We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DR SALOMAO”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DR SALOMAO”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My major concern is related with wireless quality. There is room for further improvements in other to make the hotel more attractive .Overall I'm happy with the quality and staff kindness. I Also think that is due time to replace carpets in the rooms. Thanks









  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Dr Tomaz Salomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Dr Tomaz Salomao

Thank you for your support and for this positive review. Let me assure you that our IT department is very committed to consistently providing a superior WiFi experience. We have recently upgraded the Complimentary WiFi capacity and trust that this will now exceed your requirements in the future. We do have a capital expenditure program in place that includes continuous work on carpets throughout the property. We have however made a note of your concern and on your return will ensure that our delivery to you is of a standard that will leave you more than satisfied.

Thank you for the acknowledgment of the quality and the teams’ impact. This is most valued.

Regards

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    512
    228
    80
    56
See reviews for
226
315
136
545
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Easy for just a sleep over at johannesburg. With the Shuttle is just 5 minutes from the airport. Rooms are fine, just a bit too small but functional. They have the "double double" which is ok for a couple with 2 children.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Bridget T

Thank you for the time taken to provide this positive review and for highlighting the suitability for a sleep over and movement to and from the airport by our complimentary shuttle service.
I assume that as you are from Pretoria, you stayed over either on your way out of the province or on your way home. I am left wondering if you enjoyed the benefits of our Jet Off special advertised on Tripadvisor that enables you to leave your vehicle parked on our property whilst away as this eliminates the challenge of parking in this area and provides for much convenience.
Should you return, please mention your concern relating to the size of the room as my team will no doubt be able to allocate a room that can provide for your preference.

Thanks and regards

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg Kempton Park
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The rooms for wheelchair users are too small and cluttered and difficult to manoeuvre. Nowhere that I could see on the website was there any mention of a R500 deposit or the fact that we are charged to park our vehicle, which I find disturbing as in my opinion if you are paying to stay there then residents should have free parking. Buffet prices for dinner were astronomical and we were served stale rolls on our table and given a steel tea pot which got so hot I could only pick it up with my napkin. So we did not even stay for breakfast as dinner was not enjoyable. The reason for my stay was to see if it would be acceptable for parents to stay for a 2 week period on there holiday from the UK, but I will unfortunately be telling them that it would not be suitable for them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Nj B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Nj B

I am most distressed that we did not live up to your expectations and that we do not have the opportunity to be the accommodation provider to your parents.

I am afraid that parking is a facility that is charged for and I am not entirely sure what you are referring to with regards a deposit.

Should there be an opportunity to reconsider, I welcome the opportunity to meet and discuss your needs. Should your parents stay with us, I will ensure that our celebrity Executive Chef takes personal interest in their dining experience and I will provide a room that will provide the required space for ease of movement of a wheelchair. Please realise that I am able to provide a value for money experience and if not here, in one of our other hotel brands within the group.

Thank you for this review and presenting the opportunity to deliver on yoyr requirements.

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Antony.Larsen@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Located close to OR tambo with a regular shuttle, staying here for a night is ideal and would recommend as a transit hotel. Service was good and food from the restaurant was decent. Has a little shop on site for any of those forgotten souvenirs and also a spa/salon for any necessary last minute beautifying.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mix211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Mix 211

Thank you for your support and the positive review highlighting a number of vital provisions that differentiates this hotel making it the preference both as a transit hotel and for those spending time in the province of Gauteng.

I am a little disappointed that we were not able to do more than provide you with a decent dining experience. I am sure that we can do much more and hope that you will provide me with your details to Antony.Larsen@tsogosun.com as this will enable me to do exactly that should you return.

Thanks and regards

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Early morning arrival from an overnight flight but a bedroom was found within the hour, with a cup of coffee whilst we waited.
A comfortable place to stay in every aspect of the word.
We'll be back there twice in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Michael K

Thank you so much for the positive review. Your acknowledgment of this hotels ability to accommodate your needs and comfort is most appreciated. We do pride ourselves on our flexibility and your most appreciated effort to highlight the provision of a room early in the morning is a testament of such.

We look forward to hosting you in the future and would appreciate you letting me know when you are returning will ensure that I oversee your continued comfort with us.

Regards

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Antony.Larsen@tsogosun.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augsburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed one night in the hotel. All hotel employees were very friendly and assist in a descret way. We have chosen it to be very close to the airport. The free shuttle service takes only 2 minutes. We would book it again for a stop over in Johannesburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Thomas R

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write this review.

It is most appreciated that you have highlighted our complimentary and efficient shuttle service that runs every 15 minutes, 24/7, our friendly and discreet service delivery provided by my team and of course our proximity to the airport terminals that is ideal for those requiring a stop over.

We look forward to your return and assure you of our commitment to continuing to provide a superior service delivery.

Regards

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good location for overnight stay....very convenient, and great shuttle service from the arriving and departure Terminals...will tell all my friends to make use of this hotel when they visit South Africa

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Eugene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonySLarsen, General Manager at Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Eugene C

Thank you so much for the wonderful review and support that we enjoy.

We appreciate you highlighting what we consider to be one of our differentiators to all other quality accommodation providers in that our location, being only 500 meters from the airport terminals, provides for unequalled convenience thanks to our frequent and efficient complimentary shuttle service. For those venturing into Gauteng and South Africa, our proximity to the road and high speed rail infrastructure is yet another advantage enjoyed by our patrons.

Thank you once again and in particular for providing us with the opportunity to host yourself and those recommended to stay here.

Regards

Antony Larsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.9 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
0.9 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel

Property: Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Address: Jones Road, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 366
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world class International Airport Hotel 500m away from the Airport serviced by a complimentary 24 hour shuttle every 15 min and with complimentary capped Wifi. Exceptional dining both buffet and a la carte with 24 hour room service. 24 Hour bar for the thirsty traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing