We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tacky and tired ” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
1 review
“Tacky and tired ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The bed is comfortable and it's close to the airport. Apart from that this hotel has nothing going for it. It's expensive for what you get, the place smells, there is no bar fridge, few channels on the TV, pokey bathroom and worst of all - the entire place was designed by an architect with zero skills and fitted out with tacky, cheesy, tired, fake Italian decor - truly aweful. Johannesburg has a wonderful climate and the entire hotel, casino complex has almost no windows, natural lighting or links to the environment. Many of the rooms do not even have windows. Think plastic plants, fake marble, pink and purple with gold splats, worn carpets, and a pervasive smell. The noise proofing is terrible. There was some church conference on with music blasting that made it difficult to here some of the speakers at the conference. And don't even think about getting a decent cappuccino. Finally they got my bill wrong despite showing them the price agreed when checking in.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    104
    59
    25
    22
See reviews for
84
84
16
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Being on a complex, big choice of restaurants as well as cinema, shops and Casino so plenty to entertain us as we arrived mid-afternoon for a post-breakfast departure the next day.

However, shuttle bus pick-up point really badly indicated from airport terminal (it is out of the back of the Intercontinental hotel) and there was a bit of a wait for the bus.

Family rooms spacious enough, but a bit soul-less. Ours had a window overlooking at stairwell and shared a wall with a theatre as we found out when someone started warbling Celine Dion numbers as we were putting the kids to bed.

Got stiffed for 250 rand the next morning, because despite booking a family room on B&B basis they decided that we needed to pay a supplement for breakfast for the kids (12 & 8). First place I've ever been to where instead of the usual type of "kids go free" deal, or even "it's included in the family room rate" deal, it is in fact "kids pay more". Not hugely impressive, for what was a very average breakfast buffet.

All in all, not much to commend it other than the ents on offer in the complex. If I had my time again I'd just booked up the Intercontinental which adjoins the airport terminal and be done with it.

Room Tip: Nowhere near a concert venue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
387 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were booked into this hotel to provide an airport-convenient place before flying to our next safari destination. The hotel is one of several attached to a casino, convention center, and large food court/gaming/souvenir shop area. The attachments are touristy and tacky, like downtown in Las Vegas.

Convenient it was, however. The shuttle leaves often, and the airport is ten minutes away.

The rooms are acceptable for the price. Ours was down a nonsmoking area, and although the room was clean, the hall reeked of smoke from an open stairway. Lights in the room were very dim and water pressure was iffy, but that is standard for Africa.

The included breakfast was across the street. It was a well stocked buffet with a made to order hot breakfast station. Considering the location, this was better than expected.

The staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I've slept 3 nights in this hotel during a business trip. We arrived quite late and check-in was quite long but not a big issue.
As explained, it was quite late, I was very thirsty and when arrived in the bedroom there was no bottle of water, neither any presence of a minibar...
It was winter time and quite cold. The heater in the bedroom broke up, I asked for repair but they told me my presence in the bedroom was requested during this repair. Since I was on a business trip I did not have any time to loose for this so I was quite disappointed they did not want to do it without me.
Rooms are big, bed comfortable, nice bathroom. Internet was quite slow.
The location is good since it's part of a huge complex which includes a Casino and many bars/restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Recka2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

A bit disappointed in my stay at the Peermont Metcourt Suites. Staff was not that friendly and hardly smiled or made you feel welcomed. Shocking to realise that there weren't any bottled water in the bedroom. i have been to 3 star Hotels around the world and every single one of them had complimentary bottled water in the room. It was late at night when I needed something to drink that I had to get dressed, go downstairs and purchase a bottle of water from the vending machine.

The 2 pin plug point was a bit faulty in the room, I called reception to have them send me an adapter and I was asked to pay for one ??????????????? really???? Again never before has this ever happened at a hotel.

The breakfast was OK, nothing fancy.

Overall it was on OK stay, would I stay here again? Definitely not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keshnee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest

We appreciate the time it takes to bring to our attention the service issues that you experienced at our property. Your comments are taken very seriously and are fully investigated by each department manager to ensure that we constantly improve our standards

As we work together towards these improvements, we sincerely hope that this particular experience does not jeopardize our valuable relationship.

Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jhb
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed here for second time and it met all my expectations. This is truly the best 3 star I have stayed in. I would recommend this to everybody wanting to stay around the JHB area , brilliantly located and filled with lots of fun for the family (both adults and Kids)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Paveer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

After a paradisiac stay in Cape Town we had to stay overnight in this hotel that from outside looked like a Las Vegas wannabe hotel...in fact it has a casino, room with cheesy decorations, no minibar or complementary bottle of water whatsoever, there is a vending machine that only works with cash somewhere in the labyrinth of tunnels that runs below this place...woke up in the middle of the night with the hugest thirst, couldn't find water, went for a sip from the tap: diarrhea within two minutes ensued. No joke.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gundun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmperorsPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest

We are disappointed to learn of your negative experience with us

Our team takes complaints of this nature very seriously. Each incident reported to us, is reviewed by the department manager for inconsistencies and brought to senior management’s attention for resolution

We understand your frustrations have been caused by service standard that is not what you expected from us and we will immediately begin work on correcting this.

Regards

Anna-Lize Scully
Guest Relations Manager
Emperors Palace Hotel Casino Conventions Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.6 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
0.4 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable accommodation with friendly service...The 3-star select services Metcourt Suites offers a home away from home. The hotel features 77 spacious suites with contemporary furnishings. All the usual technology is available in the rooms with Wi-Fi connectivity available in public areas. Breakfast is served in the stylish Primavera restaurant. Guests also have access to the casino, dining, entertainment, convention and relaxation facilities of the Emperors Palace resort.The hotel features (80 suites) with 56 Classic suites with twin beds, 5 Classic suites with king size beds, 16 Deluxe suites, 2 Premier suites and 2 Presidential suites. Smoking and non-smoking rooms available.Check-in after 15h00 / Check-out before 11h00. No porterage service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing