We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The place to recharge!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mugg & Bean

Mugg & Bean
Ranked #3 of 74 Restaurants in Kempton Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The place to recharge!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Coming off a long-haul flight and want nothing better than a friendly smile and a refreshing drink, this is the spot to stop and recharge.

Tip: There eggs benedict are well worth the wait.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adriaan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    108
    38
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Place with a View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

After stepping off the plane and waiting for a connecting flight that is three hours away, the place is ideal for a quick breakfast and coffee.
Business travellers may like the availability of power sockets conveniently located near table tops.

For families, the sight of airplanes taking off and landing is sure to soothe the nerves of young travellers.

But quite a bit of pain if you are trying to make a call as it is too noisy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Worst ad for SA ever!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We really love Mugg and Bean, and stop at a branch whenever we find one. The branch at OR Tambo Airport however has gone from good to terrible in less than a year. The staff are surly. There are no smiles going around, except for the one we got when we were welcomed at the entrance. Our drinks were delivered quite quickly, but the American Iced Coffee however was so strong, that we could only take two sips. Our meal order (two toasted sandwiches and a plate of chips) took 45 minutes, with two members of staff coming to apologise for the delay. Seemed to us they forgot about the order, as the restaurant was not even half full at that time. And R18.00 for 18 chips? Really? During our visit there in June 2013, we had a great meal. Service was quick, friendly and efficient. Food was great and the American Iced Coffee was fantastic. Don't know what went wrong, but next time we're at the airport, we'll go somewhere else.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Mugg & Bean have a hearty menu and always provide good coffee if you are a coffee addict. Service is friendly and efficient and prices are reasonable

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MikeGonubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
281 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good restaurants but .........”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

When the Mugg &Bean restaurants started they were a new and different concept in Johannesburg.
They had number of different types of very good coffees which you were able to help yourself to from convenience 'towers' in the restaurants.
You paid a specific amount and thereafter could get yourself as much of the various coffees as you chose. Unfortunately this facility with all the differing coffees had been discontinued. Their food also is not nearly as good as it was. Pity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clive V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mugg & Bean also viewed

Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
 
Kempton Park, Greater Johannesburg
Johannesburg, Greater Johannesburg
 

Been to Mugg & Bean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing