We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch outdoors in style”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toadbury Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Muldersdrift B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A gorgeous country manor house, exuding style and charm, providing a place to 'escape to the countryside' for a leisurely outdoor lunch. We sat out on the lawn next to the lake. Excellent food & wine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank JustInCase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 107 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2013

Staff, setting and atmosphere is all top notch. Facilities are well maintained and guests are in for a surprise when attending this fantastic venue. Weddings, picnics and meals are all world class ! Access to the Crocodile river is good and with great cycling in the area this is the perfect venue.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Avoiding the intensity of inner-city Johannesburg for a change, I find myself drawn to the green outskirts of the Magaliesberg area. I stay at Toadbury Hall, an establishment which is everything its name suggests – white-washed walls, high thatched ceilings and wonky wooden beams, rose bushes, green lawns down to pretty lakes. There are rich sounds of ducks and peacocks and Highveld birds.

What I love about Toadbury Hall:
Gracious old trees which seep up any stress or angst
White-washed long-barn style thatched building
Lakes, willow trees and water birds
Pretty lake-side deck for breakfast, elegant dining spaces and green lawns for picnics
Roses, gentle fountains and peacocks
Fine embroidered linen and towels
Spacious suites, individually decorated with unique character

Accommodation experience
I chose number 6, the Bridal Suite, all to myself and my ever-present interior friends. It is situated at a far end of the manor house, with a private courtyard and tinkling fountain which of course pleases me greatly. But I confess I chose this suite for the grand four-poster bed. As I rest in bed I come to the carefully considered conclusion that this is indeed the most beautiful bed I have ever lain in. It has dark red turned wood, which looks like cherry. While grand, it is not imposing and has an embracing friendliness. It sits well in the spacious suite with its terra cotta tiled floors and double glass doors. The embroidered silky white linen lends the final touch to a soothing and containing space.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Toadbury hall in April 2013 to attend a wedding.The staff were friendly and helpful! The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable! The facillities for a wedding are fantastic! The nature and atmosphere was unforgettable! What a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christojdejager d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had our wedding here in January as as it was a small wedding all the guests stayed over in the country house and enjoyed a relaxing breakfast. Honeymoon suite and all rooms are of an excellent standard and our day was made fantastic by the inhouse wedding planner and all the staff. Can not praise them enough. Food was fantastic and will stay book here in the future for a romantic night away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winnielindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

we had a beautiful picnic aand the spot given to us was amazing. We had the Winter Picnic Menu (Soup of the day, Farm bread, Fish cakes, Classic Reuben sandwich, Vetkoek and mince, Grilled beef burrito, Marinated vegetable kebabs,Cheese straws, Dark chocolate mousse with almond praline, Glazed fruit tartlets,Millionaire’s shortbread and a selection of farm cheeses, savoury biscuits and preserves) and it all come with a bottle of wine.

its a spot to definitely revisit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Mamoatshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
7.9 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#24 of 66 in Johannesburg
201 reviews
6 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#2 of 5 in Muldersdrift
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
487 reviews
0 mi away
Cradle Moon Lakeside Game Lodge
Cradle Moon Lakeside Game Lodge
#6 of 11 in Muldersdrift
15 reviews
4 mi away
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
#2 of 11 in Muldersdrift
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toadbury Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toadbury Hall Country Hotel

Address: Plot 64, Beyers Naude Drive | Elandsdrift, Lanseria, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Muldersdrift
Price Range: £75 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Toadbury Hall Country Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“An exceptional canvas upon which your memories of an unforgettable occasion can be painted!” Toadbury Hall Country Hotel was established in 1997. Our spectacular 25-hectare country estate is situated in the world-famous Cradle of Humankind on the banks of the Crocodile River. Easily accessible from the N14 Highway just a short drive from Lanseria International Airport. We offer discerning guests the versatility of so much to choose from, be it a celebration of a memorable wedding or special occasion in our banquet hall, a corporate business meeting or team build in our conference centre or a leisurely weekend outing at our fine dining Bijou Restaurant or more informal Otter’s Deli, Badger’s Boma or Wildwood Brasserie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Toadbury Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing