We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, bad, bad”
Review of Executive Hotel

Executive Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Executive Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Midrand
Prerov, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bad, bad, bad”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel from April 23-29. There are far better choices, avoid this property at all costs. Run down room with chipped paint, no internet access the entire week and poor amenities. The staff were fine, but the rest was well below average.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sroop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
1
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I'm not normally someone who complains about hotels. I'm happy with efficient and adequate service and I don't care about luxury. But staying in this hotel was just the pits. First of all the carpets in my room were dirty with gross spots on them, the walls were filthy and needed paint, the incredibly small TV had very poor reception and the toilet was broken - I had to open the tap when I used it and then close it again after use because it was running continuously - and my room had no soap in it.

After I came back from my conference of day two of my stay, my room wasn't serviced and I had no toilet paper. When I complained about this, I was give the room next door, and I had to move all my stuff there. It also had no soap in it. There is clearly a huge maintenance and service problem at this hotel. Our whole corporate group would never stay there again and I will advice my company's travel agent never to book us into this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alibabaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Midrand hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stayed here a few nights for a conference nearby. The hotel was fine and not too expensive. It is more like a motel. Reception staff were friendly and helpful, in contrast to the staff in the breakfast room. The location in Midrand is so-so: the surrounding area is not very attractive (apart from the Gallagher estate opposite the hotel) and not safe at night according to some. This hotel is a good option if you have business nearby, but I would hesitate to recommend it for leisure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joetraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I stayed at the executive hotel in midrand last week while i was on business in johannesburg.
I have to say that the service and staff were excellent. They say it is a 3 star establishment but i think that the service is 5 star. I would like to say a big thank you tateenda , pam for going out of their way to make my stay as comfortable as possible.
Thanks executive team, i will definitely be staying there on my next trip to johannesburg. :)

Room Tip: All rooms are great but i would suggest one on the upper floor so that you have a view of the nightl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanman1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the Executive Hotel for 4 days and chose the hotel for its very close proximity to Gallagher Estate. Unfortunately other that that is wasn't much of a joy staying there. The first thing I asked when I checked in was where the pool was. There isn't one. Where in this day and age does a hotel not have a pool? I was given a key which meant that the key card to my room didn't work. The DSTV wasn't working and quite a few of people complained about it. They just said that the dish was out of order and that its getting fixed. Going by one of the other reviews they have been working on it for months now. The tv is too high up against the wall which means that from a lying position the angle is wrong and you can't really see the picture that well. My bed was a tad too hard and I barely slept, but perhaps that was just me. My room's one window latch was missing and to their credit they fixed it very quickly after I reported it. The breakfast must be the worst one I have ever seen in a hotel. Basically put, they don't even have meusli nor fried eggs. I was not impressed and neither were a lot of other people staying there at the same time.

Room Tip: Choose a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

First of all let me tell you I spend over 100 nights each year in hotel rooms, from 2* to 5*+ hotels and I have been traveling extensivly for over 20 years.
This was my worst hotel expierence to-date!
We had a party of 4 and booked 4 hotel rooms, all of us had a negative expierence/impression of this dump.
Firstly they could not get the bookings right, they even put us in the same room when we had prepaid for 4 individual rooms. Two of the rooms were filthy with fittings hanging off the wall. The rooms can be best described as dormitories. This place is totally run down and unmaintained. The TV is a 19" monitor stuck 2m+ off the ground. The DSTV did dot work and the error message was that the service had been cancelled due to non payment. No WiFi in the rooms, no plug points at the desk, no safe. the layout of the bathroom is pathetic. One of the rooms was not even cleaned on the 2nd day. Arrived for a pre booked and payed breakfast at 8am and all the food trays were empty.

Do NOT stay at this hotel, it is not a three star and no accreditation body would even give it 2 stars. IT IS A DUMP!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

It was the first time that I stayed at this hotel doing my booking via a recent internet promotion, rates seemed good and location seemed fairly central to the Midrand area of Johannesburg where I needed to be to conduct some business. Not easy hotel to find if you are a stranger to the area, but if you have a GPS like me to help you along...no problem. Lobby was a bit retro, but neat... and the staff helpful and friendly. My room was very very average (again a bit retro) and probably only adequate for a quick overnight stay. I would not classify this hotel as a 3 star but rather 2 to 2.5 star. My card opener on the door lock did not work, and after I reported this, I was handed a key to use, which again was a bit retro - (old fashioned). No cupboard safe. A small LCD tv sort of slapped onto the wall, but with poor reception. Bed and bedding was adequate and the air-con worked ok. I requested/booked a non smoking room and I was pleased to have gotten one. Shower did not work well and had poor water pressure, soap dish in shower clung onto the wall by faith, and the jacket-hook behind the door was dangling by one screw. Dining area was neat, but dinner (bu-vet) was expensive for what you got (so I didn't feel obliged to tip as I normally do), but surprisingly the breakfast (bu-vet) was a good one and good value for money. I reported the faults in the room on checkout and the staff seemed genuine in their concerns about my complaints. One last thing. Although wi-fi is available, it is only available downstairs at the lobby, which I felt likely to be a huge let down for any serious business person who needed to work, do business, or answer e-mails from the comfort of their room. With a bit of proper maintenance, innovative management, and some added value for business people, this hotel could become a good 3 star hotel.....

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthAfricaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
1.8 mi away
BON Hotel Midrand
BON Hotel Midrand
#5 of 10 in Midrand
74 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sandton-Woodmead
0.4 mi away
Midrand Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 10 in Midrand
324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
0.2 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#6 of 10 in Midrand
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Executive Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Executive Hotel

Property: Executive Hotel
Address: 31 Gallagher Avenue, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located right across from Gallagher Estate Convention center in the hub of the Midrand business district. Close to Sandton and Centurion shopping meccas and 25 minutes from Oliver Tambo Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Executive Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing