We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab venue for an anniversary” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab venue for an anniversary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Kloofzicht is wonderful venue to unwind, take the bikes for a cycle in the area, go for a walk, swim or spend time in the gorgeous spa (excellent venue). The rooms are spacious, detail has been though through (eg outside shower) and the rooms are well appointed. Breakfast is delicious, the staff helpful and the waiters are proactive.
We loved the time together in a beautiful setting, spoilt at the spa and by the service that we received.
Thank you!

Room Tip: choose a room in 30's as it away from the main building and they have their own pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonieE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    198
    83
    31
    23
See reviews for
127
274
12
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Kloofzicht Lodge was a surprising find for someone like me who wanted a special place to celebrate a wedding anniversary without travelling too far out of Johannesburg.

A mere 40-minute drive out of Johannesburg, we got there in no time to the venue in a very scenic countryside. The road is en route to the Cradle of Humankind, one of Gauteng’s major attractions. It makes a great base from which to explore surrounding tourist attractions.

I gladly accepted the welcome drink and our check-in was quick and handled professionally. In no time, we were literally led down the garden path to our room that overlooked one of the dams where you can do some fly fishing - catch-and-release trout and some other fish You can hire fishing equipment and bait from the store at reception.

The room was lovely – boasting with a very big bathroom and shower, its own fireplace and a patio where you can sit and watch the sun go down over the Zwartkops Mountains while listening to a variety of birds chirping in the reeds or flying in formation right in front of you.

The dining room offered an a la carte menu, and the best value for money was the three-course meal on offer, and you could eat inside or on the patio.

There’s lots to do – apart from the fly fishing - get pampered at the spa on site, a game drive, a guided walk into the mountain, swimming in the main or rock pool, or you can visit surrounding attractions like the Cradle of Humankind, horse riding or clay pigeon shooting or nothing at all – which was our choice. You won’t see the Big Five here but rather plenty of buck and smaller animals. I saw a big baboon while out on a morning walk.

The Lodge has a five-star rating but some may “downgrade” it as there are limited channels on TV and no Internet connection in the rooms, only in the main building. There is also no room service available.

It all depends on your needs while you’re there. Kloofzicht is also a wedding venue and offers team building events for corporates. It certainly met our need to get away from the city and a life distracted by electronic devices.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the dam and mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3KingProtea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Excellent service, peaceful, and overall a great place for any situation or event. Nice for game viewing walks bird watching and from a day visit to a weekend it is just perfect. It is nice to see a well looked after environment. even the wildlife looked happy.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RuiFragoso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Ive been here on several occasions and always as a business event. So didnt really "chill out". Several positives stand out, great location, very rustic and peaceful, can see how hard the folks out there work to keep the product going, good mix of activities especially the spa, friendly staff (some with strong can-do attitude). Areas to improve, service is certainly up there (e.g. being woken up at 6.30 for my laundry delivery, signs of inflexibility or perhaps not empowered), lunch buffet (especially protecting food against flies), lack of room service, location of the corner rooms and several inefficient approaches to task (just from my business background). I will revisit given the opportunity and the need but hopefully the team will prioritise service levels urgently.

Room Tip: As close to the reception as possible and certainly not room 12 !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I was excited to stay at Kloofzicht as I had seen it being built a few years ago and had heard good things about it, but what a disappointment! The service was appalling from start to finish. No one greeted us at reception, we had to ask if we could please check in before anyone acknowledged us. As we'd arrived early we asked if we could use the pool. We were asked to use the pool away from the reception, close to the rooms. It was in a disgusting state - full of leaves, slime & even had some plastic floating on it. When we asked the waitress stationed at the pool what snacks we could order from her she did not know, and put on a huge sulk when we asked to see the menu. We waited 20 minutes for her to return with the menu & another 45 minutes for the food once we had ordered it. Eventually my fiance asked to see the manager and was told he couldn't be disturbed as he was in a meeting. The manager did eventually emerge & did ensure that we got our food in good order... this was an hour after ordering it. So, credit to him. When we eventually got access to our room it was very clean & well laid out. However, the staff's attitudes at reception did not improve and, no matter how nice the rooms at a hotel are, service is everything! I will not be staying at Kloofzicht again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingtash428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

The price of this hotel led us to believe that we were going to a true 5 star lodge; however they do not have the basics in place to be considered a 4 star. Honestly I think this is a 3 star at best. There was no room service, the food in the restaurant is average and further to this we were forced into paying for a full buffet when all we wanted was a light meal.

It has to be said that the location, the rooms and the natural beauty are spectacular, but you can get all this at half the price elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank THW03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This hotel only gets 1 star from me, because of security concerns. I arrived there with 4 other colleagues and we were hijacked at gunpoint in front of the hotel. Yes, believe it! At gunpoint in front of the hotel upon arrival from the airport. The thing that really bothers me is that we had told the hotel that we will be arriving early, because our flight landed at 5:20 am. No one was waiting to greet us (mind you this is a 5 star hotel), our beds weren't ready, no doorman. So it was the perfect opportunity for thieves.

The hotel knows that South Africa is a very dangerous place. Why didn't they have armed security? From the gate of the hotel to the front door of the lobby, it's about 2 kms. As soon as the thieves left with everything (literally everything, luggage, purses, jackets, watches, phones, passports, everything...), we alerted the hotel and apparently the gatekeeper locked the gate and fled. The thieves just used their guns to smash the padlock and they were gone with all of our stuff!

Furthermore, the hotel did nothing for us! As a matter of fact, they charged us for laundry and threatened to charge us for the phone calls we made to alert our families, credit card companies, and anything else you can imagine in a situation like this Thank God, we were there for a work conference, and our job took care of us. I am just wondering what would have happened if we were there on vacation!

All in all, I WOULD not recommend this hotel. It is NOT SAFE. South Africa is a beautiful country, but very unsafe, and this supposedly "5 star" hotel put our lives in danger by not having adequate security. And from what I have heard from the American embassy, these kinds of robberies are happening more and more in South Africa. Even more of a reason to have proper security.

Don't stay in this hotel.

Oh and I forgot... Some days I had my shower cap, other days not. The TV didn't work all the times, I just got tired of complaining. They did the laundry and lost my bra, I was really pissed, and the hotel manager drove to the laundrymat to find it. Originally they told that they would give me 200 rands which I thought was ridiculous. What was the basis?

Not a good experience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank That_Baham_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christa B, General Manager at Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
RESPONSE FROM MANO SEQUEIRA – GENERAL MANAGER KLOOFZICHT LODGE

Thank you so much for sharing your concerns regarding your stay at our Lodge. Firstly may I extend our deepest regrets again to you and the other three delegates for the emotional trauma you experienced. We fully appreciate that a highjacking incident is a very traumatic experience and we are so sorry this was your initial experience of our country.

We also unfortunately acknowledge that regrettably, crime is a plague that communities worldwide are battling with. In South Africa, and Muldersdrift particularly, we are highly security conscious and over the last 5 months have increased police presence in the area and introduced a number of other positive community initiatives which have all made Muldersdrift a much safer community.

This is the first incident of its type we have experienced at the hotel and we have taken the matter extremely seriously. We are liaising closely with other key tourism stakeholders and will continue to work closely with, and co-operate with, the SAPS to tighten up any potential weak links.

The comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us and we are so sorry you had concerns about your stay. Unfortunately when you arrived early we had a full hotel booking the previous night and could only offer blankets and food and refreshments until the first rooms were vacated. We completely understand this must have felt inadequate after your ordeal.

I just wanted to once again reassure you we did take this incident very seriously and did everything in our power to assist. We did contact MTN immediately and as well as SATIB to assist with passports and trauma counselling. All of this information was passed through to MTN. MTN elected to manage the situation directly and we liaised closely with them. It was highly unfortunate that being a Sunday the embassies could not immediately assist but as soon as we could all relevant information was passed through to Lynette who was equally concerned about your wellbeing. We maintained contact with Lynette throughout your stay.

We understand that nothing we did could make up for the trauma and loss you experienced and once again extend our regrets.

Regards
MANO SEQUIERA
GENERAL MANAGER
KLOOFZICHT LODGE & SPA
gm@kloofzicht.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
3.8 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
16.5 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
16.4 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 6 in Muldersdrift
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
16.9 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
9.7 mi away
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
Maropeng Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cradle of Humankind World Heritage Site
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa

Property: Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Address: Kromdraai Road, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the Zwartkops Mountains in the Cradle of Humankind, Kloofzicht Lodge is the essence of tranquility and ultimate luxury, a comfortable 40 minute drive from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Guests entering the luxurious Kloofzicht Lodge are greeted with the stunning vista of endless stretches of water as the infinity pool spills over into the Kloofzicht dam, finally settling into the Zwartkops mountains in the distance. Kloofzicht comprises 18 deluxe superior suites, 10 superior suites, 20 executive suites and 12 family / executive twin suites, overlooking either the six exquisite fly fishing dams or the unspoilt Zwartkops gorge and mountain. Five star conference and wedding facilities satisfy the needs of even the most discerning guests. The small but magnificent nature reserve upon which Kloofzicht is built, is home to kudu, impala, blue wildebeest, eland, red hartebeest, springbuck, gemsbok, zebra as well as a fascinating array of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kloofzicht Hotel Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing