We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and consistent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Gauteng
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent and consistent service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

For a 3 star hotel, the family rooms are exceptionally large and spacious (2 king size beds). Housekeeping is warm and friendly. The breakfast team led by Busi is second to none for service excellence. Thuli and her amazing team will really look after you!

Room Tip: Family rooms are the best and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aradhana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest

On behalf of all management and employees at Emperors Palace, we would like to thank you sincerely for your kind comments.

These will be passed onto the specific department so that we can use the opportunity to praise the employees and create a positive awareness of caring guests

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Hotel Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Convention Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    111
    62
    28
    23
See reviews for
90
95
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here 2 nights because of a conference that was held in the convention center. The Metcourt Suites rooms are large and fashioned in a contemporary style. Contemporary style can be either cozy or sterile. I found this hotel to be the latter. The Emporer's Palace Casino complex with 4 hotels is apparently designed to imitate Las Vegas type resort complexes, hence the irritations we experienced. We are not gamblers, so there are aspects of this complex that we did not like. The business model of gambling complexes is to encourage you to spend all your time in the casino. Therefore, certain conveniences are denied. Such as, you pay for internet service by the minute! Yes they advertise 15MB free service, but that is used up in a flash. Secondly, there is no information about ANY activities outside of the complex (remember, they want you inside in their casino all the time). Third, even though the hotels serve breakfast, they don't serve lunch or dinner. You have to go into the central casino complex to eat those meals. To their credit there is an very wide range of food options there, so we had no trouble finding suitable meals for our particular tastes and budget. Fourth, the only fitness center was tiny and located in the most expensive hotel of the complex. To get there you had to wind your way through the interior of the complex, including passing through the casino, or go around outside through parking lots, dodging cars, around the perimeter of the complex to get to the opposite side.

Bottom line, even though the hotel rooms are upscale with one minor deficiency according to my wife and daughter - the bathroom lighting (tiny can spots directed down over the lavatory from the ceiling) was inadequate for applying makeup, we would not choose to stay in this complex again since we don't gamble.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Since we had to have an overnight stay in Johannesburg we selected the Peermont Metcourt Suites... Its a nice and comfortable hotel for a overnight stay.
The location comes in very handy as its hardly 5 minutes from the airport.
The room is nice and tidy, though the washroom felt a bit cramped up, but thats not a big deal for an overnight stay. Don't expect a view from the rooms as such, its just the inside of the hotel which is nice... The whole Emperors Palace is done up nicely and feels lively.
You'll get a good sleep at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AftabHudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review received, we are looking forward to your next visit with us!

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
1,048 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

When flying from Australia to Africa, we usually find that we have to overnight in Johannesburg before continuing to whatever our ultimate destination is. Of late, we have been staying at the Peermont Metcourt at Emperors Palace, which is the cheaper of the two Peermont Metcourts (across the driveway from each other) at the Emperors Palace complex. That is fine accommodation, but this time, we found ourselves at the Peermont Metcourt Suites. I have stayed here a number of years ago, before the new (cheaper) Metcourt Peermont was constructed and it was re-badged to Suites (and wrote a TripAdvisor review on it).
We find the Emperor's Palace complex to be very convenient for overnighting between flights, with a free, regular shuttle bus between O R Tambo airport and the Emperors Palace. At the Emperors Palace, there is a range of restaurants (seafood, meat, Indian, Chinese, Spur, etc), as well as a few shops, casino and cinemas, so you're not restricted to the hotel restaurant for an evening meal. I like to have the game plate (ostrich, springbok, kudu and warthog) at Tribes Restaurant just to feel like I'm in Africa again. Getting from your room to the separate Emperors Palace makes one feel like a rat in a maze, but you get used to it.
The accommodation at the Peermont Metcourt Suites is very good - large ensuited rooms (the twin vanities are outside the separate shower and toilet, so if someone is in there, you can still use the handbasin and mirror) , flat screen TV, tea/coffee, safe, etc. The large beds were comfortable. We had no trouble with noise. The breakfast was good, with a large selection of hot and cold. The staff were pleasant and reception was efficient.
I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments received

On behalf of all management and employees at Emperors Palace, we would like to thank you sincerely for your kind comments.

These will be passed onto the specific department so that we can use the opportunity to praise the employees and create a positive awareness of caring guests

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Convention Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Peermont Metcourt Suites is basic but excellent hotel. It is safe and moreover reception staff is good. Lots of food choice in Emperors Palace makes it great further. I like Gautrain bus connection in premises for commuters to reach nearest station to connect with safe and important transport line (Gautrain) between Joburg to Pretoria (Including Tambo Airport). If you do not have company to roam around (which is essential due to safety reason in Joburg), Gautrain is best mode to roam around. Gautrain bus pick you up from Emperors Palace and also drop back so makes it safe.

Room Tip: Do check A/C sound when you enter room on checkin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NileshPawar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind comments received, we are looking forward to welcoming you back soonest!

Kind Regards

Anna-Lize Scully

Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
011 928 1732
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udaipur, India
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

part of the emperors palace, johannesburg; the metcourt suites has grand rooms with all modern facilities except a refrigerator and just 50 mb free internet... the property overall (the emperors palace) is very magnificent and awe inspiring... it has mannnnnnnnny casinos where you can try your luck 24X7... huge food court with some good restaurants... a theme park for kids... bad part is metcourt suites doesnt have a swimming pool of its own... u have to visit another hotel on the other side of road.... :O :O

but overall a good experience as the casinos make up for all the bad points....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fear1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Qld, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We were to stay here to get a good night's sleep before a long flight back to Australia but had to change hotel's because of the doof..doof thumping from the casino show lounge. Reception were very obliging and transferred us to the Metcourt Hotel across the road - it was a lot smaller but more importantly, quiet. If you want a peaceful stay, don't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.2 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
1.1 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
1.2 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable accommodation with friendly service...The 3-star select services Metcourt Suites offers a home away from home. The hotel features 77 spacious suites with contemporary furnishings. All the usual technology is available in the rooms with Wi-Fi connectivity available in public areas. Breakfast is served in the stylish Primavera restaurant. Guests also have access to the casino, dining, entertainment, convention and relaxation facilities of the Emperors Palace resort.The hotel features (80 suites) with 56 Classic suites with twin beds, 5 Classic suites with king size beds, 16 Deluxe suites, 2 Premier suites and 2 Presidential suites. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available.Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. No porterage service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing