We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you find yourself in the position of having to spend a night at O.R. Tambo airport in Johannesburg and you can afford a more expensive hotel you would be hard pressed to beat the level of excellence that The Intercontinental offers.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meganjewelscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Good Evening meganjewelscarr and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are pleased to read that you had a memorable time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the remainder of the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,346)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have never met such an astonishing and helpful person like Shylet (Working in InterConti), which made our stay an unforgettable experience. Her ardent desire to support and enlighten our stay in so many ingenious ways is incomparable and made this hotel a unique sanctuary. Thank you again Shylet, you made the hotel a 5*-Hotel.

----
In Kürze auf Deutsch:
Shylet hat uns mit ihrer Anwesenheit einen tollen Aufenthalt beschert. Sie gibt dem Hotel die 5 Sterne, die es dadurch auch verdient.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Good Evening Michel S and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for the postive feedback regarding one of our team members and we are so pleased with the fact that we left you with so many great memories whilst staying with us. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit - keep well - kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We toured South Africa, Botswana and Zambia last summer (winter down under) and because the Jo'burg airport is the transportation hub to the north, we spent two separate nights at the Intercontinental. What a pleasant surprise! A comfortable and well-appointed room, a very good dining room, and a staff that tries hard to please--and succeeds with flying colors. There are airport hotels, and there is the Intercontinental. And having stayed in one across four continents, I am happy to report that standards remain consistently high.

Room Tip: There is no view per se, unless you like to catch a glimpse of jumbo jets landing or taking off. Jus...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Good Morning Steve K and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - really appreciated. Yes, we have a great team at our hotel and we aim to exceed every guests expectations - leaving them with only great memories. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here overnight, in prep for a next day flight to Maun Botswana after a 15 hour flight in. Hotel was first class in service, cleanliness, and accommodations were appropriate. Just as important was how quiet it was, allowing for a rest/recovery. Food was good and reasonably priced for the type/level of hotel. Location was perfect...walk across from the airport. In the morning, the bellman escorted up all the way to the airline check in gate. Appreciated the assistance. You can find less expensive but not as convenient.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Good Morning Marker61 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well - all the best - regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the InterContinental for one night to catch a connecting flight. The room was exceptional. We arrived late and decided to dine at Quills, the in-house restaurant. What a great decision that was. The food was also exceptional. Breakfast was included and contained more options that I have ever experienced anywhere else. 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gcm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Good Afternoon gcm50 and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Relaxing atmosphere, fountain pond with duck behind the checkin set the tone. Needed after 17 hours on a plane. Room, bed, and pillows were all very comfortable. It was quiet too which made for a very restful stay. I ordered room service for dinner. A giant burger, was awesome. Reasonably priced too; burger and 2 beers was about $22. High end coffee/espresso machine was great in the morning. It's right outside the terminals so it was so convenient.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank bz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Good Afternoon burnszey and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Adivsor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and you even got to see our Carolina Duck behind reception. A new addition to the family. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit, keep well, kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We arrived after a very long delay with dreadful Etihad Airways,the rain was falling and we did not fancy getting our hire car and trying to find our accommodation in the pitch dark.

We looked out and there was the Intercon Hotel,I am a group member and we received avery good rate with breakfast. The room was first class as was the late room service. The breakfast service and choice was first class.

Thank you Intercon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Good Evening alexanderSpain and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - much appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you decided NOT to venture into the traffic, but rather spend the night with us, and then we still left you with great memories. That's what its all about for us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,196 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £229 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing