by shuttle. From the hotel, shuttle was fine, but waiting at the airport it took 20 mins the first time and over an hour the second. Best to call as soon as you have your bags and let the hotel know you're waiting. Food quite good, rooms fine. Bathroom has a see-through sliding door so if privacy is an issue, be aware.

Room Tip: The family room was actually two rooms connected -- hard to find those in this part of the world wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandringslust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,331 reviews
2.0 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
3.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Property: The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing