We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All round good service and amenities”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Muldersdrift
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Certificate of Excellence
Tsumeb, Namibia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“All round good service and amenities”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Made use of their Business traveler special in March 2014. Included a dinner voucher and a verry acceptable rate. From check in to check out I received a verry commendable service. The room that was allocated to me was quite spacious and had all the amenitoes. The Buffet dinner had quite a variety of freshly prepared food . the highlight was the sushi. All in all a recommendable hotel when in the vicinity of Mogale City.

Room Tip: Ask fro Room 103 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    36
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
43
69
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very odd hotel? The accommodation ie. suite on the ground floor was nicely decorated - very modern. I am not a prude but every wall had pictures of silhouettes of women's naked bodies ie. all aspects - not everyone's taste?

The rooms have a fridge but there is no minibar. When you phone room service for drink/food, you have to pay straight away because the hotel doesn't own any food and beverage service facilities.

Quite a disjointed hotel - just seems like the facilities are there but there is no service - both have to go together. This is ok for a one night stay but wouldn't want to stay longer.

Room Tip: The hotel is going through an expansion project - major building works. If you choose a room opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinnine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Awesome getaway from Johannesburg, worth every cent, not the smartest or the best reception staff. Not on their toes to serve the customer which is rather a disapointing. The hotel room itself was stunning and amazing sleep. I was there for the spa treatments which is quite satisfying indeed, excellent service and quality spa treatments. The staff are very friendly, but it aint cheap. Spa facilities where awesome.

The casino, was good but rather small. Not too many options for restaurants. Overall was pretty worth it. Note there is major costruction going on to extend hopefully will be more exciting when done

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I spent 1 night away at this hotel, we had the most beautiful ground floor spacious, modern and clean room. Lucas at reception was very pleasant and helpful. Although the outside area is under huge construction, it does not impact on visitors. The casino area is small but offers sufficient entertainment if you interested in some light gambling, there are numerous restaurant around the gambling area, and have have had good meals in most of them. The service in the restaurants are very good. However we were quite disappointed in the hotel breakfast and ordered from there al carte menu, and waited 25minutes for a disappointing attempt of breakfast, Delta the manger on duty ensured us that they will improve on there skills, thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rene c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

The Hotel is very beautiful. The rooms is very nice and spacious although the variety of tv channels is not huge. Also the hotel is not long part of the Southern Sun group and the staff not much sure of benefits that goes with the brand. With a bit of effort this can be a gem. The complex is also sort of food courts and only a few to choose from

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henmo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
169 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

OVERALL: The hotel is pleasant with large spacious rooms and good service. Restaurants and casino close by make eating out easy. The breakfast was excellent.

SERVICE: We were coming from OR Tambo airport and needed directions but the reception staff were unable to do so via telephone. Once we arrived we received friendly and efficient service, the bellhop was particularly helpful and friendly. The service at breakfast and throughout our stay was very good.

ROOMS: We were upgraded to a suite which was huge with all amenities, complimentary water, tea, coffee etc. Nougat on pillow was nice touch. The bed was fantastic and firm with crisp clean sheets. The room was completely dark (when curtains drawn) and incredibly quiet which was fantastic. If I had to pick out one negative thing, the kettle did not work and I did not get a dressing gown. Otherwise 5/5 for the room. Great view over musical water fountain/lake.

BREAKFAST: Brilliant with anything and everthing available on buffet or by order. There is no way they dont have something you want. Full hot and cold options.

AMENITIES: No gym which was a disappointment since the size and type of hotel should warrant a gym. There is a small pool which is not really sufficient and an excellent spa (so I am told), restaurants close by offering Italian, steak and seafood options are great and convenient.

VALUE: At R1400 per night I was happy with what I got. Small improvements here and there can really push the rating to 5 out of 5!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iloveshoesalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

My husband spoiled me for birthday with an overnight stay at the Silverstar Casino & Hotel. Great service, beautiful rooms, great breakfast. Do yourself a favour and go for dinner at the STEAK Restaurant inside the Casino Centre. They have excellent food.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanjavdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
3.3 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
2.8 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
4.1 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
8.3 mi away
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
Protea Hotel Roodepoort
#1 of 2 in Roodepoort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
18.0 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel

Property: Southern Sun Silverstar Hotel
Address: R28, Cnr Hendrik Potgieter and R28 Pinehaven | Mogale City, Muldersdrift 1740, South Africa (Formerly Silverstar Casino Resort)
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the West Rand in Muldersdrift, Mogale City, Southern Sun Silverstar is a luxury, contemporary and exclusive 34-room hotel, offering a variety of restaurants, retail shops, conference facilities and kids' entertainment. The hotel is bright and cheerful and is a showcase of some of the most beautiful mosaic art deco.It sits alongside some of Gauteng's best tourists destinations. The Cradle of Mankind, Maropeng, The sterkfontein and the Wonder Caves, The Rhino Lion Park, Lion Park as well as the Krugersdorp Game Reserves, Bunge Jumping, Canopy Tours and is situated only 15 minutes from Lanseria. Other nearby activities include Ingwenya Glass, Gilroy's Brewery, Hot Air Ballooning, Fly Fishing, as well as 2 golf courses in a 10 km radius.Free high-speed WiFi internet access per room, per day. Enjoy effortless access and great connectivity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Silverstar Hotel Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing