We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celtis Manor Guest House”

The Celtis Manor GuestHouse
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Celtis Manor GuestHouse
Ranked #13 of 59 Midrand B&B and Inns
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Celtis Manor Guest House”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This was the second time that my husband and I have stayed at the Celtis Manor. We enjoyed our few days' stay so much in 2013 that we decided to spend two weeks there this January and it is worthwhile mentioning that many of Hilary's guests come back time and again. She has a very large and splendid garden which is beautifully maintained and full of wildlife. It is a quiet spot and secluded but at the same time very convenient for Midrand and Sandton and also for the Guatrain to Jo'berg and Pretoria. A most relaxing and convivial experience was sitting on the veranda beside the bar in the twilight overlooking the garden and sharing a drink with Hilary and other guests! Although we chose a self catering unit, there is an excellent and good value restaurant within a couple of minutes drive and others within 10 to 15 minutes drive. We did enjoy the breakfasts, beautifully cooked by Fernando. Hilary and her loyal staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. All in all, a wonderful place to stay and we are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
The pleasure is ours! Thank you so much!
I hope Bill had a good race at Killarney and that you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
I cant wait for next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
5
6
1
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I travel a lot for business and generally stay in hotels. I thought I would try something different and am very glad that I did. A beautiful house, a comfortable bed, extensive gardens, a pool that you could swim in, an extremely well stocked honesty-bar were a few of the features. But you can get this in many places. What really made my stay exceptional was Hilary and her family's hospitality and kindness and the pleasure of the other guests' company. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. I was made to feel very much at home - Thanks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JohnL81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thank you John, we all had a wonderfully social week! It was really a great pleasure having you and what splendid dinners we all had, thank you! I look forward to having you again when next you come to South Africa.
Best wishes
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugo, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed in the house for 4 nights and:
* I had a great sleep; it's really quiet!
* Breakfast were excellent! A great morning start
* Hillary... she is so good! She's always looking for her guests to make the stay awesome

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rodolfo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thank you so much for your honest description of our Establishment. Thank you too, for your kind compliments. I look forward to hosting you when next you visit our country.
Kind regards
Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

the management was by moments unfriendly and un-accommodating, even rude by moments. nice setting and excellent pool. fantastic honesty bar , fully stocked. with a friendly manager ( or owner ? ) this would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Manager at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 3 December 2014
Thank you for your observations, Management has addressed the problem you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melkbosstrand, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Being a frequent traveler, I value comfort, peace and service. The Celtis Manor provides all of this and more. Dinners can be requested by special arrangement beforehand and food is always prepared tastefully and in abundance. A variety of drinks are available at the honesty bar and the patio overlooking the swimmingpool offers the perfect place to unwind after a long day. Centrally located in Midrand, it makes travel to Pretoria or Joburg easy. I have stayed here a few times this year and doubt that I would stay elsewhere again. Thank you Hilary and your team for providing a place of comfort that feels like home!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you Helene and thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to tell everybody about us. I look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Thank You for your friendliness and gracious hospitality. We felt very at home. Beutiful setting and love the garden, so well maintaiened. Rooms were lovely and clean and well equipt. Was like a home away from home. Breakfas was lovely adn a special thanks to the chef who woke early to accomodate us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2013

I had a wonderful relaxing week even though it was for business.
The view was fantastic and the service was great I enjoyed every minute of it,
The atmosphere was divine the guest were great too I enjoyed their company,
It was peaceful I have no problems with the guest house none whatsoever,
It`s just a little out of the way but did not spoil anything for me though,
I stayed in but if I come maybe for a holiday then I will definitely come there again,
If you are looking for a peaceful place to stay go to them it`s the best so for I can see,
The Host is so kind you feel like you never left home,
Even the staff is kind,
Don`t take my word go see for yourself,
Yours truly,
Kind regards,
Mrs. Nadia Poggenpoel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Nadia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary H, Owner at The Celtis Manor GuestHouse, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you, we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midrand hotels
2.5 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
332 reviews
3.7 mi away
Midrand Conference Centre
6.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pine Tree Lodge
Pine Tree Lodge
#1 of 20 in Midrand
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tuareg Guest House
Tuareg Guest House
#9 of 59 in Midrand
20 reviews
5.5 mi away
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
#2 of 59 in Midrand
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Celtis Manor GuestHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Celtis Manor GuestHouse

Property: The Celtis Manor GuestHouse
Address: 13 Jupiter Street | Crowthorne, Midrand 1684, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Celtis Manor GuestHouse 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This tranquil thatched country Guest House offers comfortably decorated bedrooms designed to suit the needs and expectations of both corporate and leisure travellers. The Guest House offers free broadband and some units have access to the garden. Relax at the large swimming pool in the landscaped bird filled gardens. Full breakfasts and home cooked dinners, or treat yourself at the many varied restaurants and pubs nearby. Self catering options. Local and airport transfers arranged. Secure parking. TGCSA 4 star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Celtis Manor GuestHouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing