We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Toadbury Hall Country Hotel
Ranked #6 of 16 Muldersdrift B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously let down”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was our second visit to the deli at Toadbury hall. The service was slow to say the least. Food ordered off the kids menu took just as long as the adult food ( nearly an hour). On top of the long wait, there was a piece of ham on the vegetarian pizza, some seafood on the hawaian, and a dead fly on the chicken dish. The worst however was the utterly shocking attitude of the Chef when I complained. He argued that he hadnt sent it out that way! In my experience flies don't die on people's plates while at the table. Probably wont go back again despite the brilliant location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CraigCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    9
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
29
49
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A gorgeous country manor house, exuding style and charm, providing a place to 'escape to the countryside' for a leisurely outdoor lunch. We sat out on the lawn next to the lake. Excellent food & wine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JustInCase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krugersdorp, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Staff, setting and atmosphere is all top notch. Facilities are well maintained and guests are in for a surprise when attending this fantastic venue. Weddings, picnics and meals are all world class ! Access to the Crocodile river is good and with great cycling in the area this is the perfect venue.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Avoiding the intensity of inner-city Johannesburg for a change, I find myself drawn to the green outskirts of the Magaliesberg area. I stay at Toadbury Hall, an establishment which is everything its name suggests – white-washed walls, high thatched ceilings and wonky wooden beams, rose bushes, green lawns down to pretty lakes. There are rich sounds of ducks and peacocks and Highveld birds.

What I love about Toadbury Hall:
Gracious old trees which seep up any stress or angst
White-washed long-barn style thatched building
Lakes, willow trees and water birds
Pretty lake-side deck for breakfast, elegant dining spaces and green lawns for picnics
Roses, gentle fountains and peacocks
Fine embroidered linen and towels
Spacious suites, individually decorated with unique character

Accommodation experience
I chose number 6, the Bridal Suite, all to myself and my ever-present interior friends. It is situated at a far end of the manor house, with a private courtyard and tinkling fountain which of course pleases me greatly. But I confess I chose this suite for the grand four-poster bed. As I rest in bed I come to the carefully considered conclusion that this is indeed the most beautiful bed I have ever lain in. It has dark red turned wood, which looks like cherry. While grand, it is not imposing and has an embracing friendliness. It sits well in the spacious suite with its terra cotta tiled floors and double glass doors. The embroidered silky white linen lends the final touch to a soothing and containing space.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brakpan
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Toadbury hall in April 2013 to attend a wedding.The staff were friendly and helpful! The rooms were beautiful and very comfortable! The facillities for a wedding are fantastic! The nature and atmosphere was unforgettable! What a wonderful place!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christojdejager d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We had our wedding here in January as as it was a small wedding all the guests stayed over in the country house and enjoyed a relaxing breakfast. Honeymoon suite and all rooms are of an excellent standard and our day was made fantastic by the inhouse wedding planner and all the staff. Can not praise them enough. Food was fantastic and will stay book here in the future for a romantic night away.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winnielindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

we had a beautiful picnic aand the spot given to us was amazing. We had the Winter Picnic Menu (Soup of the day, Farm bread, Fish cakes, Classic Reuben sandwich, Vetkoek and mince, Grilled beef burrito, Marinated vegetable kebabs,Cheese straws, Dark chocolate mousse with almond praline, Glazed fruit tartlets,Millionaire’s shortbread and a selection of farm cheeses, savoury biscuits and preserves) and it all come with a bottle of wine.

its a spot to definitely revisit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mamoatshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
7.9 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
336 reviews
16.1 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#23 of 66 in Johannesburg
191 reviews
5.6 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
De Hoek Country Hotel
De Hoek Country Hotel
#1 of 7 in Magaliesburg
501 reviews
20.6 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
270 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lanseria Country Estate
Lanseria Country Estate
#1 of 1 in Lanseria
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toadbury Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toadbury Hall Country Hotel

Property: Toadbury Hall Country Hotel
Address: Plot 64, Beyers Naude Drive | Elandsdrift, Lanseria, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Toadbury Hall Country Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst majestic indigenous trees and magnificent rose and lavender gardens, Toadbury Hall is located on the banks of the Crocodile River just 20 minutes from Fourways in Gauteng. Established in 1997, this exquisite 25 hectare country estate boasts a worthy reputation for hosting memorable weddings, conferences, picnics and functions. With a range of superb venues to choose from, elegant 5-star accommodation and tantalizing cuisine to suit every taste, Toadbury Hall offers you an exceptional canvas upon which to paint your memories of an unforgettable occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Toadbury Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing