We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel in Johannesburg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel in Johannesburg”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The environment is like heaven on earth! Its like living in a forest! The architecture is amazing! The staff are polite and friendly! They are cleaning the property all day! The food is excellent!Breakfast has a big variety and everything is fresh! The gentleman making the omelettes is great! it has a carnivore restaurant but even a vegetarian like myself can have many choices there. We are staying at room 501 but wherever you stay I am sure it will be great! Do not forget to visit the coffee shop the menu is delicious and the staff excellent! We want to thank everyone at the hotel I wish we new all of their names, Linda from the coffee shop, Norah from the restaurant and all the other people. Unfortunately we are leaving in three days but hope one day we can come back again!

Room Tip: Let them choose for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 387Nina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    151
    62
    34
    24
See reviews for
69
180
16
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Dirty, dilapidated and unfriendly. See photos!

Everything was terrible from start to finish. The unfriendly guard at the gate, the dirty room, the weeds in the gardens, the competence of staff (I am still waiting for reception to call me back with the wifi username and password), the Spa (no hot water), the food (in both the Gin Box we received an order that was completely incorrect and had to be remade).

Never go here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marko_bekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I have staid at misty hills on several occasions as a weekend break away.
The rooms are great value for money and staff are very helpfull.
I would however recommend rather eating at nabouring carnivor restaurant as the hotel restaurant is not great. They do however make a great Dawa cocktail .

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank esme v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marcos, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

MISTY HILLS is the experience of a lifetime! From the moment you step onto the stunning property, you will enjoy an instantaneous immersion into a uniquely authentic “Africa” experience.

Within its lush rain forest setting, this exceptional luxury resort is conveniently located between Johannesburg and Pretoria, not far from Tambo International Airport. Village-style suites are nestled throughout the lavish grounds which are replete with water features set within a picturesque jungle setting. Providing optimum privacy, each bungalow is designed to replicate the comfort and tranquility of an African rondoval while simultaneously providing maximum access to technological convenience.

A not-to-be-missed feature of each suite is the charming outdoor shower, sheltered under the canopy of jungle growth where the sounds of wildlife echo against the night sky. Be sure to allow time to enjoy the extraordinary spa at Misty Hills which is a relaxing, healing sanctuary in its own right.

A study in delightful contrasts, Misty Hills is at once both accessible and secluded, both charming and sophisticated. The complex is equally ideal for groups needing a well-equipped, multi-purpose Conference Centre or for couples seeking an intimate, romantic get-away.

This stunning country hotel provides the perfect destination for both the weary traveler in need of a tranquil, restorative respite and for the motivated leader planning the next corporate meeting. With 23 elegant event destinations, Misty Hills has the expertise and experience to cater to everything from trade shows to wedding receptions with outstanding professionalism and individualized attention-to-detail.

A highlight for every Misty Hills guest is a visit to the on-site Carnivore Restaurant which is routinely packed with more than 360 people. Though massive in size, the restaurant is best-known for its warm and friendly service. The tone for this exceptional dining experience is set by the indigenous Africa-themed décor and continues as you take your place in one of the zebra skin-covered seats. Here, waiters in colorful, tribal attire walk among the tables, offering tasty samples of the 16 different types of meat barbecued in the center of the restaurant. This magical dining experience concludes as the waiters gather each evening to provide a mini-concert of moving African singing that may bring tears to your eyes.

The comfort and ambiance of Misty Hills are well-matched by the exceptional level of personalized service. What a place! What an experience! What a memory!


Dr. David Kast
California, USA

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed at Misty Hills on Saturday night after attending a wedding at Avianto.

The pros of our stay:
The staff were very friendly on arrival and all greeted us with a smile.
The shower had decent pressure.
The breakfast buffet was very nice, with a wonderful selection.

However the cons far outweight the pros:
The hotel itself was a bit disappointing. I can see that in its day it must have been rather beautiful, but is in desperate need of a refurbishment,
The duvet on the bed was just like a thick piece of foam (I don't understand what it was exactly, so i cant give a better description than that) the pillows were made of the same material as the duvet, so uncomfortable. It is 2 days later and my neck is still sore from the angle I was sleeping.
They still have old box tvs in the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RecreationAfrica, Manager at Misty Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
All hoteliers are always grateful when there is positive feed-back with regard to service levels, staff and food presentation. And then of course, if there is any negative review, this is taken very seriously by the affected property and relative action is taken. In this instance and on this platform we can only advise that linen and bedding up-grades and replacements is an on-going exercise. Pillow menus are offered, but not often referred to by guests, whereby one can request softer or thinner pillows or even thicker and firmer ones. TV upgrades is part of a maintenance program that is also on-going and flat screen TVs are now in most of our bedrooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mokopane, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We have frequented the facility over the past 12 years of which the last 3 times were over the past 7 months and for both private and corporate functions. The new reception is beautiful and if you take all the difficulties they went through after the fire and with all the renovations and refreshments going on without distributing their customers, that calls for excellent management! A change in management has been noticed and it is clear that it is working for them. I can call out names, Jenny, the new guest relations manager and Samantha, the spa manager with her staff,1 Rene and Kitiwe and many more, the management and staff of the Carnivore restaurant make you feel welcome and treat you like VIP! I salute you all and can recommend your facility to anyone, corporate or private!

Room Tip: Village 7 and 8 are newer rooms but all villages are recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anthony19690503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

This is our second time here, and its great to see that the staff is always friendly. We had a great experience at the spa! Would recommend this place to anyone if you just want a quick getaway, which should include a spa experience, and a good nights rest!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Quinton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
1.3 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
212 reviews
4.8 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
336 reviews
19.2 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
192 reviews
19.9 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
270 reviews
19.5 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Hills Country Hotel

Property: Misty Hills Country Hotel
Address: 69 Drift Boulevard, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Misty Hills Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The attractive Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is a charming, stone-built hotel complex. Set in lush, landscaped gardens and surrounded by natural forest and grassland in the heart of the Kromdraai Valley , this Johannesburg Hotel promises an unforgettable South Africa Holiday. Offering unparalleled Johannesburg accommodation, exotic dining, and fabulous leisure facilities, this South Africa Hotel is a favourite with many business and leisure travellers. Just 25 kilometres away from Johannesburg , the Misty Hills Country Hotel Johannesburg is ideally positioned with easy access to Johannesburg International Airport and is guaranteed to delight the most discerning guest seeking comfort and tranquillity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Misty Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Hills Country Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing