We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I've stayed for one night , inbetween flights,at this great hotel and simply loved it. It is modern, cosy, cheap and very close to OR Tambo. Great cost-benefit option. Had dinner at the restaurant which serves well to its purpose. Will for sure use it again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Carlos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

383 - 389 of 622 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Arrived at the hotel and was totally floored by the squatters and area outside, in what is already a dangerous city. To top it all one has to walk outside the building, through a parking area to the lift( elevator) to take you to your floor, no electric fencing and felt extremely vulnerable. The lift can take anyone up and can be freely accessed by anybody. The building itself is in rather a sorry state and certainly did not look anything like the photos seen on the site. But since only booked for one night decided to make the best of it and surely the rooms would be more presentable and clean.
On folding down the bed, was rather disgusted to see a bed with black hairs all over the bottom sheet on what was clearly dirty bed linen. The toilet had urine all over it and I do not even want to think what was on the wall above the bed. The shower floors also looked very grubby and had mould growing in them.
I must say when the situation was brought to the attention of the manager he apologised profusely and offered us another room. While considering this and discussing it with the rest of the group as we had two rooms, another couple from Reunion that had just checked in were heard complaining about dirty pillow cases. That settled it for us. We checked out.
It does certainly not live up to my expectations of a 3 star hotel and I think the description and photos are very misleading.
On a good note the management were very understanding and apologetic and I was refunded immediately. And yes, there was very clearly a problem with housekeeping. But if goes further than just the condition of the rooms and linen. The hotel does not feel secure at all, any person that gets over the low wall, can easily access the elevator and get off at any floor without anyone being aware of it. I did not try the restaurant and cannot comment but I certainly would not recommend the hotel to anyone and I honestly believe it has misrepresented itself on the booking sites.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived last night. Free shuttle very useful but a walk to find it. Room is new kitsh with red not being a restive colour. Bed very comfortable and had a good sleep. Only one towel. Room not where we requested. Staff friendly but in a defensive way and therefore one does not want to bother them so rather sleep and leave. Expensive if you take into account specials at nearby 5 star Emperors Palace also with free shuttle plus dinner and breakfast, if you gamble at casino. Would rather be pampered nextime.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuartlakepleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Flying from London to Cape Town we had to switch from international flights to domestic flights at OR Tambo, knowing we had 8 hours to spare we had pre-booked the Aviator via their website. There were 10 in our group so we book 1 x twin & 2 x family rooms [4 berths in each]. On arrival at OR Tambo we walked the 200 yards to the pick up point and phoned for the shuttle bus and it arrived within a few minutes, straight to the Hotel and booked in by the Night Manager, Ashley. The following morning up by 5am and a return shuttle bus right to the doors of the Domestic Departure Hall, that's service! We found the Aviator Hotel to be clean, secure, well maintained, lift to all floors [we had a lot of luggage with 10 persons]. The bathrooms were clean and fresh, had fresh towels and toiletries, the beds made up with fresh clean line and tea, coffee and TV in the rooms. in all we found the rooms to be of a very high traveller standard and would recommend the hotel

Room Tip: most of the rooms appear to come with lockable connecting doors so if you are travelling as friends...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkerPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Excellent value for money for convenient overnighter to catch a flight. Free shuttle transfer and cooked breakfast included. Decent room size, comfortable bed and free wifi. Hotel even has a gym and pool. Not great area but not an issue if using for proximity to airport a 5 minute transfer away.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmine101Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Aviator is a nice hotel near Tambo airport. It has shuttle service every half an hour - witch is necessary because Johannesburg is not safe to walk around (trust me, I tried it). They drove us to the train station and later to the airport. The food was good (American style), breakfast is abundant and the rooms were clean and up to date. The only thing I didn't understand was glass see through doors of the toilet and showers - don't mined being naked in front of anybody but it's to much while using the toilet. The staff was great, very professional and helped us with everything. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zekokez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We landed at OR Tambo after travelling from the New Jersey shore for over 24 hours. We did not want to go another 40 km. into the city. Our strategy is to experience huge cities at the end of our travels when we are more savvy about the country and, especially, the local scams. So, we were picked up by the shuttle which runs every 30 min., and we slept very well. The breakfast on the following day (included) was really excellent, even better than the Fruit Loop fare served in so many US hotels! That next day we caught the shuttle back to OR Tambo to pick up our rented auto. So, we saved a day of auto rental. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, and the room was very good. We did not use the pool, but the bar was pretty well stocked and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where traffic noise is minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,448 reviews
2 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
1.2 mi away
African Dreams Lodge
African Dreams Lodge
#15 of 27 in Kempton Park
21 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo

Address: Corner of Kempton and Bosch Street, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range: £46 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a free airport shuttle to OR Tambo International Airport (4 km), The Aviator offers stylish rooms with a satellite TV. Hotel facilities include outdoor pool and restaurant with terrace. All air-conditioned rooms at the Life Hotels. The Aviator come with a private bathroom and have a tea/coffee maker. Guests may make use of the safety deposit box at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing