We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again”
Review of Airport Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airport Game Lodge
Reviewed 30 May 2011

My family and I had a tour leaving from Airport Game Lodge, so we stayed there a few days before the tour and the night after it ended. The location is not at all convenient if you don't have a car. It is 1.2 km away from the closest grocery store, and you have to order food in from a service because no restaurants are nearby. The hotel does offer a transfer service, but they charge a lot to bring you anwhere but the airport (airport pick up and drop off is free one time per day). The biggest inconvenience was the lack of Internet access. Their wifi didn't work at all, and the owner couldn't figure out why and didn't seem very concerned. They have one computer station that you can pay to use which is really old and ran out of credits (which have to be purchased by the hotel) twice in the three times I used it, despite the fact that I had paid for my time. The owner did reimburse me for my time lost on the computer, but only after I asked him. Overall, we were very sick of the hotel's lack of concern for its obvious problems by the time we left.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aharrison1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed here at both ends of my trip. The lodge is in the middle of nowhere so once you check in, there is no leaving. If hungry, you have to call for delivery which can take a very long time and come cold. This is not the fault of the lodge but just a warning to grab food before you check in.
The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated. There was plenty of hot water for showering - nice! The grounds were relaxing with some wildlife penned up. The staff was very friendly.
It was better than I anticpated and would stay again. The biggest downfall were the twin beds are very hard, lumpy and uncomfortable. Since I was dead tired, I was able to sleep fine on them.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

very friendly and helpful service, clean and comfortable rooms, and yummy breakfast. We enjoyed the common room area, and the internet facilities are very good.

Room Tip: Go for the higher room numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungrybackpacker_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

A friendly place which is quiet and conducive for work and relaxation - it has a pool. The only drawback is no lunch or evening meals are available, so if you arrive in the evening hungry, the only option is phoning for a takeaway pizza or self-catering in the communal kitechen/lounge. Breakfasts are good, though, and there are good tea and coffee facilities in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MaryMyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We stayed here 1 night, before driving further for 4 weeks thru SA.
The hosts had ...on our specific request ....picked us up at night in the airport ..and not outside as their standard arrangement is with our travel-agent : We didnot want to wander around at night outside....This worked well.
Further the place is clean, staff at breakfast friendly and reception helpfull when the next morning our rental car was brought. > Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolasHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed there twice, one night each time, and would recommend this hotel to anyone who's passing by Johannesburg. They have a reliable pick up service from and to the O Tambo airport, the place is beatiful, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, and price is fair.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isacanelhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2010

We stayed here for 4 days, prior to touring South Africa. It is located near the airport, which makes it great for overnight transfer stops. But as it's outside the city of Johannesburg, its also perfect for longer stays around the Jo'burg area (If you value your safety, you wouldn't want to stay in the city itself!). It's a little remote though, as there is nothing really within walking distance. However, don't be put off by this, as I would definitely stay here again if we came back. Taxis and hire cars are relatively inexpensive.

The lodge is in a great setting, with some adjoining fields containing a small selection of game animals. The owners and staff are also very friendly and really made us feel welcome. They also have details of all the local tours which they will book for you, if you want.

Whilst they serve a good breakfast, they don't provide evening meals. Instead, they have menus for all the local take aways, which they will order for you and have delivered. Having heard about this, we were a little bit dubious before we stayed. However, it worked really well and we had some excellent meals. Every lodge has its own table/bench in front and we really enjoyed our evening meal, whilst watching the sunset with a glass of wine in our hand. There is a dining area/common room you could use instead if you wanted to.

The lodges are also very spacious and comfortable and to me, small family run establishments are usually infinitely better than large characterless chains. However, whilst being a lovely place, don't expect the Ritz!

If we go ever back to Jo'burg we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razzladazzla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,323 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 68 in Kempton Park
548 reviews
7.4 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing