We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“salomao´s family Holidays 21 st of December to 14th Of january 2014”
Review of Airport Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Airport Game Lodge
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Dear All,
Thank you once again for the wonderful hospitality that you had provided me and my family in the past three weeks.
We would like to point out three main things that make your place exceptional among the others .
1- Tranquility
2- Combination of wildlife and city
3- A professional team,
Therefore, we encourage you to continue like that. We extend our best wish to all.
See you within 11 month from now.

Room Tip: Combination of wildlife and city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airport_Game_Lodge, General Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Pedro S,

Thank you for your valued feedback and it was our pleasure to have hosted you and your family! We really appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you again at the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

Oh this place is quite but it was great for me they came an pick me up when they said they would .It came with microwave and a small fridge but there is a run of the house kitchen where you can prepare meals . The free breakfast was delightful .There are a few animals on the grounds you can feed which was fun .I had gone there by myself as a single female and it was great speaking to the staff and the owner .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mtalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airport_Game_Lodge, Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Mtalife,

THANK you - we appreciate your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I just stayed there a couple days ago. The staff are VERY kind and helpful. The breakfast is delicious and timely. The grounds are beautiful and perfect in summer. If your goal is to relax, this hotel is perfect. They have great relationships with the tour companies, so it's exceedingly easy to set up tours! Highest recommendation!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanewt2606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airport_Game_Lodge, Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Stellar,
Thank you very much for your comments. We have shown your praise to the staff and you have made some people over here very happy. We are going to be offering package "accommodation and tours" soon. Superior Service concept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Promises good value accommodation with all the basics. That's what you get. Not more, not less. Airport pick-up works very well. About a 15 minute drive. Same thing for the drop-off. Reliable. The location is very quiet. Rooms are ok, beds a bit too small but all in all, for the rate paid, perfectly alright. The only downside is that they had very frequent power outages on the day we were there. No shower after a long-haul flight is not exactly pleasant. Though staff very helpful. Also, they insist on the guest providing the wake-up call time upon check-in. However, the call never gets to you. Not very convenient, especially if all the power is out and you cannot charge your mobile that might also run on low battery after a long flight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airport_Game_Lodge, Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear RHW1974,

Thank you for taking the time to recall your experience. We, at Airport Game Lodge, find your comments very, very valuable: GRACIE, MERCI BEAUCOUP, DANKE SCHOEN,MILLE. We have identified four points on which we can improve.
In your comments:
Power outage: lightning and hail in the summer storms have literrally knocked us out. The weather is getting more severe everywhere. Even though we have two backup power generators we are already changing to solar power water heating and gravity supply. Your honest and well meant comment certainly added to moving this matter to the top of the priority list. Of course the power outage also affects the phones - we endeavor to improve and increase the old fashioned "foot power knock at the door" as back up.
As to the small beds - Airport Game Lodge started as a low cost budget hotel. If space is available we offer upgrades for under US $8 per person per day. Our superior and de Lux rooms can compete with any 5 Star hotel - in fact we are presently debating about applying for a higher star rating. Four en suite Suites are currently being built.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean rooms, very friendly staff, good location near Joburg airport with reliable free airport transfer service and good breakfast; very special place with lots of animals (ostriches, antelopes etc) enjoying their life at the lodge

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airport_Game_Lodge, General Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Petra H,

We thank you for writing to us on tripadvisor and your praise on the general service is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you again at Airport Game Lodge in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Airport Game Lodge team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I Called and immediately Thomas picked me up, T.V in the room allocated to me was not working well and internet signal not strong.
I called the reception and Thomas and he was kind enough to shift me to a much better room and good reception.
All in all breakfast was okey with variety to choose from Mr Otto is also friendly.
Just be aware you do not keep the hotel shuttle waiting for you or else the gate(parking) fee will be added to your muster bill and given to you as you are dropped off at the airport!

Room Tip: Rooms closet to the reception have best internet coverage and are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biba096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airport_Game_Lodge, General Manager at Airport Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear Biba073,
Thank you very much for your review about your visit.
The Airport Shuttle service is definitely FREE of any charges.
We therefore would like reimburse you. Please let us know how much and where you would like to have the amount owing sent to.
Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is the best place if you have not a lot of business to do in Joburg. It is very close to the airport, with very friendly staff, the place is quiet with a taste of wildlife and very safe . Close to the major roads in the direction of Pretoria and Kruger Park. They will collect you from and bring you to the airport for free and it is just 10 minutes to go. If you prefer self catering it is possible. Wifi in the rooms, good breakfast and a place to park your car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobKeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.3 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,321 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
605 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
2.0 mi away
Blue Mango Lodge
Blue Mango Lodge
#1 of 68 in Kempton Park
548 reviews
7.4 mi away
Vetho 2 Apartments OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Game Lodge

Address: 21 Fourth Road, Kempton Park 1619, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Kempton Park
Price Range: £33 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airport Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The lodge is ideally located for business and leisure travellers passing through Johannesburg and the OR Tambo airport. Situated a mere 10 km from the international airport. The secluded Airport Game Lodge combines the solitude of the African Bush with the luxury and convenience of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Airport Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Game Hotel Kempton Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing