We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good staff, poor location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Midrand
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good staff, poor location”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

An older hotel recently joined the Protea family. This hotel is located in an industrial estate near the N1. The accomodation is in a series of 2-storey blocks arranged in a manner faintly like a barracks or a 1950s american motel. There is a careful security guard, and the location is well fenced.

The maintenance is to very high standards. The blocks are in splendid decorative order, inside or out. The grounds are carefully landscaped, and the gardener, an interesting young man, works hard to achieve a perfect finish. I don't think he has free reign. The planting is subdued, and only a single colour of bloom was evident in my visit: I think the garden has been carefully planned elsewhere.

There is a small swimming pool, discretely enclosed, and with the same slightly old fashioned air. But beautifully maintained, and a real pleasure to use or sit by.

My room was comfortable and clean, the bed a delight. Only a shower, no bathtub. The only chink in the maintenance staff's solid performance was the toilet, which had a dual flush actuator but only a single flush mechanism beneath it. The building's age showed at night, though, when I was woken by the plumbing from the room above, and also showed in the number of steps to negotiate to the door. A modern architect would have universal wheelchair access. I had a useful desk, easy electrical connections without grovelling on the floor, and speedy internet access. Access is sold in small 500Mb blocks, free on the tarrif I had but still expiring in under a day and necessitating another.

The restaurant was adequate to good, with a simple short menu, and a hot buffet most nights as an alternative. In several cases the kitchen staff appeared unfamiliar with the menu: listed ingredients were missing from the service; several dishes, including almost all the deserts were unobtainable. Those ingredients they did have were of good quality and cooked nicely. The bar is unimaginative but adequate, and the small area of sofas a real haven. Unfortunately there is also a screen showing non-stop football there too.

The high spot of this hotel is the staff who are friendly and eager to please. The Laundry comes back spotless, nicely ironed and before the promised time of 19:00 The waitstaff are friendly and efficient, and the reception staff helpful and efficient. I got a cheery wave from the security man, and had an enjoyable time chatting to him.

I enjoyed my stay. This place will always be eclipsed by the Protea Midrand, which is newr, bigger, and more lavish. But this place is fine. Relaxing and welcoming.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    8
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
3
3
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

At first I was dissapointed that I was booked into this Protea and not the Midrand protea hotel. Driving up to the hotel it had the motel look to it and I was not expecting too much. However I was pleasantly surprised. The service from the staff was good, the rooms were spacious and clean and the on-site restuarant was very good. The location is a bit isolated - not in walking distance of anything ... but remember this is Jo'burg and you don't really walk anywhere do you? Within 5kms there are plenty of restuarants if you so please.
I would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sajit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midrand, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Very good 3rd time staying at this Protea, wiil come back on my next bussiness trip. service good and food also very good. Room 146 just cold in winter so i think all these rooms on this side does not get sun.

Room Tip: the rooms from 148 to 140 cold in winter no sun,
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Eduann

Thank you for taking time to post a review following your stay with us at Protea Hotel Samrand. We rely on GUEST feedback to determine both the positive and negative aspects of our hotel and to improve wherever possible. Your comment about our service and the quality of food certainly reassures us that we are on the right track.

Your concern about the coldness of the room does not go unnoticed; an extra effort will be made to ensure that the GUESTS are comfortable during the winter months.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us. We should welcome another opportunity to show you Protea Hospitality at its best, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Andrew Maluleke
General Manager
Protea Hotel Samrand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Coming back to stay at this Protea Hotel has been a revelation. They give credence to the adage that change is as good as a holiday! Why...? Well no longer are they the little old Road Lodge type accommodation near the highway. I am delighted to say that they have transformed themselves with the appointment of new staff with a strong customer service focus that is on par with the more well know Protea Hotels! A highlight to look forward to at the end of the day are the deliciously presented buffet meals and excellently prepared à la carte meals given that the pickings for good restaurants in Midrand area are slim. (Thanks Chef Moses Dlomo) They have extensively upgraded their very spacious rooms and the new look organic earth colour African shades in the bath rooms and it presents a high standard to challenge other similarly placed Protea Hotels in terms of guest comforts! They do very well to address their market segment.So to Andrew Maluleke (Manager) and team with special mention of Wilma Jonke and her hospitality staff keep up the great work! Submitted by Angus Busby

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Samrand Protea Hotel is like being at home! The staff demonstrate the highest levels of hospitality. The check in is always swift and efficient. The rooms are clean and really very comfortable. The food is excellent with the kitchen making efforts to ensure that the guest is satisfied. Interacting with the staff makes one feel like being at home - they are all smiles, really friendly and keen to ensure that the guest has no problem. The GM Andrew is visible at all times and his disposition to ensure Guest satisfaction has rubbed off onto his staff and this makes samrand like being at home. Great stay and wishes that this is maintained.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Easygoing282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasterlee, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The hotel is situated in an industrial area where there is really notting to do miles around. I made a mistake in the booking as I wanted to be close to the Gallagher Convention Center for an exhibition. Staff is nice and friendly, rooms are ok, but restaurant is not really a good deal. You can eat much better for less on other places, but it is difficult to get there as there is nothing around the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TVCBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
04 April 2012

Dear GUEST,

Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at Protea Hotel Samrand, it is absolutely necessary for us to know how our GUESTS experience our services and facilities. We value your feedback as an extremely important tool in our day to day operations, as this helps us to improve your next stay.

Your feedback regarding our restaurant, by no means reflects the high standard of quality and service that we are always proud to offer. We endeavor at all times to ensure that our GUESTS experience full value for money for all our services.

We do offer shuttle services to our GUESTS, at an additional charge, to major centers around the area. I confirm therefore that I have investigated your comments in a serious light and taken action to rectify the shortcomings.


Kind regards,

Andrew Maluleke
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Rooms are very large and clean and tidy and they have local TV channels and Sky news. There is a kettle with coffee and tea, and a safe in the room. Nice shower though with good pressure.

This hotel is not a family hotel. If you need to be anywhere on business between sandton, midrand and pretoria areas then its OK as its equidistant. This hotel is nowhere near any public transport or cabs either. There are fields and industrial areas surrounding it, and its off the main highway so you can hear lots of traffic. You cant walk anywhere as its too dangerous and too far away. As there are no food and drink vending machines, the nearest place to get something light to eat or drink is the gas station complex about 5 minutes drive away just off the highway.

The breakfast is OK. The dinner is a very mediocre buffet at ZAR155 per person.

The 'free internet' WiFi is only 100MB per day, just enough to check your email and nothing else. The pay-for Wifi is expensive.

Room Tip: Get something away from the highway (noise) and on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoolDude2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
2.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
5.6 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#6 of 10 in Midrand
33 reviews
3.6 mi away
BON Hotel Midrand
BON Hotel Midrand
#5 of 10 in Midrand
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 10 in Midrand
283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#38 of 68 in Johannesburg
99 reviews
5.7 mi away
Midrand Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand
Address: Samrand, Sterling Street | PO Box 2273, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand - Affordable hotel between two cities. Protea Hotels Samrand, halfway between Johannesburg and Pretoria, offers unrivalled convenience and value for money. Strategically located near the airport and CBD, Protea Hotels Samrand is tailor-made for the executive and transit traveller. All rooms have air-conditioning, plug points for laptops and modems and deluxe en-suite bathrooms. The Residents' bar is open daily from 16h30 to 22h00, including Saturdays, while a cozy lounge facility off the reception area offers comfortable seating and a fireplace. Both are perfect for sundowners or informal gatherings. The restaurant is open daily for breakfast and dinner. If relaxation is what you are after, the hotel's swimming pool and sundeck is situated in the park-like surrounds near the restaurant. Disabled facilities are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand Samrand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing