We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME STAY!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
By Bush Telegraph Lodge
Ranked #1 of 61 Midrand B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2014

What an awesome stay! I had the privilege of staying at this beautiful lodge recently. It offers: value for money, excellent service, great food, centrally located yet with peaceful surroundings, attention to detail, clean and spacious rooms. Thank you for making me feel at home. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phill35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

My overall experience at Bush Telegraph was very pleasant and will definitely go back.
The service was fantastic - got greeted by name. Rooms are lovely and clean. Bush Telegraph serviced dinner which was fantastic and could order snacks until 9.00pm rare service delivery. Food was fantastic and very homely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Delwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were really impressed by Angela and Dominque's management, this is the place to escape to more than once a year and its close by.

Blown away by the service and outstanding food, facilities are limited, but that's the trick and they got it spot on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faahim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was a treat in many ways, its a family run hotel located about 45 minutes away from Tambo Airport. If you're looking for a romantic getaway with some beautiful south african wines and excellent home-cooked meals, then you have come to the right place. The pictures actually do little justice to the ambience and design; there are no straight corners in this hotel which was created and designed by the owners themselves.
The beds are absolutely fabulous and the immense beauty of nature undisturbed by socialization is one of the foremost reasons I want to come back one day soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MYislandgirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ntonie7911, Owner at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for staying with us! It was really nice to have such a lovely, chatty couple at our place. We're looking forward for your next visit.
Good luck and take care till then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the very special BBT Lodge recently when we were on holiday in South Africa. We had a wonderful break in such peaceful surroundings and our hosts could not be more accommodating. The food and service were of the highest quality and the king size bed was extremely comfortable. I have special dietary requirements and lots of additional thought was put into the delicious food I was served. We also enjoyed a romantic sunset and meal for two up on one of the outer decks under a starlit African sky. We would highly recommend a stay at this unique lodge for a total break from reality.

Mrs Crean
London

Room Tip: We stayed in an upstairs suite with an amazing view but all rooms are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ntonie7911, Owner at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2013

Dear Guest!

We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you and we are looking forward to seeing you in the near future.

Warmest regards.

BBT Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cwijk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBTLodge, Manager at By Bush Telegraph Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Midrand hotels
4.1 mi away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
397 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
5.1 mi away
Midrand Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Orchards Executive Accommodation
5.1 mi away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#4 of 9 in Midrand
35 reviews
7.1 mi away
No photo provided
Oaktree Lodge Guest House
#13 of 22 in Midrand
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By Bush Telegraph Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By Bush Telegraph Lodge

Address: 22 Riboville Road | Johannesburg, Midrand 1683, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Midrand
Price Range: £40 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By Bush Telegraph Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We chosen the name - BY BUSH TELEGRAPH - to our guest house because it refers to communication. We hope that after you experienced our outstanding accommodation, quality comfort and memorable guest service and facilities, then you will spread the word on our behalf. Our beautiful quirky Sardinian styled guest house stands out like a white jewel in the green countryside of the Randjesfontein Equestrian Estate in the centre of Midrand. Our accommodation is a rural country haven that is conveniently located to where you need to be and yet gives an escape to unwind after a hard working day. Relax in our cozy railway-sleeper Pub. Enjoy your favorite nightcap upstairs on one of our decks with lovely views. Indulge yourself in our home-cooked dinners served in our restaurant, pub. Take a dip in our inviting swimming pool. Take a walk in our luscious gardens. "We look forward to exceeding your expectations and delivering a standard of service that separates us from the ordinary." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your By Bush Telegraph Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing