We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Modjadji Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 65 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Salé, Rabat-Sale, Morocco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Thank you so much for having us in your beautiful guesthouse,we have been nicely received by your warmth and hospitality as well , always will remember those delicious breakfasts , we felt right at home god bless you guys ,

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    12
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
14
15
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night at the Airport Modjadji guest house, and I wish we could have stayed for a few more. Deon and Marida were the epitome of Afrikaaner hospitality, and really went above and beyond to make sure my wife and I had everything we needed. We had an excellent Braii the night we arrived, and felt really welcomed. It was a great introduction to a wonderful country. Basic accomodations, but comfortable beds, and an overall fantastic experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deonbo, Owner at Airport Modjadji Guesthouse, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for the kind words as this is exactly what we are trying to achieve. We want people to feel welcomed with South African hospitality and for visitors to be introduced to the South African way of living and to inform them of what to expect while touring our beautiful country.
We are trying to offer visitors affordable clean accommodation and to have some good memories of South African people.

Deon Botha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

This is a clean and simple accomodation near the airport. The hosts are nice people who are very helpful and friendly. In the morning they provide cereals, yogurt and a cooked breakfast. The total price is very reasonable.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

First time in South Africa, got picked up by Deon at airport taken to the B&B. The location of the B&B is 10-15min from the airport. The room is simple and comfortable, with a nice breakfast. Deon and Marida were very friendly, and I really enjoyed my stay. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artrookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, NZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013

What can I say? This place was perfect after 30+ hours of flying. Deon & Marida were so lovely and accommodating when I arrived, I was even given an upgraded room with ensuite for free as there was one other male guest there and they thought it would be nicer if I had my own room! Had a lovely braii the night that I arrived with Deon's family and then had a great sleep in the clean and comfy bedroom! Both Deon and Marida went out of their way to help me when my flight the next day was cancelled and I had to rebook on a much later flight (after midnight), they didn't charge me for the extra late checkout, invited me to stay for dinner and insisted on dropping me off at the airport at 9pm - and would not accept any extra payment! Seriously amazing hospitality during a pretty stressful situation. I would highly recommend you stay here if you're looking for a place close to the airport and friendly, generous hosts :)

Other pros:
Fast wifi (if you're in the main sitting area)
Great shower + bathroom facilities
Nice relaxing outdoor area and pool
Cooked breakfast was tasty

Room Tip: The wireless router is located in the office so you might be able to pick up wifi access from rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank courtzlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

suited our need which was to have an overnight stay close to the airport for little money.
The owners were very helpfull and friendly.
The room we had was nice and quiet (that is when the airplanes are not flying but thats what you get when you stay near the airport).
There is a spacious pool and breakfast was served very early which suited our early departure.
it is difficult to find as there is no sign out saying that it is a guesthouse.
our room had en- suite, which meant the shower and toilet were seperated by a see through curtain. no problem if you are comfortable sharing, but funny.
again, no complaints here, as we paid something under 20Euros per night per person

Room Tip: see above, depending on how familiar you are with the one you share with :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christlkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I arrived in Johannesburg after 18 hours on a plane and was met by Deon. The room was comfortable and the hospitality was great. Excellent breakfast, good price, good people. The B&B is close to a Gautrain stop so travel into Johannesburg is safe and convenient. There are decent restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GEEZER_TRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
2.2 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,866 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#3 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
4.0 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
3.3 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 65 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Modjadji Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Modjadji Guesthouse

Property: Airport Modjadji Guesthouse
Address: 42 Eland Road | Nimrodpark, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Modjadji Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Modjadji, is a large 6 bedroom Guesthouse situated in an enclosed suburb of Kempton Park, a mere 10 minute drive from OR Tambo International Airport. Nestled in a tropical garden, guests can relax next to a beautiful pool or be woken by the sound of many bird species. The Guesthouse can host up to 14 guests, so we cater for smaller groups as well. Breakfast is available daily in the communal Dining room and Dinner is prepared on request. The new Owners, Stiaan and Zane du Plessis and their daughter, stay on the premises and are ready to welcome all guests and make them feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Airport Modjadji Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing