We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great One”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great One”
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Excellent Choice.
The only comment that I have is the poor quality of the WiFi.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egyptian-Advisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    211
    88
    33
    24
See reviews for
139
296
15
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2008

My wife and I celebrated our 10 year Anniversary at Kloofzicht Lodge. What else can I say but Wow!

Being a global traveller myself, there are certain requirements I expect of a 5 star establishment, and Kloofzicht had it all. From being welcomed at Kloofzicht Lodge we were treated like royalty. The only thing that lacked in making me and my wife feel like we were celebrities was that there was no red carpet :)

The service was impeccable, from check in, throughout our entire stay.
The food and service in the restaurant was exceptionally good.

I would reccommend Kloofzicht Lodge to anyone looking for a breakaway in natural surroundings close to the buzzing city.

Kloofzicht Lodge truly is a home away from Home.

  • Liked — The beautiful and spaceous rooms. the service was also superb.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrievdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2008

On the surface Kloofzicht Lodge looks amazing. The setting is fantastic and the rooms large and well appointed in a beautiful layout. However, you soon realise that this is lodge is not the ''essence of tranquillity' that they advertise.

After checking in, we went to have lunch. The restaurant was totally empty and 5 or 6 staff were just standing talking to each other. We asked to be seated outside as the weather was lovely. Despite having nothing to do, the staff made it plainly obvious we were creating a huge inconvenience by asking them to set up a table on the terrace area of the restaurant.

Later I discovered that half the lights in my bathroom didn't work and that the safe wouldn't re-open after I carefully followed the instructions.

At dinner the service continued to poor. Having taken our order (including asking us to select a desert from the outset which seemed unusual) an unannounced first course arrived. As our table had some guests with special dietary requirements we enquired as to what this course was and the waiter had no idea and had to go and ask someone! We ordered wine and the bottle was taken away afterwards - our glasses were never refilled and we had to eventually ask the waiter. All round, the staff did their best but came across as lacking experience - especially as this is supposed to be a 5 star lodge.

We returned to our rooms and were shocked to find that immediately next to the bedroom lodge was a major karaoke party in full swing. The 'music' was outrageously loud and the large number of guest were rowdy and drunk. It was totally impossible to relax and unwind.

I complained about the noise but was bluntly told that 'we cater for these types of events'. They refused to ask for the excessive behaviour to be calmed down and was told they were not responsible for their guests behaviour and that I simply had to wait for the party to end.

In light of this I asked to be moved to a different room away from the noise. No help was offered to move. My new room was away from the party but the noise was still loud and continued late into the night forcing me to have a sleeping tablet to get to sleep.

In addition my new room was extremely cold, I had the heating on maximum but it was insufficient to heat the room. A gas fire is provided but it had run out of gas. In the end I had to sleep in my clothes to keep warm - hardly 5 star experience.

This place is best avoided.

  • Liked — Amazing setting
  • Disliked — Unacceptable noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

My wife and I stayed at Kloofzicht only for 1 night. It was our wedding anniversary and we treated each other to a night away from home. The location of this lodge is great. Considering it's only a 30 minute drive from Johannesburg it really is easily accessible and easy to get to. Set in the Cradle Of Humankind, the lodge is surrounded by beautiful hills and great scenery! Awesome in fact.

Here's the problem, their service is rubbish and the previously disadvantaged staff who have all got employment at the lodge clearly need more training. I am all for helping out the locals when it comes to employment but when it's to the detriment of your service...I am not so sure.
Kloofzicht claims to be a 5 star resort and has 5 star prices to match! Please beware though, you'll only get 4 star service and amenities.

No room service, only buffet food available which I might add is rather average!

Light bulbs were out in our room and the safe didn't work.
The gas for the fireplace was about to run out so we couldn't use that properly either!

I'd say overall, an averagely nice place to stay but one can do better in the area.

Not a great stay.

  • Liked — The Setting
  • Disliked — The poor service and high prices!!! This says it's 5 star..it's only 4 star!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IanFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muldersdrift
16.6 mi away
African Pride Mount Grace Country House & Spa
4.1 mi away
Forum Homini Hotel
Forum Homini Hotel
#1 of 5 in Muldersdrift
326 reviews
4.5 mi away
Misty Hills Country Hotel
Misty Hills Country Hotel
#4 of 5 in Muldersdrift
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Avianto
Avianto
#3 of 5 in Muldersdrift
209 reviews
17.1 mi away
Valley Lodge & Spa
Valley Lodge & Spa
#4 of 7 in Magaliesburg
306 reviews
16.9 mi away
Budmarsh Country Lodge
Budmarsh Country Lodge
#2 of 7 in Magaliesburg
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa

Property: Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa
Address: Kromdraai Road, Muldersdrift 1739, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Muldersdrift
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Muldersdrift
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foothills of the Zwartkops Mountains in the Cradle of Humankind, Kloofzicht Lodge is the essence of tranquility and ultimate luxury, a comfortable 40 minute drive from both Johannesburg and Pretoria. Guests entering the luxurious Kloofzicht Lodge are greeted with the stunning vista of endless stretches of water as the infinity pool spills over into the Kloofzicht dam, finally settling into the Zwartkops mountains in the distance. Kloofzicht comprises 18 deluxe superior suites, 10 superior suites, 20 executive suites and 12 family / executive twin suites, overlooking either the six exquisite fly fishing dams or the unspoilt Zwartkops gorge and mountain. Five star conference and wedding facilities satisfy the needs of even the most discerning guests. The small but magnificent nature reserve upon which Kloofzicht is built, is home to kudu, impala, blue wildebeest, eland, red hartebeest, springbuck, gemsbok, zebra as well as a fascinating array of bird life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kloofzicht Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kloofzicht Hotel Muldersdrift

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing