We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50/50....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Certificate of Excellence
Johanessburg, Gauteng
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“50/50....”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The first I need to mention about this establishment is that it is more Lodge/Chalet style than a Hotel. However the landscaping is beautiful. The staff is friendly and accommodating but unfortunately not all of the facilities are up to the standard they claim they are. For instance, we were made to wait for 3 hours before we could check into our rooms. We arrived at 14:00. The phones in half of the rooms do not work at all! I don't think they have upgraded the phones since the 90's.

Which when translated means, if you set up a wake up call during check in and you are in one of the rooms without a properly functioning telephone, you will not get your wake up call. Oddly enough, they will not even send someone to knock on your door to wake you up.

If you are a person who isn't big on the facilities but want the experience of staying at the Botanical Gardens then this is definitely the place for you. They are fair when it comes to negotiating terms when they have made mistakes and are humble and apologetic when you voice your concerns.

Room Tip: The best thing would be for you to go through a reputable agency when you book your accommodation at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjackie_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
We always welcome constructive feed-back from a guest and I can assure you that this is always taken seriously. In this particular instance we are delighted that the truly magnificent gardens at Misty Hills gave this guest so much pleasure. The various compliments with regards to our staffing were also refreshing.

We were however disturbed at what was perceived as bad service with regard to the long wait to check-in. This is unacceptable, and is being investigated for the cause, we will establish the reason for the inconvenience to you.

Our telephone system is usually considered as good and we don’t know of any “out of order phones” however this too is being investigated by our Rooms Division so we were pleased for this feed-back as well.

We look forward to one day welcoming you back to Misty Hills”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    151
    61
    34
    24
See reviews for
69
179
16
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germiston, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We recently stayed at Misty Hill for a weekend. I have been there several times for a one night stay and last weekend I stayed for two days. The highlight is always the breakfast, the food is very good and there is a variety. Staff is very friendly and help full. If anyone is visiting Misty Hills they need more than 2 days to see the whole place it has really surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thandisizwe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Im so dissapointed in the service of Misty hills. I logged a query on the internet for lodging there, and I received no feedback. Then I tried to phone them several times to speak to the person that is the organising person for the specific conference I have to attend. This persons line is just on voicemail the whole time. No one else there is able to assisit me in any way.
The conference is this week, starting from tomorrow, and I still dont have any accomodation there. How is that for service. When you look on the web, you are very impressed with the pictures, the packages on offer etc, but when it comes down to business, it seems that they loose all interest.

Highly dissapointing.

Regards
Antoinette Kriel

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antoinette k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
We were most distressed to take note of your recent comments posted on Tripadvisor, a medium that we respect immensely. We also hastily offer an apology for this late response.

We have thoroughly investigated your complaint and regret to advise that we were certainly at fault with what appears to have been a serious break down in internal communications. The necessary disciplinary action has already been taken.

We thank you sincerely for alerting us to this and in so doing would like to extend an invitation to you to enjoy a complimentary experience at our Spa in the Country and lunch with our General Manager at a time convenient to yourself.

Please contact our General Manager at gmmisty@rali.co.za arrange a time for your visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mainz, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This was the first stop for our tour group in South Africa after a tiring overnight flight from Frankfurt and a strenuous tour through the city and Soweto. The warm welcome, the prompt service, the comfortable room and above all the beautiful surroundings soon brought us back in the holiday mood. Instead of putting our feet up for an hour or two before dinner we chose to explore the different villages into which the hotel bungalows are divided. This turned out to be a tour through really African botanic gardens with a wide variety of bird life thrown in. The grounds are really very extensive and densely grown so it is difficult to get an overview and easy to get lost.
The appetite we had worked up for the restaurant that everyone visits - Carnivore - was more than satisfied and provided an entertaining introduction to African food. Vegetarians however should clearly avoid this (m)eatery.
My wife was initially disturbed by the daylight she could see through the thatched roof and the room cooled down rapidly at night despite the electric heater. The bedding was warm enough and the room was wonderfully quiet until the first staff arrived early the next morning. Our group of rooms in village 5 backed on to the main connecting road.
Breakfast was in a buffet form in another smaller restaurant. The choice was more than adequate although some dishes took a while to be refilled. Our internet connection was non existent but others in the group had no problems at all. Room location seems to de crucial here.
The staff kindly let us use the spare computer in the room next to reception but we had the impression that this was not a standard internet station.
For our group of tourists this was an ideal starting point to the South African experience.

Room Tip: Villages 7 and 8 got the best marks for internet and a quiet night in our group but they are furthes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotkreuz, Switzerland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

This hotel(village) offer a relaxing and quite escape from the city, the hotel restaurant is nice and the food ok, the Spa is quite expensive. The pools and entertainment area is Ok. There is a cool play castle for the kids aswell. This hotel makes for a great relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Delux room are nice, but executive rooms have the nice baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrAv3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent one day at the Spa in the Country and a night staying over at Misty Hills in one of the Executive Suites.

We've been to a couple of spas in South Africa and had high expectations of the Spa in the Country. Unfortunately we were very disappointed, also considering the cost of the spa package.

On the negative side:
The spa itself is old and not maintained.
The steam room is ridiculous, small, dirty and ugly.
The sauna is very small.
The pool is solar heated which effectively means it cannot be used in winter (the water is simply not hot enough). The pool is old and dirty and needs some serious cleaning or revamping.
The spa reception area where one has to wait for treatments is terrible. The furniture is old and belongs at an old age home. The spa receptionist didn't know how to make a cappuccino using the coffee machine.
The food served with lunch was cold
The road to the spa is terrible and doesn't set the mood for a relaxing spa experience. It takes you past areas that look like a scrap yard, ugly fences and flats.

On the positive side:
The signature room where we got our treatments was very nice and had a separate treatment room with massage beds, another room with a double bed, a private garden and splash pool and a Jacuzzi bath.
The treatments were very nice


Overall: I think there are various other spas in Gauteng that offer much better value for money

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Marketing Assistant at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
We would like to thank you for the feedback as it allows us to improve on our service levels.

It is unfortunate that the you had such a negative impression of the Spa facilities as most of the décor is part of the rustic charm of the Spa.

Both the steam room and the pool are cleaned on a daily basis. Clients are not encouraged to drive up to the Spa, but rather to park at Reception and enjoy a tranquil walk through the beautiful, lush and abundant gardens surrounding the Hotel and Spa.

The pool is solar heated, as this is the most eco friendly way of heating an indoor pool – the temperature has rarely dropped below 25 degrees this winter.

We have attended to the lunch issue as our lunches are normally warm and delicious.

We would like to thank you once again for the feedback, and we will do everything in our power, to ensure that each and every client has an enjoyable experience at our Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Came here for 4 nights with friends and the ambience was just fantastic for distressing. Well kept rooms, gardens and fountains but best of all was the customer service which was phenomenal right from the entrance to the Spa treatment to the management. I highly recommend this place to all international travelers as it truly embraces people of all nationalities, creed and background. The Carnivore restaurant is around the corner with all sorts of meat from the domestic and wild to try out. Actually you never have to leave this place for anything as it is self contained.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tebogo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
1.3 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
209 reviews
19.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
4.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Magalies Manor
Magalies Manor
#6 of 7 in Magaliesburg
54 reviews
19.5 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
306 reviews
12.9 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Hills Country Hotel

Property: Misty Hills Country Hotel
Address: 69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Hills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Hills Country Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing