We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Greek Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Platia

Platia
Ranked #6 of 74 Restaurants in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Poor Greek Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Waiter got the order wrong, food was tough, meal was very expensive given what was served to us on the plate- all in all, I would never return. Much better Greek food available at Mythos or Plaka.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuddy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    43
    13
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Greek fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

We have eaten here several times, the food is always good and the atmoshere is great, particularly when it is busy.
This time we ate the Chicken Stifado, served with the best mashed potatoe i've eaten in ages (except for the wife's of course) and lamb chops that were so tender.
Everybody was so welcoming, especially our waitress.
We finished off the meal with a really good espresso. All in all well recomended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kris_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2,372 reviews
1,727 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 973 helpful votes
“Part of the Emperor's Palace Complex & Casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

This is one of several restaurants in the complex that adjoins the casino. The atmosphere is great and you may think you are at a large party in Disney world. The service was excellent and the food was good. I had the pork chops and they were great. My wife had the chicken and prawns. We also chose to eat on the patio. A fun place to eat and watch the crowds go by.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank texaswillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

we were out for my sisters birthday and walked past this restaurant at Emperors Palace. None of us fancied Greek. After checking other places, we somehow ended up here. I can honestly say that there service and food is of a top end quality. Thomas, our waiter, was very professional and friendly, so too the manager. The food - exceptional! From the starters to their special Lamb Shank - outstanding presentation, flavour and quality. I highly recommend them!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We had a great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have no idea why the previous reviewer thought that the restaurant was dirty. It was clean when we were there and the food was very good. We were on our honeymoon from the UK and when the owner/manager? heard this we got rose petals spread on our table and a free bottle of fizz!
The service was good and the impromptu dancing and smashing of plates was fun. We chose Platia because the woman at the door was the most welcoming of all of the restaurants.
Our steaks were cooked perfectly and the wine was also very good thanks for making us feel very welcome.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wizziwaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Platia also viewed

Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Platia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing