We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was not your typical airport hotel. All the things you wish for were there; lovely comfy bed, quiet rooms, powerful shower, good TV selection, free wifi, Nespresso machine, great breakfast selection.

Staff were helpful and everything worked - it really exceeded our expectations. As this airport is a gateway to so many African desitnations this hotel makes a great starting point.

Also it really is just a few metres from the terminal as people state - something to note is that you can use the luggage trolleys from the airport on the escalators - hotel has plenty of trolleys outside for your return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dubaiexpattraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Good Morning Dubaiexpattraveller and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and YES, that's correct - we keep a stock of airport trolleys at the hotel, for covenience when you check out and return to the airport for the next leg of your journey. Keep well and all the best for the week ahead. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

772 - 778 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

Location is very handy just 100m from the terminal door. Service is always very good and at the moment is outstanding including front desk, concierge, dining and room service. It is walking distance to the Gautrain station which connects to Sandton and Pretoria.

There is a handy lounge for coffee/drinks meetings. The breakfast is very good as is the dinner.

Concierge will arrange a car and driver from the hotel to your meetings anywhere in the city. For half a day its about $150, the cars a usually recent model mercedes and are are in very good condition. The drivers usually have a good navigational knowledge of the city and are extremely pleasant and helpful. If you are not familiar with the city this is a very good service.

I have also left bags at the hotel while I made short 2-3 day trips to surrounding countries allowing me to travel light and pick up my luggage just prior to my flight home.

I am a Platinum Ambassador member with Intercontinental which works very well at this hotel. It provides a complimentary room upgrade, free internet, and a late checkout to 4pm. I often arrive at the airport at 5.20am and have always been able to checkin to my room by 7am allowing me to shower, unpack, submit laundry and then go to meetings in Joburg for the day. It also means I can stay in my room and work till late on my checkout day if I have an evening flight out. I am essentially getting two days for the price of one which makes this hotel very competitive.

I can't recommend this hotel high enough and in Ambassador Platinum loyalty privileges it represents outstanding value.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Good Evening Lindsay R and Thank You so much for taking some time out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. I see you are one of our loyal IHG Rewards Club members, and I Thank You for this as well. Your feedback is extremely comprehensive and we are so pleased to read that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel during your stay. Keep well and enjoy the rest of the weekend. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. The check in was speedy and friendly. Room was pre allocated and upgraded. Being a platinum member i was offered a late check out as well but didnt need it as i had an early morning flight. Didnt get a chance to have dinner but the breakfast was lovely with a huge variety... Very enjoyable. Room was spectacular. If you didn't look out the window you wouldn't think you were right at the airport. Definitely the best airport hotel I have ever stayed at. Quite pricey compared to the competition 5 mins away but really in a league of its own... Complimentary breakfast thanks to the duty manager...

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Good Morning AzTee and Thank You not only for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us, but also a big Thank You for being one of our loyal IHG Rewards Club Members. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you'll visit us soon again. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This is the nicest airport hotel I've stayed at. Only a short walking distance from the main terminal. The property is beautifully maintained, hard to believe you're even at an airport. I only spent one night, but the rooms are large, quiet, and dark, great for a good night's rest after 20 hours of travel. Spacious bathroom with separate shower and soaking tub, and a nice assortment of bath products. Pretty well stocked mini bar too. Breakfast was included with my rate, and there is a full continental buffet with many choices, as well as several hot breakfast selection. We also had dinner at the restaurant, and I was very pleased with the quality of the food and service.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise_Chad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Good Morning Denise_Chad and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Its great to read that you enjoyed so many elements of our hotel and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Keep well, Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Steps from the terminal (some others claim to be but are not), and from the train station into town, this hotel is great value. Excellent food, nice gym, pool and spa on the roof and rooms that spoil you rotten. Its a bit pricier that the other airport hotels for a reason, its well worth it.

Room Tip: Take the train direct to Sandton and shop till you drop. Its a lovely train ride, efficient, safe an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Good Morning Damon A and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, 68.7 meters from the arrivals hall to our front door and slightly further to the Gautrain station. Convenience ! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Recommendation for the executive floor, excellent breakfast, very nice and clean gym, beautiful view from the pool and quiet rooms, although it's just a minute walk from the arrival area. Very friendly staff!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AxelReutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Good Morning AxelReutti and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. Just a note to other's reading this post - we do not have a "Club Floor" like most other InterContinentals - but we do have Executive Rooms. Sorry for using this opportunity to clarify. Thank you once again for your positive feedback and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Kind Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Just steps from the Tambo Johannesburg Airport, you feel welcome as soon as you hit the doorsteps of this beautiful hotel. It makes the perfect stop for a layover to catch another flight. Rooms are clean and inviting. The bed is comfortable and there is even a hair dryer should you need it. Wi-Fi is available at no extra charge. We didn't get a chance to check out the restaurant as we had an early morning flight the next day. It is definitely worth the price!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Good Morning Linda G and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - Thank you! We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, but hope that on your next visit that you will be able to visit our Quills Restaurant and try some of our Chef Trevor's great dishes. Enjoy the weekend and hope to see you soon again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 27 in Kempton Park
2,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott O.R. Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
1 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 27 in Kempton Park
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £237 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing