We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent introduction to South Africa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Modjadji Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 65 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to South Africa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I arrived in Johannesburg after 18 hours on a plane and was met by Deon. The room was comfortable and the hospitality was great. Excellent breakfast, good price, good people. The B&B is close to a Gautrain stop so travel into Johannesburg is safe and convenient. There are decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
14
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2012

Stayed a night before flying to Livingstone, and another night after returning from Kruger before flying home. Overall, we slept well at this homely and reasonably-priced place. The noise of the overhead aeroplanes was a good wake-up alarm for us tourist to start our day.

We met a lovely couple, Deon and Marida, and Wesley. They have a parrot and a dog. We were given two very clean rooms - no musty smell. The garden and dining area was clean and beautiful. We must thank Marida for the lovely breakfast. Even though she is thin, the breakfast was cooked well.

Deon picked us from the airport, and back to the airport the next day. Otherwise, the place is not difficult to find even if you were to drive. The host were very helpful and kept a luggage for us while we went off to Victoria Falls. There was wi-fi on the premise and Deon was very helpful to help me plan my early morning visit/route. He even offered me his GPS, which I should have brought along.

Thank you Deon, Marida and Wesley.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francis_61jb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

Airport Modjadji will embrace from your first moment in Jo'burg to your last with its relaxed friendly atmosphere. A short drive from OR Tambo. The Airport Modjadji is a family run guest house that can be found in residential Kempton Park. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. Marida, Deon and Wesley took us to see The Union Buildings and gardens on Meintjieskop Hill, Paul Kruger in Church Square, Pretoria and Hartbeespoort Dam. They absorbed us into their family. Deon took us in search of Bruma Lake Flea Market only to find the diggers had got there before us and were tearing it up in preparation for a a new Mall> Bless Deon's heart he just went right on driving us around the areas of Johannesburg that aren't listed on any official tour guide including Nelson Mandela Bridge, the oriental mall, and so much more. We will always hold Airport Modjadji in our hearts an have vowed to visit there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desiree1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

During on our holiday across South-Africa we spent several nights at the Modjadji Guesthouse. Our initial plan was to spend only one night here, but we enjoyed it so much that we decided to stay for one more night and also returned later that week after a visit to Kruger Parks.

The main reasons for this: firstly the service offered is excellent. Especially the breakfast is really nice. You just have to tell when you want to have breakfast next morning and they will prepare something that is even better than what most of the hotels serve you (at least the ones we stayed in). The owners treat you like friends and are always in for a little chat (or otherwise the parrot in the breakfast room).

Secondly, the guesthouse offers great value for money The rooms are clean and tidy and have all the basics you need. Nothing more, nothing less. There is a very peaceful and safe atmosphere in the garden at the guesthouse, unlike the chaotic dirty (and unsafe) city itself, which makes it nice to just sit and relax there.

The location is excellent, as it is close to the airport. However, this is also one of the main downsides of the guesthouse, as the noise of the airplanes can be annoying if you are not used to it. We discovered that the cabin in the back suffers the most from this problem, the other rooms inside are a little bit more quiet. But the planes do not fly at night, so you can still get some nice sleep.

All in all I would recommend this guesthouse to people who want great value for money. Staying here will add a lovely memory to your holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerrit E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

Truly one of the best overnight experiences I've ever had. The owners go to all means possible to make your stay absolutely perfect. I enjoyed a glass of wine with them upon my arrival in the evening and fell in love with them! Breakfast was delicious and offered plenty of options. Wifi is free and very fast. I slept like a log in the very comfortable bed and in a beautifully decorated room. Say hi to Zoe the parrot! The (free) airport transfer is so helpful due to the often untrustworthy cabs that are offered at the airport. What a bargain!!i wished I could have stayed longer, I will definitely be returning to Mojadji, hopefully in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathSinsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deonbo, Owner at Airport Modjadji Guesthouse, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you so much for your great review and it warms my heart and at the same time makes me feel humble. We try our best to satisfy our clients needs and you are one of those special people that will stay in our memories forever. Trust we will see you soon and hopefully you succeed in convincing your parents to accompany you. They can be proud to have such a lovely child like you!!

Regards
Deon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

We flew in from Atlanta on 16th to OR Tambo airport. We stood at the airport near the information sign for about 40 minutes wondering who was going to pick us up. Finally, Deon’s son came in with a sign with our name. That was a great relief since we were new to Africa and to South Africa. Deon met us outside the airport and loaded our bags into his pickup truck. He was friendly and cheerful and made us feel welcome. After a long flight we wanted to grab something quick and rest as we had flight next morning via Federal Air. Once we got to the guest house, which was not very far from the airport we unloaded our luggage. “Scott” – Deon’s wife drove us to nearby Pizza Perfect without any charge.

Next morning we were served breakfast of eggs, bacon, cereals and toast. After breakfast Deon dropped us off at the Federal Air terminal for our onward safari journey to Singita Lebombo.
If you are going to be in Johannesburg for a very short stay, I would highly recommend Airport Modjadji Guesthouse. Deon and his wife are friendly, the place is close to the airport and prices are very reasonable and they will pick you and drop you off at the airport plus you get a nice breakfast.

I asked Deon the meaning of Modjadji, he said Modjadji is an African word for Rain Queen of people of the Limpopo Province of South Africa.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonsart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deonbo, Owner at Airport Modjadji Guesthouse, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you very much Bill for your kind words about our establishment. Thank you for all your innovative ideas and suggestions which I found very helpful and should implement in the near future. We try to improve on all areas but most important is that you had a great time.

Deon Botha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

This is a lovely, comfortable, and welcoming place within minutes of the OR Tambo Airport. The hosts, Deon and Marida, are incredibly helpful. They not only drove us to and from the airport and restaurants in the area, but made two trips that went way above and beyond - to Walkerville (about 35 km outside of town) to visit a friend and to the train station in Jo-burg (which was in one of the scariest areas I've ever been). The guest rooms are comfortably and attractively decorated. All in all, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KED2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,873 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
4.0 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
3.3 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 65 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Modjadji Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Modjadji Guesthouse

Property: Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
Address: 42 Eland Road | Nimrodpark, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Modjadji Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Modjadji, is a large 6 bedroom Guesthouse situated in an enclosed suburb of Kempton Park, a mere 10 minute drive from OR Tambo International Airport. Nestled in a tropical garden, guests can relax next to a beautiful pool or be woken by the sound of many bird species. The Guesthouse can host up to 14 guests, so we cater for smaller groups as well. Breakfast is available daily in the communal Dining room and Dinner is prepared on request. The new Owners, Stiaan and Zane du Plessis and their daughter, stay on the premises and are ready to welcome all guests and make them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Airport Modjadji Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing