We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beginning”
Review of Blue Mango Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Mango Lodge
Ranked #1 of 67 Kempton Park B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

My sister and I recently returned from our trip to South Africa and our safari into Botswana. After continual "cautionary" warnings about Johannesburg, we were a little afraid. After researching, we decided to stay at the Blue Mango Lodge. We were flying standby, so our arrival date was uncertain. Steve, the owner, was so cooperative. He worked with our tentative schedule with patience and quick replies. He was waiting for us when we arrived, and drove us to his very peaceful place. His lovely wife and beautiful child greeted us, and we were offered a meal and a smile. The rooms were all very clean and inviting, and the deep bathtub was immaculate and the soak was a welcome retreat after the long hours of travel. I joined Steve to watch the world cup soccer match, and we had some intelligent conversation over a nice glass of S. African wine. He transported us to an ATM in the morning then on to our rental car. He helped us plan our route and offered us great ideas and local knowledge. Truly a perfect begging to our S. African adventure, and I would definitely stay there again if I am fortunate enough to be able to go back there.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BajaWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 541 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

Spent there one night. Not far from airport, free airport Transfers, rooms are great, everything there what you need. People nice and friendly. The price is absolutely fair for what you get. Also a really safe area. A really really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Carolin342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I landed with two other friends and was recommended this lodge by the info booth in May. Steve, the owner picked us up and recommended drivers and attractions. Steve was professional, easy going and the lodge was clean and inviting. He provided a trip to and from the airport and also dinner which was fantastic. I would recommend Blue Mango Lodge to everybody.

Room Tip: We had a group of three and Steve was able to convert one of his rooms into a three sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rebecca l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

After arriving from Sydney we were picked-up at the airport by Stevie, the friendly owner and his little daughter. Blue Mango is a very convenient place- located only a few minutes from the airport - ideal for transit travellers. We were very tired but felt immediately at home after arriving on his pleasant and comfortable place, managed with such enthusiasm and passion. We had a well prepared and very tasty dinner, followed by a very peaceful and restful night . Breakfast was good - a combination of cooked and self-service. However we missed a real coffee (not instant) and good bread (Stevie said he is about to have available a plunger coffee). At the arranged time Stevie drove us to the airport but when arrived I realized had forgotten my back-pack in his place! Promptly and for my great relief he immediately drove me back to collect it! I deeply appreciate his helpfulness, time and support, even more considering his very busy agenda that morning. Many thanks again, Stevie! No doubt a place to go back.

Room Tip: we stayed in a large room, with bath tube and TV. Tea was also provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank cris207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Although I travel to South Africa and Johannesburg often, I had never heard of this place. After enquiring from the airport about lodges, the owner Stevie collected us and took us to what was one of the best night stays I've ever had. Clean, friendly and with outstanding beds, it was perfect.

The provided breakfast and optional dinner will not disappoint. I'm pleased to say we decided to stay an extra night only because the first was so comfortable.

Highly recommended and not the last time I will be staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank James_Slade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

This was like coming home from home.The service is out of this world and so friendly you feel at home. I will definitely comeback and recommend this Lodge to anybody who are looking for the best service at the most reasonable prices. Thanks for a wonderful stay with great food and service

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank hopperd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I have stayed at the Blue Mango Lodge three times. It is convenient whenever I am on transit to Bulawayo Zimbabwe. The place is run by a very passionate owner. I always receive first class service - from the airport pick up, the quality of the rooms, the great meals and the general friendliness of the staff and the owners of the place. The interior decor is also great.

Room Tip: The inside rooms have wifi. The outside ones do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nodumo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kempton Park hotels
5.0 mi away
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
Premier Hotel OR Tambo
#4 of 26 in Kempton Park
2,262 reviews
4.7 mi away
Sunrock Guesthouse
Sunrock Guesthouse
#2 of 26 in Kempton Park
1,391 reviews
5.3 mi away
InterContinental Johannesburg OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
The Aviator Hotel OR Tambo
#11 of 26 in Kempton Park
597 reviews
5.6 mi away
Southern Sun O.R Tambo International Hotel
5.4 mi away
City Lodge Hotel OR Tambo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mango Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mango Lodge

Address: 226 Sixth Avenue | Bredell, Kempton Park, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Kempton Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Kempton Park
Price Range: £42 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Mango Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an outdoor gym and a complimentary airport shuttle service, Blue Mango Lodge is located in Bredell, Kempton Park. O.R. Tambo International Airport is within 10 km of the property. Each room is decorated in a rustic style and is fitted with a TV, heating and tea-and-coffee-making facilities. Towels are provided. The lodge offers barbecue facilities and a bar. Packed lunches are available on request. A variety of restaurants serving local and international cuisine can be found within 6 km. At Blue Mango Lodge offers a 24-hour front desk and an extensive garden. Other facilities offered at the property include a shared lounge, luggage storage and a children's playground. An array of activities can be enjoyed on site or in the surroundings, including darts. If you feel like visiting the surroundings, check out the Kempton Park Golf Club, which is 13 km away or Emperor Palace Casino, which is 15 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mango Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing