We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rapper that has visit here! Blew my mind of this place a must stay!”
Review of Blue Mango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Mango Lodge
Ranked #1 of 68 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

The owner came and picked me up from the air port, soon as I got here they asked me about lunch I said "sure" 40 mins? Nope it was right away! Wow very tasting and they sure do know how to make you feel welcome! The rooms are really nice, i had a wonderful shower even slept great! They have a bar here mane! Dinner was great as well even sat with people I've never met.....WHAT A GREAT VIBE AND FEELING! Get this the owner even sat and had a 2hr conversation with all of us while enjoying dinner. The workers here are very sweet, helpful, attend to anything you may need if not the owner is on point. Free wifi in the lodge, not sure what else to say but if I come back ill just come back to visit this PLACE! I have to leave today I must just miss my flight! ;)

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Brandon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevie D, Owner at Blue Mango Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Brandon,

Blue Mango has had the pleasure of hosting people from professions as varied as a NASA physicist, Marine Biologists, Bankers, Gunsmiths and even a master artist from the Basque region of Spain who hand crafts models of alien embryo,s but we can safely say that you were indeed the first rapper to come through our doors.

You were great fun mate and we hope you back to us soon. Please send us some pics of your soon to be arriving baby.

Kind Regards
Stevie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great place, lovely people....what a warm reception, clean and lovely place with great food. Great pple Steve & Daisy and the rest of the team. Lovely gardens, nice and quiet, just the right ingredients for a book in the sun.....with a variety of birds chirping away....will most definitely be back December.....and oh....free airport pick ups and drops...what else would one ask for.....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lester Lesterlu... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Steve and Daisy were Great. The atmosphere was truly remarkable. I felt like I was a guest in a
private residence. This was my first trip to Africa and the Blue Mango Lodge was the perfect transition from the United States. Extremely clean, helpful staff, wonderful food, reliable transportation, everything one could expect from a first class organization. The price was more than reasonable and I met other interesting people from all over the world. Thanks for everything Blue Mango, keep up the good work.
Sincerely,
K.C.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank klchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

"These are the vital ingredients that go towards making for a great guest experience..." so says Stevie, owner and ( alongside his wife ), host of this Lodge which oozes personality ! An unexpected stopover in Jo'burg led me to this place and how glad I am to be now able to recommend whole-heartedly 'Blue Mango'. Stevie picked me up in his car from the airport and '12 minutes' later we were 'at home'...having engaged in some greatly informative conversation. My room was large and provided comfort that ensured a good nights sleep. A great and home-made chicken curry was delivered fresh from the stove before I retired... The next day was a bonus. Stevie arranged for me to be driven around some of the key Jo'burg sites ( Nelson Mandela's house in Soweto for example ) by a local taxi driver who did a super job in facilitating a thoroughly enjoyable, 8 hour site-seeing experience ( total cost R1800 ). I was dropped back at the airport in good time for my 7pm flight.
At R695 + R100 ( for the curry ), Blue Mango represents excellent value that will ensure a 2nd stay when I'm next 'in town'....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nauj63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Blue Mango Lodge is nice and cost-efficient hotel. Offering good internet WiFi, airport pick-up service, clean room and comfortable bed, peaceful and beautiful surroundings etc. Just 15 minutes drive away from the airport. The owner Steve and hostess Daise is very friendly and helpful. It is very good choice for stay in Blue Mango when visiting joberg.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

I was stuck at Johannesburg airport en route to Asia. Blue Mango was recommended by the clerk at the information desk and he was spot on! Steve as a host was more than gracious, good company and the lodge itself was superb!! Big comfy beds and rooms and a great price. Collection and drop off was on time and the company of Steve's little daughter was refreshing to say the least! A truly great experience!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank WayneO52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I had the pleasure of staying overnight at this lodge on my way from Dakar, Senegal to Francistown, Botswana. Steve and his Ugandan wife made me feel at home from the onset and the lodge was really charming - home away from home and far removed from the impersonal nature of far more expensive hotel rooms around Johannesburg international airport. The room was excellent and very comfortable with hot water 24/7. Dinner was excellent and breakfast was no mean affair - cooked breakfast - with as much coffee as you could manage. Meeting the other guests was pleasurable over the dinner table and I was able to speak Spanish again with some Colombian church workers. Nothing was too much for Steve and his wife - they were most welcoming and dedicated in providing excellent service. I wish them the best in their work and will stay again there when in Joburg next time. Thanks Steve! Grahame McLeod, Botswana

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grahame M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,386 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#10 of 26 in Kempton Park
607 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
African Dreams Lodge
African Dreams Lodge
#15 of 26 in Kempton Park
15 reviews
4.2 mi away
Aero Guest Lodge
Aero Guest Lodge
#2 of 68 in Kempton Park
564 reviews
3.3 mi away
Journey's Inn Africa
Journey's Inn Africa
#3 of 68 in Kempton Park
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango Lodge

Address: 226 Sixth Avenue | Bredell, Kempton Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range: £36 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mango Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor gym and a complimentary airport shuttle service, Blue Mango Lodge is located in Bredell, Kempton Park. O.R. Tambo International Airport is within 10 km of the property. Each room is decorated in a rustic style and is fitted with a TV, heating and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. Towels are provided. The lodge offers barbecue facilities and a bar. Packed lunches are available on request. A variety of restaurants serving local and international cuisine can be found within 6 km. At Blue Mango Lodge offers a 24-hour front desk and an extensive garden. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge, luggage storage and a children's playground. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including darts. If you feel like visiting the surroundings, check out the Kempton Park Golf Club, which is 13 km away or Emperor Palace Casino, which is 15 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Blue Mango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing