We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Extra mile” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Mango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Mango Lodge
Ranked #1 of 65 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extra mile”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

A perfect solution to being bumped off your flight!
Stevie is wonderful and very efficient. From a late night glass of wine to a delicious, home-cooked meal for lunch.
Really home away from home and he goes the extra mile to ensure that all your needs are met.
Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    90
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
73
77
123
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I needed a short-stay hotel for a 12 hour airport wait, coming from Kruger Park and heading back to the US at midnight. I am thankful I went to the info booth at OR Tambo and the assistant browsed accommodations for me to find Blue Mango Lodge. Upon calling the lady helping me spoke directly to Stevie, the owner, and was told I could stay in a single bed room for the day, with pick-up and drop-off at the airport included. I was pleased with the rate and distance, and the lady helping me also said the lodge was very safe and had good reviews.

Upon getting picked up I was furthermore surprised that Stevie was picking me up along with other travelers. He is a very honest and polite gentleman who was interested in hearing about our trips and offering personal stories. To me, when the owner of a business is involved in the business then the business is a good one. Once we arrived at the lodge (what they call B&Bs in South Africa) I was showed to my room and left in peace.

The room was beautiful- I absolutely loved the decor, cleanliness, peacefulness, it was great. I slept for hours and was awakened by the smell of food, which I could have been served but declined due to a stomach bug. Stevie's wife cooked and his daughter was around playing and laughing. During the meal I walked around the grounds and just relaxed before my 16-hour journey. It was truly perfect and just what I needed. Stevie then took me to the airport and I wished I had more time to spend a full day at his lodge to keep relaxing!

Overall Blue Mango is a comfortable, unexpected and useful surprise lodging for solo travelers or families alike. The pricing, services and atmosphere create a complete worth-it package. I highly recommend the lodge and look forward to returning with my mom, because Stevie also offers trip planning services. If his experience and connections are like his lodging business I know I can expect a great trip with personalized transportation, accommodations and touring!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bessiejking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

We came to joberg and stayed in some ok places but Blue Mango all I can say and I have just been here 15minutes Wow Stevie what a great guy picked us up and this is a gem .
I would recommend this place to all my friends who intend to visit joberg I am blown away with its tranquility and Stevie is so accommodating and a breath of fresh air

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayjosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luanda, Angola
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

After finding ourselves (my wife and I) stranded at OT Airport we were just lucky to find this little oasis about 15 min from the airport. Blue Mango is a paradise for the tired, grumpy traveler. It´s quiet, peaceful and friendly. We were marveled by the feeling of home away from home. We rested for a few hours and later we ate a delicious home cooking meal accompanied by Steve’s beautiful children. By late afternoon we were on our way back to the airport as promised feeling rested and happy to continue our trip. If I find myself on that neck of the woods again, I know exactly where to go.
Thanks Steve.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OsvaldoEvora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a great to place if you are staying in JB or if you need a overnight place to stay.
Stevie will take care of everything that makes a great experience when, especially lone travellers, that are unfamiliar with JB.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Filipe1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Blue Mango Lodge because of an extended presentation and I must say that I'm extremely happy that the presentation dragged. If it hadn't I wouldn't have experienced such a wonder night. Thank you Steve.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Siyabonga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

After being stranded because of a ticket mix up at the O.R Tambo airport, JHB, I was given this lodge's details and booked in. Best decision I made was to book here. The owner picked me up from the airport quite promtly and was the most friendliest person I met that day. He managed to settle my panicked self and assured me I would be safe. My room was beautiful. The bed and linen was pure luxury and sooo comfortable. I slept very well and woke up well rested for my next long flight. The pick-up and drop-off service was excellent and made everything much more convenient. I will always book at this lodge for all my Jhb stays and will recommend this lodge to my families and friends as well. Such a pleasure to find such an awsome place with excellent service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miss_Leto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.0 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,793 reviews
4.5 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#12 of 26 in Kempton Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
5.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott OR Tambo Airport
5.7 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango Lodge

Property: Blue Mango Lodge
Address: 226 Sixth Avenue | Bredell, Kempton Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mango Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Mango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing