We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of African Footprints Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
African Footprints Lodge
Ranked #12 of 60 Midrand B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I have been in this hotel for work, but i must say that i felt a holiday feeling! Beautiful place, nice people and amazing english breakfast. Its near to the city and Gallagher centre (great if you are an exhibitor and want to sleep a bit more in the morning since its just 2,7km away)! I reccomend it

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank illac3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My group absolutely loved staying at African Footprints. The entire compound is massive, great big pool, yards, tennis courts, outdoor bbq, the perfect retreat between Joburg and Pretoria. I will always stay at AFL when I travel through Joburg, it's great to know there is a safe comfortable accommodation for my friends and family in South Africa. Tell the managers Lyyod and Fistin I said hello when you stay, they're amazing and will help you with anything you need!

Room Tip: There's lots to choose, from cabins to dorms, can't go wrong, really reasonable prices and m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kg2themax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Our recent (2/2013) stay at African Footprints Lodge was fantastic. The accomodations are newly updated and beautiful. The staff is friendly and can help you plan great area adventures. Breakfasts are fantastic. It's a beautiful property, we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

A group of four friends and I just recently spent two weeks in South Africa and had an amazing experience at African Footprints Lodge in Midrand. After arriving on property, we were immediately impressed by the beauty and upkeep of the lodge and the verdant gardens that surround the property. The interior of the lodge is equally impressive with a spacious TV lounge, pool table room, dining room, and honesty bar. The guest rooms are spacious – with their own TVs – ample closet space and extremely comfortable beds. After traveling from Cape Town earlier in the day, we found the lodge as a much needed relaxing oasis from the long day. Immediately outside of the TV lounge is a covered patio - a beautiful place to sit and watch the intense Johannesburg summer electrical storms. Beyond the covered patio is a shining blue pool that was equally refreshing to cool off in after enjoying the summer heat. To sum it up - this place is a gem and an amazing value for the price. The honesty bar is well stocked and the guest house has an amazing cooked to order breakfast in the morning. It was absolutely delicious! The neighborhood around the guest house is safe with numerous dining options close by. Our group also appreciated the location - approximately 25 minutes from O.R. Tambo Airport, 20 minutes from downtown Johannesburg, and 20 minutes from the Lion Park. The service staff is extremely friendly and willing to help in any way possible. Fisten consistently helped us with any needs we had. Lloyd was wonderful and took great care of us. We had such a wonderful experience at African Footprints Lodge that we elected to visit the lodge again following our excursion to Kruger National Park. I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a well-kept, centrally guest house located, safe, and comfortable accommodation near Johannesburg. The next time I am in Johannesburg – I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a wonderful view of the gardens and range from larger style dormitories to more intim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

A group of friends and I were traveling in SA and were referred to African Footprints. We planned to stay there one night but after being there decided to stay for another. The staff was amazing and so helpful. The lodge is beautiful and a really comfortable place to stay. African Footprints is located in a really safe area close to downtown Joburg and the airport so it is really easy to get to.

I definitely recommend staying here when you make it to Joburg!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We had a wonderful stay at African Footprints. The lodge is on a beautiful piece of property. Some of the amenities include an honesty bar, tennis courts, a pool, picnic tables, grills, etc. We had been traveling quite a bit the days leading up to our stay at African Footprints and when we finally got there, we were able to relax and unwind before our safari. The location is convenient. Not too far from the airport, the LionPark and nice shopping centers. Another plus was the great hospitality the lodge offered. Free wi-fi, a nice breakfast, and wonderful staff all for a great price. We ended up extending our stay at African Footprints because we enjoyed it so much.

Our trip was with a group of 5 friends, so we stayed in the dorm rooms, but there were also adorable cottages if your stay is more on the romantic side.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingOrla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
1.8 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 10 in Midrand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#6 of 10 in Midrand
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.5 mi away
City Lodge Hotel Waterfall City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midrand Conference Centre
0.9 mi away
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
Mercure Johannesburg Midrand
#36 of 70 in Johannesburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge Midrand
Town Lodge Midrand
#25 of 60 in Midrand
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Footprints Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Footprints Lodge

Property: African Footprints Lodge
Address: 42 Pretorius Road | Vorna Valley, Midrand, Midrand 1685, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — African Footprints Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your African Footprints Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing