We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel and Quills is an awesome restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the InterContinental for one night to catch a connecting flight. The room was exceptional. We arrived late and decided to dine at Quills, the in-house restaurant. What a great decision that was. The food was also exceptional. Breakfast was included and contained more options that I have ever experienced anywhere else. 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good Afternoon gcm50 and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere, fountain pond with duck behind the checkin set the tone. Needed after 17 hours on a plane. Room, bed, and pillows were all very comfortable. It was quiet too which made for a very restful stay. I ordered room service for dinner. A giant burger, was awesome. Reasonably priced too; burger and 2 beers was about $22. High end coffee/espresso machine was great in the morning. It's right outside the terminals so it was so convenient.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank bz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Good Afternoon burnszey and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Adivsor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you even got to see our Carolina Duck behind reception. A new addition to the family. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit, keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We arrived after a very long delay with dreadful Etihad Airways,the rain was falling and we did not fancy getting our hire car and trying to find our accommodation in the pitch dark.

We looked out and there was the Intercon Hotel,I am a group member and we received avery good rate with breakfast. The room was first class as was the late room service. The breakfast service and choice was first class.

Thank you Intercon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Good Evening alexanderSpain and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you decided NOT to venture into the traffic, but rather spend the night with us, and then we still left you with great memories. That's what its all about for us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We Stayed one night before catching a domestic flight the next day.

Very convenient location just in front of the airport, it is a 5 stars hotel so rooms are to a very high standard. Very comfortable huge bed, large bathroom with shower and bath, separated toilet. Very quiet at night, efficient air conditioned .Pleasant small heated pool, slightly salty, we enjoyed it a lot to relax after a long flight .

The door of our fridge didn't close properly so drinks was not too cold. Carpet got a large red stain near the table.We didn't take breakfast at the hotel due to our early domestic flight.

But it is really too much expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexperry2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Good Evening alexperry2013 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you really enjoyed your time with us and found our facilities and services to your satisfaction. Please note that the pool is a salt water pool and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed it. We hope it won't be too long before your next stay and look forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

When I am in cities with the Intercontinental Hotel I always try and stay there. You will not find a better accommodation then the Intercontinental.

Great food lively environment and great staff here at the JNB airport hotel.

I tried out city lodge as well which is right next door which is not shabby but the Intercontinental knocks it's socks off.

If you have a choice experience this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolinablue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Good Evening Carolinablue26 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post some feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the weekend, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We used this hotel just to have a shower and breakfast before heading to the office after a 12 hour flight.

It is literally in front of the airport - took us literally 2 minutes to get there.

Breakfast was good and the room seemed quite decent too. Wifi worked fine with no issues.

We didn't sleep, so can't pass judgment on the quality of sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Good Evening Amit H and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, we do have quite a few guests that use us for what we call "day use" like yourselves. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your short time with us and hopefully next time you will be able to sleep over. Keep well and Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Our trip: we stayed 1 night after a long haul flight before catching a domestic flight the next day.
Our room: we stayed in the basic king room - a deluxe room I think. It was well appointed and well maintained though in style terms a little dated. The bed was extremely comfortable.
The hotel: lovely public areas. The standout feature was the hotel's proximity to the airport terminal - a couple of minutes walk.
The service: very friendly and efficient.
Other comments: breakfast was excellent - great range and good quality. Room service dinner was very ordinary (it is very difficult to get a basic hamburger wrong, but it was awful - completely undercooked with cold fries). The other dinner we ordered at the same time was barely acceptable. The pool is warm and pleasant, though very small and more of a large spa really.
The cost: very pricey for the standard of the hotel but you get the great benefit of location.
Overall: we'd stay there again, but wander over to the terminal for dinner next time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Good Evening rqf55 and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us overall and apologise for the hamburger experience. Our hamburger is actually a signature dish, in that its hugely oversized and more than enough for 2 guests - but hopefully we can rectify this experience on your next stay. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £227 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing