We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful concept, poorly maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Certificate of Excellence
Washington D.C.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful concept, poorly maintained”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Built as a sort of bio park the entire campus is rich with flora and fauna, making your stay feel less like a hotel and more like a park. Originally booked in an economy room I was appalled at the poor level of maintenance and quality. Due to poor wifi coverage I was moved to a better room, one that afforded a better quality of stay and better internet. The better room was fantastic, probably worth the additional money in the future, and better experience. The breakfast is extensive, hot and cold options for local and international palates. Central reception was under construction during this visit but, aside from the poor signage, the staff did their best to ease the challenges.

Room Tip: This is not an ideal location if you suffer from allergies, the thatched roofs are clean and well ke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InsoucianceAbroad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    151
    62
    34
    24
See reviews for
69
180
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We drove from Durban to Misty Hills Country Motel, easy drive, highway all the way, still have no word from the e-toll management regarding our toll costs. Found the hotel by GPS. The layout is a bit confusing when you first arrive, but once you take a walk around the property, it becomes easy enough although the property is very expansive. Directional signs in the hotel are good, the gardens, water streams and waterfalls are relaxing. The reception was still a temporary affair but the staff were fantastic, friendly and most helpful, so there was no problem. Our stay was for 4 nights, wherever we met friendly staff there was always offers of assistance, the restaurant [we only used the Gin Box] was great, breakfast we have not seen better in many years, if you can eat under the trees do it. The rooms are quiet, just the insects and birds in harmony. The golf carts assist with luggage and will run you anywhere on the property. Free wi-fi excellent. Our rooms for the party ranged from village 4 through to village 8, all found to be great. For us Durbanites, it was a peaceful haven from a year of hard work although we were in Gauteng for a wedding we will definitely be back for a long weekend break later this year, far preferable to Cape Town although you do need a car and a Garmin if you are from out of town. Pool area and swing beds are great. Very interesting history of the property and living in a botanical garden environment was a first for us, with the labels on trees and shrubs most enlightening with information.

Room Tip: The higher priced rooms have air conditioning, this may be preferable in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Fantastic all round. lovely room, AMAZING Jacuzzi bath, exceptional friendly and welcoming staff (other than one gentleman in the reception who snorted non stop). Wonderful SPA experience, incredible massage and relaxing pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slick3349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here just for one night as it was very affordable and seemed to be somewhat on the way to Kruger from the airport. We were a little confused trying to check in, as reception was closed and the grounds are expansive. Parking is quite a ways from the rooms, but they have golf carts to drive you from your car to your room so luggage isn't an issue. We were in one of the lowest accommodations with no a/c, but fortunately it was cool that day so we didn't need it. We ate at the bar for dinner because we were too hungry to wait for Carnivore to open and the food was delicious, as was the date shake. The grounds are beautiful and we felt absolutely no need to leave, and we also felt very safe. Breakfast was over the top and so delicious. The only complaint there was that they didn't seem to ever replenish food when it ran out, which was a shame because the muffins and danishes and croissants were so delicious we each wanted to eat 10. I suppose that might be why they don't replenish them... help our waistlines stay in tact. :) They also have eggs to order and a variety of fruits and meats, and it was included in our very affordable room rate.

The only reason I listed this hotel as very good as opposed to excellent is because there's no mosquito net over the bed and both my fiance and I woke up with mosquito bites on our arms. Otherwise the room was beautiful as well as the bathroom, very spacious and we loved the thatched roof. The TV is tiny, but we found a channel with decent shows so no complaints there, and the wifi worked very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy_loves_traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

It is a very large place and seems good for conferences of large functions. The rooms have a nice size. Just to find your way around is a little tricky. Pool is good and the gardens are lush. Free Internet is always welcome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanne412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

What a great relaxing year end function we had at spa in the country. We had the most amazing massage and pedicures. The food was great and the staff pampered us. Thanks Rene and team you guys are great!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natasha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Spent just one night here on our way to Pilanesburg. Got to our room by golf buggy which was fun! The rooms are basic and the tv didn't work but the furniture and bedding etc was so African, just what we wanted for our first night in SA. The bathroom was basic but worked fine. The rooms are set in gardens with statues of various animals and it was nice just to walk round and explore. The buffet breakfast was standard fare but adequate. The bar was nice, we enjoyed watching the rugby match on the big screen with the SA supporters! Had our dinner at the Carnivore which was an experience not to be missed, we tried it all except zebra! The crocodile was disgusting but it had to be tried! The hotel is in the middle of nowhere really so I would recommend for one night but no more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrummyMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, General Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
I thank you for your valued comments regarding your stay at Misty Hills Country Hotel Conference Centre & Spa.
The comments we receive from our valued guests, be it complimentary or otherwise, is of utmost importance to us in order to improve on any shortcomings we may have, as of course we endeavour to exceed our guests expectations every time we receive them at our hotel. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
1.3 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
212 reviews
4.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
336 reviews
19.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
192 reviews
19.9 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
270 reviews
19.5 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Hills Country Hotel

Property: Misty Hills Country Hotel
Address: 69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Hills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Hills Country Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing