We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This hotel is perfectly located for travelers going to and from Johannesburg, literally just steps from the Tambo Airport. The rooms are spacious with every immensity and the service is first rate. An included breakfast was delicious with choices of eggs and a complete buffet with fruit, juice, pastries and more. When we were ready to leave, our bellman got an airport cart for our luggage and personally walked us to the proper counter in the airport for our flight out to Botswana.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Clare K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Good Evening Clare K and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and also took the opportunity to use our complimentary meet and greet service. Whether arriving or departing, as long as we have your details in advance, we are more than happy to come fetch you at the airport and walk you accross to the hotel. Either way - arriving or departing - we will make sure you get to your destination hassle free. All the best for the week ahead, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,352)
There are newer reviews for InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

689 - 695 of 1,353 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Comfortable after a long flight. 27 hours from LA even in Business is a long trip. Thankfully room was ready for us and staff was welcoming. Only about 75 yards from customs exit. No noise from jets. Room rather small, but good bed and appointments. Free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wyotrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Good Evening Wyotrojan and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. 27 hours is a long flight and we understand how important it is to get our valued guests straight up to their rooms for some valuable rest and recovery! Hope the rest of your trip was great and look forward to welcoming you once again. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

The InterContinental at OR Tambo is the only hotel I stay at when traveling through Johannesburg. A beautiful hotel and absolutely wonderful staff! I've stayed several times and can say that after a 16 hour flight the ability to walk across the parking lot and be at such a wonderful place is priceless. The hotel is literally steps from the airport yet quiet and peaceful. Everyone is friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to my next visit.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rinderpest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Good Evening Rinderpest and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your most recent stay with us. Yes, its all about 68.7 metesrs from the International arrivals hall to our front door. Quick and hassel free. We are so pleased to read that you stay with us each and every time you are in Johannesburg and Thank You for being one of our loyal supporters - appreciated. All the best, and hope to see you soon again, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Th hotel is right next the international departure area so it's amazing well located! The rooms area exceptional with great facilities and bathrooms also even though it's right next to airport you don't hear the planes. The breakfast was good quality but I think a little expensive. The pool is amazing on the top floor over looking the runway! Service was great!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Elliotbows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Good Evening Elliotbows and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and hope it won't be too long before your come visit us again. Looking foward to it. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Fantastic service, accommodations, spa, restaurant, and location for airport access. Worth the higher price if you are looking for a luxury experience in transit through Johannesburg OR Tambo airport.

Room Tip: Better views floors 5-7. Sign up for IHG rewards for additional perks prior to booking.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Good Evening Jennifer W and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit with us. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and I am guessing that you joined our IHG Rewards Club program - so Thank You for that too. We hope it won't be too long before your next visit. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Adjacent to airport, ideal for stop over for connecting flight. Rooms are well equipped, clean and very comfortable. Bathrooms are a good size and finished with quality. View from swimming pool is amazing and well worth a visit. A very relaxing place to stay. Safe and with great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seaboughan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Good Evening Seaboughan and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope it won't be too long before your next visit. When making your next booking - request a high floor - in order to enjoy some of those views from the pool. Enjoy the rest of the weekend, regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We only stayed here for a day to recover from a flight from the US and to organise our Safari trip for the following days (last minute, us? nah ...). The hotel is a perfect pit stop and is ridiculously close to the airport; you do have to actually come out of the airport but it's only a matter of yards.

Check-in was efficient with some recognition of being an IHG loyalty member, although we didn't score a free upgrade. We had considered leaving bags with them if we ended up flying to our lodge - which the hotel said was fine. (In the end, we didn't but good to know that we had the option).

The rooms are well decorated and clean! The bed was awesome and so needed for a rest before going out to the bush. We had room service which was fab. Everyone was helpful - we had a few problems dialling out using the hotel phone but the operators helped out and I don't think we were charged for the calls - so all good there.

I have no hesitation recommending this hotel. We only needed it for a night so the (high) rate wasn't too bad but I guess you may want to find a more economical rate for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lonny001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Good Morning Lonny001 and Thank You for taking a few minutes out of your day to post feedback on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay with us - most appreciated. Thank you for being one of our IHG Rewards Club members and we hope that on the next occasion to stay with us, you'll be able to enjoy more of our services. All the best for the Safari, Enjoy !, Regards, Andrew Davidson, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,207 reviews
0.3 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.0 mi away
Peermont D'oreale Grande at Emperors Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Address: Opposite Int'l Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range: £227 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing