We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great airport hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

Stayed two nights (at beginning of my trip and end of my trip)

Free shuttles to and from airport every 15 minutes. Great for transitters - but also it looked like a good place to stay for non-transit folk.

Great food. Breakfast and dinner were really well done. One guy with attitude at the front desk (same guy hassled different members of my group at check in and check out while the rest all had smooth check in/out). He's just not cut out for customer facing roles...didn't let that mess up our time there.

Spacious rooms, loved the shower - just what's needed after a long flight. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njorogekui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    478
    218
    76
    55
See reviews for
209
298
126
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Arrived at the hotel on 17th November for a one week stay. The shuttle from the airport comes in very Handy. So far very impressed with Facilities. The food Served at the Resturant is Top Notch. I ordered in on the first nite and the service was prompt and the food was great as well. Willbe sure to post another review once i have been here for the week and have figured out the inns and outs

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 564candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear 564candy,

We're delighted to hear that you're impressed with the Hotel and the facilities.

Please contact me on louis.botha@tsogosun.com should you need anything to make your stay even more comfortable.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is a good hotel. I stayed for 2 nights on business and availed myself of the "every 15 minute) shuttle both two and from the airport and it worked well. It is an efficient hotel for the business traveller but with comfortable rooms, a very nice breakfast buffet and excellent room service menu if you aren't venturing out. The staff were great and very helpful and I've no complaints. The hotel itself was very quiet and I didn't hear a single plane whilst inside, although it was literally a 5 minute ride to the airport terminals. WiFi was OK, not super fast but OK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familiasinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Familiasinclair,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your two night stay with us.

We're looking forward to hosting you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
202 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed three nights at the Southern Sun OR Tambo - literally, as I never eft the hotel during my stay. Which could very easily have been a problem many other places, but here I felt like at a resort - friendy staff, a nice garden with pool, a quite decent restaurant and a nice, friendly bar. Rooms are of good size and well sound-insulated - I was never reminded that it was an airport hotel. As as conference hotel it functions well - only one day, thelogistics sort of fell apart, so we had to move lunch due to no more seats in the restaurant. But overall impressin very good.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steinar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Steinar V,

We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 3 night stay with us.

We're looking forward to hosting you in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
341 reviews
185 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here one night after a long trip from the US. It was exactly what we needed. It was quiet, comfortable, clean, safe and had a great shuttle service tio the airport. The service was efficent and freindly - what we needed at check in and check out after such a long trip. We had dinner at the huge buffet and the food was excellent. Also enjoyed a few drinks at the nice lounge. This is a nice place for those who want a bit of luxury at an airport hotel. We later stayed at the ProTea hotel at the airport and found it OK but not nearly as comfortable. The Southern Sun was for "adults" while I felt the ProTea catered to a younger crowd.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Pin_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vladivostok, Russia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I had a very nice experience at the hotel.Very helpful staff and convenient times of check out especially.Very convenient location at the airport the Hotel rates were very affordable with the kind of 5 star quality.
I enjoyed my stay and would definitely recommend the hotel to travellers

Room Tip: My room was very spacious with 2 queen size very comfortable beds and was on the 4 th floor with a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Sunil G,

Thank you for the positive comment on Trip Advisor.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergerac, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

So arrived from Amsterdam at 10pm and proceeded to the southern sun.there had bee n storms in PE and the hotel was crowded with passengers jumping the que I was welcomed by the lovely receptionist and too my relief was checked in very promptly. The room was clean and spacious .and the bed was comfy. I did not eat here today usually i do and the breakfast is normally top notch but this trip had the early george flight to catch . But if you need to stay at joburg airport southern sun is number 1 .

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louis-AndreBotha, Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear ALAN N,

Thank you for rating Southern Sun O.R. Tambo your number 1 option when passing through Johannesburg.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind regards,
Louis-Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport Transit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing