We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riversong Guest House
Ranked #4 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
“Most welcoming staff!”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Everyone was most helpful, going way beyond what was required at times to meet our specific needs at the moment. No request seems to be too much! The rooms were well appointed with things for most any need. The location was good for eating and shopping. The view of Table Mountain was dramatic as you came into the Inn. I will return the next time I am in Cape Town! DE, USA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Hi Margaret

Thanks for writing a review. Thought of you today as I took my parents on the cart ride around Kirstenbosch gardens. It is a stunning hot wind free day. I was amazed at how big the gardens are. I should have done it a long time ago. Much easier than walking in the hot sun. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving. Best regards Inri and The Riversong Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    28
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
46
15
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I recently stayed with six friends at the Riversong Guest House, Newlands, Cape Town. What a wonderful place! I could have stayed at least another week and never left the house. Inri McManus, the owner, has thought of everything. There was so much "extra" in our room that I could not have thought of another thing needed. The staff is wonderful and ever ready to help--above and beyond--all the time. Inri is a wealth of information about the area and ready to share. Breakfast is a feast, starting with a beautiful, individual, plate of assorted fruits every day. I was amazed when I asked for coffee and the follow on question was "regular filtered or French press!" Inri, you made our stay in Cape Town extra special and I will be back!

Room Tip: A friend and I were in the Leopard Room, which was wonderful. Two queen beds, a lounge area and rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELSIE54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Elisabeth
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the lovely praise. I will share your review with the team tomorrow. We are happiest when our guests are happy and we exceed their expectations. Happy Thanks giving! All the best Inri and The Riversong Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purworejo, Jawa Tengah, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

This is the nicest and homiest place I have ever visited. With the background of table mountain and located next to a river, what would we ask for more for a place to stay in South Africa. Moreover, they offer a reasonable price. Surely, I will come back with my family someday. Petrus, Indonesia

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrus1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Petrus
Thank you for your lovely review. Our home is your home. We look forward to hosting you and your family again some day in the future. Best wishes until we meet again. Enjoy wearing your SA hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verona, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Everything about Riversong is great! Its location is ideal, Within walking distance to eateries, in a beautiful part of town. The food at Riversong was most outstanding, more than I expected. The view from the patio is spectacular. Table Mountain changes every 5 minutes, with its shadow patterns and cloud formations. The rooms are spacious and luxurious, and the service, o, my, the service. Someone was there every moment to take care of our needs. My favorite time was to sit with our group on the patio and have a glass of wine (or two or three), looking all the while onto Table Mountain. Lots of fun and relaxing times. Inri was most helpful in planning our day trips, getting us advance reservations and tickets (savings us waiting-inline time) and suggesting eateries and tours.
All in all, Riversong is a fabulous place to stay; I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: The neighborhood is quiet so sound is not an issue. Inri will provide you with a good description of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Norman
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Much appreciated specially when shared with The Riversong Team who love reading the reviews.
Thank you so much for taking the parcel to my sister. She loved her prezzies from SA.
The current group leave tomorrow. So sad. The next group from Virginia area will arrive in Feb. 14.
Love hosting our USA tour groups. You are always such fun and so easy to please. All the best for festive season and 2014. We hope to meet again some time. Best regards Inri and The Riversong Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, FL
1 review
Reviewed 11 November 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to describe our Riversong stay in November. Impressive facility, well maintained and appointed, lovely location, fabulous snacks and breakfasts and super view of Table Mountain from the garden area. Inri, the owner, made every effort to cater to our dietary needs and comfort. Charmaine, Office Manager, introduced herself with a warm smile was frequently on hand to assist. Archie and Eleanor, our tour guides, who work closely with Inri and Riversong were as professional, knowledgeable and accommodating as Inri and her staff. Our Capetown stay was fabulous largely due to the care we received from Riversong and Archie and Eleanor. What great hospitality ambassadors to Capetown.

No question, this is a professionally run establishment with emphasis on customer service delivered with humor. We would return to Capetown just for Riversong! The staff is wonderful. Discreet and caring, the staff made it a point to learn our names as well as address us by name. Can't beat it--this is more than "home away from home".

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in this guest lodge. Just a matter of preference; check with Inri to ass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Michele and Bob
Thank you for taking time to write a review. Always much appreciated and I will share your praise with the Riversong team plus Archie and Eleanor who are always keen to get feedback from our guests. We so enjoyed hosting your group. What a fabulous bunch you were. One of our best groups. After you left the guest house was so quiet and it felt like we had said goodbye to family. We are always sad when a great group leaves. Please keep in touch via Face Book or email. Hope Bob enjoyed his kayaking trip. Happy Thanks Giving!!! Best regards Inri and The Riversong Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Very friendly staff, rooms are beautifully decorated - a home from home. The location is central and easy to find. All the staff went out of their way to help us. A real plus was the internet connection and access to a computer. Will definitely be back and will be recommending to friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneenLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Janeen Lynn

Thank you for taking time out to write a review. Reviews are always shared with The Riversong Team. We love hearing back from our guests. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you in the near future.
Best regards
Inri and The Riversong Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cooper City, FL
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is by far the most luxurious guest house we have every visited. Unbelievable bathrooms, stately servants, beautiful grounds, fine breakfasts, nothing to complain about at U.S. $175 a night - who else stayed here but a young woman on business with a calling card of the United Nations! Free use of laptop computer with wifi. We highly recommend the facility if the price fits your budget.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsmisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inri M, Owner at Riversong Guest House, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed hosting you and hope to see you again in the near future. Best regards Inri and The Riversong Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newlands hotels
0.4 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
0.2 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#1 of 3 in Newlands
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Wild Olive Guest House
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hedge House
Hedge House
#2 of 29 in Newlands
202 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fernwood Manor
Fernwood Manor
#5 of 29 in Newlands
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Guest House

Property: Riversong Guest House
Address: 14 Esme Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riversong Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Luxury 4 star boutique guest house in the heart of Newlands, Cape Town. Riversong sits on the banks of Liesbeek River and boasts panoramic views of Table Mountain. Conveniently situated in the Southern Suburbs, Riversong is an ideal base for the discerning business person or holiday maker who is looking for more than a hotel room. Riversong is a short walk from Newland's Cricket and Rugby Grounds, Cavendish Square Mall, Claremont CBD, Vineyard Hotel and Conference centre, S.A. Sports Science Institute, SA Breweries, Dean Street (start of The Two Ocean Marathon), and Virgin Active Gym and many restaurants and pubs around the trendy Newlands Village. 10 minutes from University of Cape Town, Belmont Square, Kirstenbosch gardens, Kelvin Grove club, Great Westerford, Baxter theatre, leading hospitals and schools. 20-minute drive from the Airport, City Centre, Cape Town International Convention Centre, V & A Waterfront, FIFA Soccer Stadium, golf courses, wine farms and golden beaches. Friendly hospitality and attention to detail makes Riversong a popular choice for local and overseas guests. Our 9 elegantly stylish, spacious en-suite bedrooms have comfortable beds and pillows, DSTV decoders, well stocked fridges and snack baskets, micro-wave ovens, tea and coffee making facilities, safe for valuables, desks/dressing tables, heaters, electric blankets and fans, fluffy white towels and bathrobes, percale linen, hairdryers, clock-radios/ipod docking stations, hot water bottles, Charlotte Rhys toiletries, Pool towels and chocolates. Mr Deliver and Butlers’s pizza menus in rooms with dinner by request. Free Wireless internet. Guest laptop in lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riversong Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riversong Guest House Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing