We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great after a long flight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great after a long flight!”
Reviewed 8 July 2007

After 20 hours on a plane, this hotel was a godsend. It is located directly across the street from the airport and has comfort and superb service. 24 hour room service is very reasonably priced, quickly served, and tasty. Our room was well sound-proofed; we never heard other guests or airplanes. Service was prompt and very pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank graceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    903
    325
    57
    19
    8
See reviews for
236
514
121
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2007

After flying in from Port Elizabeth we had an overnight at this hotel before flying on to Mauritius the next morning

Very convenient for the airport, the hotel also has a top floor pool with great views of the airport (although as mentioned by a previous reviewer the airport is currently being redeveloped)

We had drinks at the bar and an extremely good meal in the restaurant which was reasonably priced. The lobby and the restaurant area are also decorated with African art; full descriptions of which are contained in the menu!

Highly recommended if you are between flights since it is only across the road from the terminal building. Once you get through security for international departures there is a fantastic souvenir shop "Out of Africa" which stocks everything

  • Liked — Location and great restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tangerines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2007

Lovely hotel on the airport doorstep, perfect for a quick sleep in between trips, but highly overpriced for its position. Currently this hotel is mired down amongst all the changes at the airport, basically overlooking a construction site, but makes no attempt to discount their rates, already high even in the best of circumstances.

We stayed over for a few hours and hoped to pay a half day rate, as my wife is pregnant and the flight from London a long one. We ended paying the same as a good 5 star hotel standard rate, so it was not very encouraging as far as a recommendation goes.

However, service is as expected from the brand and we were enclosed in a very quiet second floor room silent despite its proximity to the airport.

We wont be back though.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank johandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2007

Stayed one night as we had an early morning flight to catch - expensive but very clean and convienient.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank thebuzzard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2007

Stayed one night on our way to Botswana and I can't say enough good things about this hotel. Friendly staff, great room, great food, steps away from the airport. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Food/Room
  • Disliked — No gift shop
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank loru100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

Stayed here for one night as our flight was early the next morning. We drove over from Nelspruit that day and really just wanted somewhere comfortable and convenient to spend the night before we flew to Pemba in northern Mozambique. The location is perfect for what we wanted as it allowed us to avoid the traffic and grief that comes with it in Jo'burg, we walked the 30 metres to the terminal in the morning! The hotel is expensive which you would expect, but the room was big and comfy with a huge bed and bathroom, it had all the mod cons that we knew we wouldn't be getting for a week which was part of the attraction. The restaurant and bar were very good. All in all it did what we wanted it to do and we were happy to pay price for it.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ifa448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2007

Hotel was really expensive at £200 for the room even though we made the booking on the same night at midnight.
Room was nice and clean and a very decent size. The whole Hotel is lovely but due to our flights didn't get to spend enough time there! Will hopefully get the chance to return for a couple of as it is a lovely Hotel!

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
0.1 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
0.8 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,064 reviews
0.5 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
0.6 mi away
Garden Court O.R. Tambo International Airport
1.6 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport

Property: InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Address: 68.7 metres from International Arrivals Hall | O.R Tambo International Airport, Kempton Park 1627, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kempton Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Business Hotel in Kempton Park
#2 Family Hotel in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Johannesburg O.R. Tambo Airport is a safe and highly convenient hotel only 68.7 metres (225-foot) walk from the International Arrivals hall at Johannesburg's O.R. Tambo International Airport and is your ideal and hassle-free stopover for onward Southern African destinations, Game Reserves, Victoria Falls & Cape Town. Perfectly located for business and a 14-minute train ride from the Sandton CBD, the hotel facilities include free unlimited Wi-Fi, Business Centre, Health Spa, complimentary gym, swimming pool and DVD library. Guests love our large showers with massage showerheads and the ample natural light flowing from the floor to ceiling windows. In-room flight information allows you to time and plan your onward journeys from the comfort of your room. Soundproofed rooms, blackout curtains, king beds and fluffy duvets ensure you enjoy a great sleep experience. Quills Restaurant, open 24 hours daily, offers contemporary African dining, indoors or on the terrace. Winner of the 2015 Best Airport Hotel in Africa Award by Skytrax World Airport Awards and refurbished in 2015, the hotel offers the most sophisticated airport accommodations on the African Continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Johannesburg Or Tambo Airport Hotel Kempton Park
Intercontinental Kempton Park
Intercontinental Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing