We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Service Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Full Service Airport Hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

It has been several years since I needed to spend the night at OR Tambo Intl Airport, but my previous experiences - documented on trip advisor - with airport hotels there were miserable. The Intercon was completely different.

The greeting and immediate attention from the manager, the resourceful concierge, the excellent restaurant, conscientious customer service rep, well-equipped room and convenience to the terminals all made the stay as hassle-free as late arrival and early departure with special luggage needs could be.

The genre of airport hotels is not one with a high standard or great reputation. This is the exception. They understand travelers' needs and met them pro-actively..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Good Evening Xamb and Thank you for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that we have broken the mould on regular airport hotels and left you with some great service memories. That's what its all about for us - the guest and making their stay as memorable as possible. Hope it won't be too long before your next visit - keep well, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    317
    55
    19
    8
See reviews for
229
500
120
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my second stay at the Intercontinental. Both times I was completely exhausted. It is without doubt a luxury hotel. The reception staff went out of their way to streamline my registration. The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. The bathrooms are nicely designed and the beds very comfortable with the finest linen. The rooms are soundproofed and I had a good night's sleep. I walked into departures moments after leaving the hotel. The proximity of the hotel to the departure gate enabled me to get at least an extra half an hours sleep. The gym upstairs has magnificent views and is well equipped. I didn't have breakfast this trip as I left on a very early flight. My previous experience of breakfast at this hotel was memorable with food that was definitively South African presented as haute cuisine. If I'm ever in a position where I have to overnight in Johannesburg and catch a morning flight this will be my first choice. Kudos to all the staff for making my stay exemplary.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reddustofafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Good Evening Reddustofafrica and Thank You for taking just a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that we left you with so many wonderful memories and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If you find yourself in the position of having to spend a night at O.R. Tambo airport in Johannesburg and you can afford a more expensive hotel you would be hard pressed to beat the level of excellence that The Intercontinental offers.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meganjewelscarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Good Evening meganjewelscarr and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback regarding your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor - really appreciated. We are pleased to read that you had a memorable time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Enjoy the remainder of the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have never met such an astonishing and helpful person like Shylet (Working in InterConti), which made our stay an unforgettable experience. Her ardent desire to support and enlighten our stay in so many ingenious ways is incomparable and made this hotel a unique sanctuary. Thank you again Shylet, you made the hotel a 5*-Hotel.

----
In Kürze auf Deutsch:
Shylet hat uns mit ihrer Anwesenheit einen tollen Aufenthalt beschert. Sie gibt dem Hotel die 5 Sterne, die es dadurch auch verdient.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Good Evening Michel S and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for the postive feedback regarding one of our team members and we are so pleased with the fact that we left you with so many great memories whilst staying with us. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit - keep well - kind regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
261 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We toured South Africa, Botswana and Zambia last summer (winter down under) and because the Jo'burg airport is the transportation hub to the north, we spent two separate nights at the Intercontinental. What a pleasant surprise! A comfortable and well-appointed room, a very good dining room, and a staff that tries hard to please--and succeeds with flying colors. There are airport hotels, and there is the Intercontinental. And having stayed in one across four continents, I am happy to report that standards remain consistently high.

Room Tip: There is no view per se, unless you like to catch a glimpse of jumbo jets landing or taking off. Jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good Morning Steve K and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - really appreciated. Yes, we have a great team at our hotel and we aim to exceed every guests expectations - leaving them with only great memories. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here overnight, in prep for a next day flight to Maun Botswana after a 15 hour flight in. Hotel was first class in service, cleanliness, and accommodations were appropriate. Just as important was how quiet it was, allowing for a rest/recovery. Food was good and reasonably priced for the type/level of hotel. Location was perfect...walk across from the airport. In the morning, the bellman escorted up all the way to the airline check in gate. Appreciated the assistance. You can find less expensive but not as convenient.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Marker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Good Morning Marker61 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well - all the best - regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the InterContinental for one night to catch a connecting flight. The room was exceptional. We arrived late and decided to dine at Quills, the in-house restaurant. What a great decision that was. The food was also exceptional. Breakfast was included and contained more options that I have ever experienced anywhere else. 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gcm50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Good Afternoon gcm50 and Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. I do apologise for only comming back to you now, as we were not aware that someone had created a duplicate listing for our hotel on Trip Advisor - so whilst we were attending to our main page, there were guests posting reviews on the duplicate page, that we were not aware of. All resolved now - merged - and a sincere apology for only replying now. Thank you once again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,979 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
Protea Hotel by Marriott Transit
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2011 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2008, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing