We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Champagne and Oysters for breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Champagne and Oysters for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We love this place a fantastic choice, the breakfast unbelievable, the service amazing, close to the airport with transfers to and from. Comfortable beds, sensational amenities. My partner had her nails done and said that the staff were great, we'll be having massages when we get back from a weeks safari

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillimudcrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    290
    129
    58
    41
See reviews for
172
409
43
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion, South Africa
Level Contributor
286 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

From the moment we entered D'oreale Grande at Emperor's Palace we experienced luxury combined with first class service. Were we immediately made to feel comfortable during the check-in by a delightful friendly Zanele at reception. The porter Justice was equally friendly and helpful in assisting us with our luggage, and explained the room facilities to us. The room was found to be immaculately clean, fresh smelling, very luxurious and tastefully furnished. The room also contained a mini bar fridge. Upon request at reception whether we could have it opened mainly to store some medication, Zanele obliged by just entering a few commands on her computer.
Dining at Aurelia’s Restaurant turned out to be one of our best dining experiences yet. The dishes from starters to dessert were very tasty and of the highest standard we have ever enjoyed. Combined with the very prompt and professional service received by Steven who attended to us, this turned out to be a dining experience only equaled by the Mahogany Restaurant at Gaberone Sun in Botswana and The Boathouse Restaurant in Central Park, New York.
The room we resided in faced the parking lot and the highway. We found that the highway traffic noise in particular could be heard at night. I would recommend that guests request a room facing away from the highway. Although the hotel is very close to the airport we were totally unaware of any aircraft noise. There is a free shuttle service to the airport available that departs at 20 minute intervals. The Emperors Palace Casino is also within short walking distance for those that want to venture into some gambling.

Room Tip: We found that the highway traffic noise in particular could be heard at night. I would recommend th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
172 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel for convenience of airport connections and office business over a 9 night business trip.. The hotel supplies a free airport connection which runs every 20 minutes each direction. The staff in the hotel are very welcoming and attentive - check in desk, concierge, restaurant. The breakfast quality is good - continental, or cooked, as you wish. The lunch menu is a bit limiting and the service can be extremely slow - up to 50 minutes to receive a salad after ordering - don't decide on a quick lunch before your flight!
The hotel is part of a grand complex with other hotels - of lesser stars - from the same chain. My feeling on arrival was that I had arrived at a Disney resort, but that feeling changes when you enter the hotel.
There is corridor access to a group of restaurants beside the casino. There is a wide choice of the type of restaurant you may desire - meat, fish, Indian cuisine, Japanese, Italian. In trying a few different types, I found all the restaurant staff to be extremely friendly, but with an American approach to serving.

The hotel is attached to a casino. I did not try it, but it is extremely popular. There is also the occasional stage entertainment of the type found in a typical holiday resort in Europe.

There is free wifi available, but it tends to be very unreliable on the 5th floor, and frequently disconnects.

I was disappointed that there was no shopping facilities at the complex - not even a gift shop. If you want shops, you need a car, or you go to the airport and find the metro system.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

Within sight of the OR Tambo airport with free bus transfer every 20 mins. Corridor walls and doors "paper thin" so easily woken with doors slamming and voices in corridor. Attached to a casino but no shops anywhere close.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

We stayed here overnight because of a flight connection. This hotel is very grande and has a Vegas feel about it... as does the entire complex surrounding Emperor's Palace. It's a great spot if you want all amenties, services and restaurants at your fingertips without going outside. It's only a 5 minute indoor walk to the Casino, restaurants, banking services, etc. The included breakfast was quite impressive and accommodated just about any taste, and had an outdoor terrace seating area looking on to the their impressive pool and garden area. This is more of a resort than a hotel... I could definitely have spent a few more days if it was during a warmer time of year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

I have spent many years staying at this hotel with my husband on business and what I enjoyed this time especially is the Gautrain which can pop you into Sandton from the hotel on their shuttle to the airport and then on the Gautrain to Sandton City in about 35minutes if you time your shuttle and train trip well. I am not a casino person but from a business point of view it is good a choice - lots of restaurants to choose from and good clean rooms and a very generous business centre with a number of top class computers, scanners and printer with good coffee machine. Normally the restaurant is fine for breakfast but of the 4 nights I was there one breakfast was not too good as they were extremely busy so I will forgive them - however some of the staff are not very jacked up and countless times we had to ask to the basics. Room service very good as well as laundry service excellent.

Room Tip: I always stayed in the pool facing rooms but this time faced the car park which I found far quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

A wonderful experience from beginning to end. Beautifully appointed rooms and bathrooms.
Excellent dinning - breakfast, lunch and dinner. A world class Spa facility that is well worth trying out. Excellent service - will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Hotel at Emperors Palace
1.7 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
1.0 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.4 mi away
Peermont Metcourt Suites at Emperors Palace
0.8 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace

Property: Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Address: 64 Jones Road | Emperors Palace, Kempton Park 1620, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#8 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors PalaceDiscover untold luxury and regal comfort...The 5-star Peermont D'oreale Grande hotel at Emperors Palace is conveniently located next to OR Tambo International Airport in Johannesburg. The hotel features 192 elegant rooms and suites all lavishly furnished in superior style and the exclusive Club Floor and Lounge on the 5th Floor offers superior concierge services. The opulent surroundings are complimented with state-of-the-art facilities for added ease and comfort. Dine at the elegant Aurelia's restaurant, indulge your senses at Octavia's Sensorium health and beauty spa or sip on a cocktail while watching the African sunset kiss the earth goodnight at Neptune's Pool Bar. Guests also have access to the casino, dining and entertainment facilities of the resort. Emperors Palace. The Palace of Dreams ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotelopia and Booking.com so you can book your Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peermont d`Oreale Grande At Emperor`s Palace Hotel Kempton Park
d Oreale Grande Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing