We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”
Review of Fernwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fernwood Manor
Ranked #5 of 29 Newlands B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Excellent attention to detail and great value for money. 5 star value at a 3 star price. Everything had been thought about we never needed to ask for anything. Extremely comfortable bed, well stocked mini bar and excellent breakfast. Would highly recommend the venue.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

It is impossible to find fault with this luxurious guesthouse set in the quiet suburb of Newlands.

The welcome...friendly, the check-in...unbelievably rapid! Immediately on entering the guest house you see the attention to detail, the small touches that make you feel as though you are being welcomed into a friend's home.

The room, No. 8) was huge, well-appointed and with everything you need from exquisite bathroom toiletries, to a comprehensive range of drinks, hot and cold, alcoholic and non-alcoholic! The bed was comfortable, almost too comfortable, I didn't want to get up! It was a cold weekend whilst I was there and the electric blanket was really appreciated.

The communal seating areas downstairs include an intimate sitting room, a larger room with a honesty bar and large flat screen TV and a wonderful "room outside" where you are protected from the weather and patio heaters keep you warm even on the coldest evenings. A large swimming beckoned but I couldn't pluck up the courage....the air temperature was only 8 degrees.

Prepare for breakfast, from homemade muffins and croissants to a full English breakfast with fresh fruits, cereals, juices, cold meats, cheeses -the lot! No need for lunch (or dinner) if you have the time to sit and enjoy it.

To top it all, the staff. Friendly and efficient, they were a delight.

I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough and look forward to the opportunity of returning, the next time with my husband.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SANDJAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Back at Fernwood Manor for the second time this year. Standards never fall below excellent. Although there had been one or two staff changes since my last visit, I still found the staff friendly and efficient as on previous visits. Staff are pro-active and will approach guests with offers of tea or coffee. Rooms are furnished to the highest standards and electric blankets for the chilly winter nights were appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I have just spent 10 days at Fernwood. The rooms are wonderful, quiet and luxuriously appointed and the staff are charming. My room had a wonderful view of the mountain, breakfasts were a delight and Sally is an exceptional host. I will be returning there next year with my family for a further holiday visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Almond room - very quiet with a large terrace and stunning view of the mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Fernwood Manor in early April 2012 and found everything about it absolutely lovely, the rooms, the staff and the location. Would strongly recommend and will definitely stay there again next time I'm in Cape Town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horsley4524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My wife and I are regular visitors to Cape Town and have just stayed 17 days at Fernwood. The standards are superb and Sally and her fabulous staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. The larger rooms/suites and bathrooms are superb and fully 5* standard. Afternoon traffic to the Southern suburbs is awful but Fernwood is worth putting up with it. If anything, I hesitate to write in more detail as we'd like to keep the secret of this fantastic property to ourselves and our friends. If you are looking for 5* in Cape Town, don't hesitate!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan7141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed at The Fernwood Manor Five Star Guest House in January 2012 and were absolutely thrilled with the room (to the right of Reception) it was huge with the most tasteful furniture. Patio doors led out onto a small area with lush gardens and it was a glorious stroll to the small but perfectly adequate and beautiful pool area. Our bathroom was the last word in luxury with huge jacuzzi bath, large shower and separate toilet. As we had had a long haul flight we missed breakfast the following morning but the dining room staff rang our room and said that they would wait for us to come across. My husband took up this offer and they even sent a tray of fresh fruit, yoghurt and orange juice over to me, that's what I call service. The staff were helpful, courteous and just so happy to do anything for the guests. We fell in love with the place and there is absolutely no doubt that we will stay there again during our annual visits to the wonderful Western Cape. Mr and Mrs M W Clatworthy Bridgend South Wales

Room Tip: The large double room to the right of reception is just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
1,330 reviews
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
CapeAngel Guesthouse
#7 of 29 in Newlands
20 reviews
Wild Olive Guest House
#1 of 29 in Newlands
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Manor

Address: 35 Almond Street | Fernwood, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Newlands
Price Range: £115 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fernwood Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernwood is an elegant colonial style home in the leafy suburb of Newlands surrounded by lush greenery with wonderful mountain views. Our exclusive guest house, catering for no more than 16 guests, ensures warm friendly personal service in gracious and elegant surroundings.All with their own unique character, we offer exquisitely decorated air-conditioned rooms, king or twin bedded on request, most with balcony or garden patio. These superior luxury rooms with finely appointed bathrooms are complemented by two executive suites, The Almond and The Rose. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Fernwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Manor Cape Town/Newlands, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing